message in a bottle…

Marit’s challenge this week for her Quirky Dutch Summer #2 (link on my sidebar)  is “Mail art”

I enjoy decorating things I send in the mail depending on what kind of envelope I use usually with paper/fabric collage and rubber stamping and sometimes paint…

I thought I would try something I have always wanted to use as a container to send in the mail…

we sliced an opening in a plastic bottle and filled it with bits of this and that and even stuffed one of my lavender wands thru the cap end of the bottle…

just in case I thought I would mail a handmade postcard separately to the same person to see if they arrive across the ocean around the same time…

thank you to Karen The Graphics Fairy for the moon face and to my Queen Bee friend Nathalie of Rubyfloy for the perfect punch card for the torn border at the bottom of my postcard…

it was extra fun to see how delighted the postal ladies were today asking was it okay to put necessary stickers here and there on the “package”

“When we think of ourselves as human, we limit the way we express ourselves in life.  We hear, “I’m just human; I’m not perfect.”  But, if we call ourselves artists, where is that limitation?”  ~Don Miguel Ruiz


36 responses to “message in a bottle…

  1. marilyn rock

    GORGEOUS MAIL ART…SO UNIQUE AND ARTISTIC.

    BRILLIANT.
    XXOO

    Like

  2. Fantastic mail art!!… What a super lovely surprise it would be to get a message in a bottle ! …. such a unique and interesting idea..Jan x

    Like

  3. What a neat idea! And, I love the quote. If we limit ourselves, we don’t give ourselves permission to think freely. Take care and have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  4. such gorgeous mail art Patty. I can’t wait to hear how you pkg makes out in the trip. What a fun and clever idea!

    Like

  5. You rock my friend.

    Like

  6. fabulous mailart Patty!!
    have a happy weekend.

    Like

  7. Oh wow, that is fantastic Patty!!! I LOVE messages in a bottle, ever since I found one on the beach when I was a kid… I hope it arrives save and sound…

    Like

  8. How utterly clever of you to send a post card to compare the time it takes to cross the pond (or maybe several ponds). I’m thrilled you had fun with making this and answering a true call to mail art.

    I remember when Halle sent one of those plastic bottles out in the world!

    Like

  9. thank you Elizabeth
    you know I knew I had spoken to a couple of different art friends about just this type of thing…thanks for reminding me Halle http://halleshobbies.blogspot.com/
    was one of them 🙂

    Like

  10. stempelchaotin

    WOw what a wonderful idea Patty.
    Love your message in the bottle. Thanks for thisinspiration.

    Have a wonderful sunday my dear friend. xoxo

    Like

  11. How fun!! I can only begin to imagine the comments it will get from all the postal employees that encounter it!

    Like

  12. who wouldnt want to recieve that….hope it survives ok patty 🙂

    Like

  13. WOw, how cool is this! looks fantastic. Would have loved to see the post ladies faces 😮

    Like

  14. Good for you…. Doing mail art! Whomever gets this will love it!

    Like

  15. I hope it gets through all right and arrives in good order… would be fun to receive such a package…xx

    Like

  16. Diane Colson

    Very cool bottle of goodies Patti…love the idea!

    Like

  17. The lucky person who recieves this I am sure will be delighted and a wonderful way to mail things (love it) I must catch up with Q.D.S. I saw your work on here last week and found her challenge wonderfully inspiring. As is your work great ideas as always. Dawn xx

    Like

  18. You mean they actually let you mail it as a bottle and not inside an envelope? Very cool! I’m pretty sure they won’t arrive at the same time. It would never, ever make it to this side of the world. Even when things are in envelopes they never arrive — usually because someone along the ways decide to take it for themselves. :/ I’m interested to hear how long it takes both to arrive to the intended recipient. Have a great day. Tammy

    Like

  19. Hi there! First of all, thanks a lot for popping in and saying Hi to me on my blog. And then your idea about art in a bottle is absolutely terrific! It is so great them we actually can make these things happen. I cam across with an issue when girls form Russia or Ukraine can not even post simply doddled envelope. That’s totally unfair, isn’t it? Anyway, enjoy the rest of Sunday and have a great week!

    Like

  20. Wow, Patty, I love your mail art. Gorgeous as always.

    Have a lovely Sunday

    Like

  21. Fantastic Mail Art, dear Patty! Love the idea and the design.

    I hope you have a nice weekend?
    Love and hugs
    MARTINA 🙂

    Like

  22. I received a bottle like this from Nathalie a while back!! This is a great idea for mailing the lavender wands!! I was putting them inside a cardboard paper towel tube in a box – a bottle is better, and amusing to all in the PO!!!

    Like

  23. This is wonderful Patty and what a great idea

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

  24. My best friend’s birthday is next week ( she lives in calif. ) …. Thanks for the INSPIRATION Patty!!! I imagine a smiling mailman and a happy friend 🙂

    Like

  25. that is so cool! will the USPS take it? Postal workers here are a pain in the butt, so I’m not sure if they’d let me mail a bottle, lol.

    let us know how it goes 🙂

    Like

  26. What a fantastic idea , bet it recipient enjoyed receiving this little beauty i also imagine you had fun putting it altogether. A lovely post Patty thank you for sharing it with us , hope you have had a lovely weekend x

    Like

  27. I’ve mailed A LOT of plastic bottles like these, but never overseas. I’m interested to know how yours arrives (delayed, squished a little?). I used to seal mine with a wine cork hotglued into the opening (like a real meassage in a bottle!) They always arrived in one piece, undented. Love your postcard! I always love your color palette.

    You make me want to stuff some things into a bottle and mail it!

    Like

  28. Such a fabulous idea, great project.

    Like

  29. Fun! So smart to send a postcard as well. Sending odd things through the mail is so much fun!!

    Like

  30. Cool idea Patty! they would NEVER accept it here!! wider than 2.5cm you know… Mx

    Like

  31. Can’t wait to hear the ending to this journey and how long it will take. How did you send it?

    Like

  32. Hi Patty! Thanks for visiting me!! I LOVE your message in a bottle!! It will be a huge surprise to who ever you are sending it too!!
    My mail art isn’t done yet. I have to get on that quick!! Tuesday seems to creep up on me every week!!
    Have a great day!!
    xxDaniella

    Like

  33. Oh Patty, this is a most wonderful packet for someone to get, I so hope it will arrive safe, and filled with all your beautiful pieces, for your friend,- and the post man/woman to enjoy. What a wonderful idea- I have never seen something that fantastic- and the card you are sending is gorgeous, with the smiling moon face 🙂
    Hugs and love, from Dorthe

    Like

  34. Love this Patty.. too cool to send and receive..and such lovely goodies..I wonder if we can mail bottles here? your postcard is so lovely…
    Kath
    xx

    Like

  35. How very beautiful and creative. Love messages in a bottle. I’ve seen a few in the stores that you can buy and make your own, not nearly as elaborate and artfilled as yours. Hope it arrives safe and sound!! xo

    Like

  36. This is perfect! I’ve always wanted to try to mail a bottle — how you inspire. Again!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

