pressed tea…

we have been enjoying perfect temperatures (low 80’s … around 26.6 celsius) with hardly any humidity and beautiful blue skies for a few weeks now…

 sitting out on our back porch has been extra nice…

I could not resist these fresh cut blue hydrangeas at a local farmer’s market over the weekend as I do not have them growing in my Virginia garden…

wild chamomile blossoms I gathered on a walk were ready to come out of my flower press…

then I got busy filling it with snipped hydrangea blossoms that will be nice and flat and ready to use in collage in a couple of weeks…

our perfect weather is due to come to a crashing halt turning  intensely HOT and HUMID (forecast to feel as hot as 105 fahrenheit … 40.5 celsius) it certainly was pleasant while it lasted…

hot humid days are definitely not my cup of tea…

here’s wishing you a comfortable and happy Tea on Tuesday

“Adopt the pace of nature:  her secret is patience.”  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson


30 responses to “pressed tea…

  1. marilyn rock

    PATTY….I ADORE THE BLUE HYDRANGEAS. WHAT GORGEOUS PHOTOS TO SHARE. THANK YOU.

    Like

  2. I have to envy your perfect weather. Ours has been HOT, HOT, HOT for three weeks with humidity in the upper 70s. Not sure what that humidity number means, but our weather guy said anything above 55 was uncomfortable. I’m glad you had a chance to enjoy spring. It was gone in a flash here.

    Double duty for the hydrangeas. First you got to enjoy them over the weekend, then you got to press them this week. Soon you’ll be making art using them. How impressive. I call this a true WIN-WIN!!

    Like

  3. Hot here, but my hydrangeas are loving that! looks like a good day for iced tea, have a great day dear Patty!

    Like

  4. The hydrangeas photo was just yummy. We have been having wonderfully low humidity weather here in IN for awhile but are now back to the usual 90 degree + 100% humidity misery.

    Like

  5. I so Love the blue hydrangeas, might don’t get that vivid a blue, it’s in the soil I think. I have a bouquet on my kitchen counter to enjoy too.

    Like

  6. Gorgeous,..really.

    Like

  7. oh, how many beautiful things you can do in your garden!
    my mother has always wanted to have hydrangeas, she loves how they look, but they can’t survive our weather (dry and windy with arid salty soils). In the south of Chile hydrangeas grow like weeds, we were amazed 🙂

    Like

  8. It has been a relatively nice June as far as temperatures but I saw a forecast calling for 100 this weekend when we have been having 70s and 80s :(. I really despise humidity. Here’s to hoping we have more cooler days…
    The hydrangeas are such a pretty blue. I can see why you couldn’t pass them up. I’m opting for cold lemonade today–Happy Tuesday Tea Day! Hope it is a good one!

    Like

  9. I forget where you live Bit I love the weather your getting at the mo and I wouldn’t be complaining as it got warmer lol We always want what we haven’t got don’t we lol swap my wet English weather with you. Lovely photos and loving your pressed flowers xx

    Like

  10. Gorgeous Blue Hydrangeas. This post has such a cooling effect, like the A/C were blowing in your face. We have 5 in our garden. Two are of the lace variety (not quite as impressive in my opinion).
    Happy T on T to you!
    p.s I am serving tea on my blog today! I know, it’s been awhile.

    Like

  11. marmeladegypsy

    Those hydrangeas are to die for! You remind me I must get my press out, too. I wonder what treasures I may have left in its pages?!

    Like

  12. I’d love to have a cuppa with you on your porch Patty. Looks like heaven. Am besotted with the blue in that hydrangea and can understand why you had to have it.

    Like

  13. I love blue hydrangeas. I haven’t pressed any flowers for so long. Thanks for the reminder.
    Happy T day!

    Like

  14. I think our 49 C has got you beat. Stifling is what it is. I love pressed flowers. Looks like you are busily, happy creating. Have a wonderful rest of the week. Tammy

    Like

  15. I meant “happily” 🙂

    Like

  16. Patty, looks like you have a special, and wonderful flower presser!
    The Chamomile looks sweet and beautifully pressed. I love how you decorated it on top- how big is it dear ? Wish you a good result also with the blue Hydrangeas,- Thanks for tea 🙂 I hope you can keep fresh in all the warm soon coming your way.
    Smiles and hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  17. Wonderful photos. I love hydrangyas , I have a white and soft pink on e in the garden. They look lovely all year round – even in winter with their dried flower heads.

    Like

  18. I love hydrangeas… at my parents last place they had a garden full of them, and they would bloom in time for our Christmas table centrepiece… I missed them so much this year, and had to go brave the markets so it would still feel like Christmas…. would you mind sending some warm weather over here… even the humidity would be welcome… I am shivering away here at he computer!!!! Happy Tea Tuesday…xx

    Like

  19. your hydrangeas are so pretty ….and what a pretty flower press…im freezing here too , id love some heat..but not the humidity 🙂

    Like

  20. stempelchaotin

    Wow what a wonderful post my sweet Patty.
    I love Hydrangeas in blue and pink.
    Thanks so much for sharing us this wonderful photos Sweetie. xoxo

    Like

  21. inanoctopusgarden

    loving that blues hydrangea! I too had my flower press out and pressed my mothers day blue hydrangea and a few other treats from the garden…Im thinking for a future encaustic project perhaps! Happy Summer!

    Like

  22. you’ve gotten me in the mood to press some flowers …. they’re always nice to have on hand for just the perfect little accent 🙂

    Like

  23. Fantastic, the blue hydrangeas are fabulous. Great color.

    Like

  24. what a lovely garden spot to create your wonderful art! I love blue hydrangeas, and I know you will create gorgeous art from them!

    Like

  25. Carmen Dyson

    I never thought of pressing hydrangeas . Thanks. Can’t wait to try that.

    Like

  26. What beautiful images…. you always have the best pictures! I hate that I don’t have internet right now and I’m missing so much. When I get it at the house, I will be back to stalk your blog again.

    Like

  27. Hello Patty, magnifiques hortensias, je languis de voir ce que tu vas en faire.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  28. You know, I thought of my flower press in May and then promptly forgot all about it! Your hydrangeas will be gorgeous dried! I’ll have to run down and find my press, I have a couple of hydrangea bushes but they’re not doing as well as the neighbors…. think they’d notice if I switch them in the middle of the night? LOL!

    Like

  29. Pingback: green … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  30. Pingback: last Tuesday this June… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

