country “tea” …

driving to the country from where we live is about the same distance as traveling in the opposite direction to the city

we continue to be charmed by the rolling hills and dry stone walls of the nearby Virginia countryside…

as it turned out the tea shop in The Plains we planned to visit was unexpectedly closed for the day…

that’s when we heard Paris calling…

a relaxing brunch on The Ashby Inn’s covered terrace worked out beautifully as a Plan B…

the menu was an adventure and learning experience thanks to all of the special touches from talented chef Tarver King…

we chose appetizers like roasted beet gazpacho and fennel risotto …

all of the dishes were served on a variety of handsome and fanciful plates and bowls…

it was a perfectly lovely day to sit back and enjoy the fresh air and view with sunlight dancing on the canvas awning…

 for dessert we had tempting treats and delicious coffee...

it’s nice when you mention how good the coffee is and the waiter proudly tells you the back story …

while the Inn’s focus is on using fresh local ingredients the fabulous crusty bread they serve comes from the Tribeca Bakery outside of NYC … it is shipped partially baked and ready to crisp up in the oven … served with whipped butter that has a little honey and a touch of coarse sea salt…

no photo of that as it disappeared very quickly…

we still look forward to having tea in The Plains some time…

 stop by Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons for Tea and many things on Tuesday…

27 responses to “country “tea” …

  1. marilyn rock

    WHAT A LOVELY DAY. BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS..xxoo

    Like

  2. Wow ! Did I enjoy that ! The food sounds and looks amazing and so interesting. Nothing wrong with plan “b’s”, they can be an unexpected delight. Thank you for sharing your trip to ‘Paris’. xx

    Like

  3. oh my … I think I will have the bonito with the roasted brussel sprouts … what a lovely tea day, I am so glad I stopped by, always delicious to come by your place for tea, dear one! xox

    Like

  4. What a fun road trip! Beautiful landscape and lovely little inn with amazing looking food.

    Like

  5. What a lovely respite! Everything looks so peaceful and yummy. Nothing beats a beautiful drive along the east coast…hopefully, you weren’t bothered this time will “yell phones!” Have a beautiful week, sweet Patty!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  6. Oh Patty! That inn looks absolutely delightful. And the menu — wow! The food sounds absolutely delicious! I love risotto! I love trying new and unexpected food combinations. Crusty bread! Dessert! Yum! I am definitely a country girl. Love that sign with the mileage for places all over the world. Cute! Have a fabulous rest of the week. Tammy

    Like

  7. I’m really ready for this treat. It all looks and sounds so both visual and palatable. It may have been a good thing the tea room was closed.

    I love that you stopped to take photos of the sign that guided you to Paris! This would qualify as one of my Stay-cations, if I lived where you are.

    Like

  8. Gorgeous post Patty, double yum, it’s making me hungry for wide open spaces and fab garden restaurants, sigh… Mx

    Like

  9. My stomach just growled…..that food looks and sounds fantastic….a great consolation for the closed tea shop:)

    Like

  10. What a nice outing with your Mr. Magpie! I would have chosen the beet gazpacho as well … That really stood out to me … And I notice Copper River Salmon … That’s a big deal around here … ’tis the season for salmon – but copper river is the best!

    Happy Tuesdy Patty!

    Like

  11. What a wonderful day you had with the mr…. the countryside looks beautiful and so does the food.

    Like

  12. PS. I always have to smile when I see you mention ‘Middleburg’ (or see it on a sign, like in this post) – it’s like you live near my ‘roots’… a nice connection somehow!

    Like

  13. What a countryside…wow, it is beautiful! I like the mile to sign….looks like a fabulous array of tasty goodness….yummy! A great day!!

    Like

  14. oh, sounds like a lovely day! I wish he had places like this to escape from the loudness of the city from time to time. Where I live, you leave the city, and there’s a big “nothingness”. Only dry hills, the wind and the road that keeps going on and on.

    Like

  15. What a glorious day you had! Love that menu… yummo!

    Like

  16. Dot Ferrero

    We were wondering about The Plains…What is the name of the Tea Shop there? Only thing open last time we were there was the Rail Stop.

    Couldn’t beat Plan B. Lovely menu.

    Like

  17. Dearest Patty, Another wonderful day with you- on your colorful voyage to the country- and your lovely destination for that scrumtious looking and sounding meal. You have the very best links to follow as well! Just found all of my lost post notifications of yours- they were in a :”bulk” mail folder along with thousands. I must learn how to put your link in somewhere so the emails go into my regular inbox!! xo

    Like

  18. one day I will visit all the lovely places you share here on your blog 🙂 Lovely (yummie) photos Patty!

    Like

  19. I love it when a plan b works out so well… the meals looked delicious and the photos are pretty wonderful all round… thanks so much for sharing…xx

    Like

  20. What a charming spot! I can see why you were so captivated — it’s clearly a spot that was meant to be!

    Like

  21. What wonderful food! Great, great road trip!!!

    Like

  22. You never disappoint, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  23. inanoctopusgarden

    I have been here and it is a fun spot and the dining was delicious! I’d love to try and make a luminare like that light fixture in your photo. Love the photos! Au Revoir!!!!!!

    Like

  24. What a beautiful trip, Patty and what great dishes! I’m hungry 🙂

    Like

  25. Lovely photos as always hun. not sure I’d do the gazpacho soup ;0) but your surrounding looked wonderful Dxx

    Like

  26. DREAMY! From the beautiful scenery along the way, to the dishes you tasted. Your tea room is very gourmet (more than just chicken salad and croissants!) Beets and fennel served cold- wish I could have tried it!

    Like

  27. Dear Patty, what a wonderful scenery, the first photo could be here in Denmark, but seing the long stone wall, my illution breaks 🙂
    And your fantastic disches must have been an adventure to taste, Every dish looks so yummy, and beautiful served, which I think is half the experience! You are lucky to have such places to visit, I would like to come ,lol.
    Have a lovely evening my friend.
    Hugs and xx-Dorthe

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

