Love more … Fear less

hardly anything in life is ever just black or white…

perhaps that is the challenge and attraction for me when doodling to not use any color…

I glued a few encyclopedia pages together using UHU glue stick and painted them with black gesso

the photo above was taken about midway in creating my pages…

I was very pleased with how well my white Uniball Signo Gel pen worked along with the two different sized Sharpie water based poster paint markers (Extra Bold Point and Fine Point) on the black gesso with no resistance or hesitation…

I realized after completing these black and white pages that I had done a similar colorized version a couple of years ago here

it felt good to escape into doodle land for a bit…

my art journal pages were inspired by this Swedish Proverb

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more, Love more, and all good things will be yours.”

29 responses to “Love more … Fear less

  1. Wow, your doodling is fantastic, the white pops really on the black gesso.

    Like

  2. WOW fabulous pages, I love them very much. What a gorgeous effect makes the contrast of black and white. Your last red words are awesome too.
    Wish you a happy day. After all that much rain, finally the summer is here for this week, therefore we enjoy the time,
    xox Anja

    Like

  3. Oh my dear Patty, what a beautiful work, what pictorial talent, I am fortunate to have a beautiful zentangle that you gave me and that I cherish.
    These pens are really magic, it does not find them in France.
    Bizzz
    MAPY

    Like

  4. I find I can’t doodle like this bit I do admire those that can ;0)

    Like

  5. Wow!!! Fantastic zentangle pages!!!

    Like

  6. It never fails to amaze me all the different art mediums and techniques you do and do so well! I also adore the red mug photo. Hope you’re staying cool in the relentless heat!

    Like

  7. Love the pages! Love the quote!

    Like

  8. Love the white on black! Wonderful doodles. I tend to get very bored doodling. Zentangles are difficult for me.
    Love the red mug planter. Are those all succulents?

    Like

  9. Well that’s amazing! Love your lacy doodles and the quote. xoxo

    Like

  10. An area I’ve never tried but it does fascinate me to see creations in this zentangle style.
    I was impressed Patty with the definition of white against black, not always easily achieved.
    Wishes
    Lynne
    That mug is fabulous as a planter.

    Like

  11. Wow, your Zentangle is outstanding. Very brilliant, dear Patty

    Like

  12. I love the entire quote, too.
    Your doodling is so nice and big. I tried it a couple of times and it wound up to be tiny! Like my quilting stitches.
    Stay cool and doodle more, girl. You have it down to a science!

    Like

  13. Love the doodles and especially the message….. Fear is so powerful, and so useless!! I’m going to try to replace fear with love today. Thanks, as always, for your beauty and inspiration.
    xo
    Gaye

    Like

  14. Aha! Was intrigued by the black gesso you hinted at earlier and was not disappointed in what you did with it. This came out great Patty.

    Like

  15. Now I see why you were in search of your black gesso. This spread is awesome, even if my hand cramped up just looking at all those doodles (grin). Beautiful black and white entry for a not so black and white world.

    Like

  16. Oh Wow! (just had to add another wow! 🙂 ) Love your pages Patty, love all the doodling you did, so striking this white on black.

    Like

  17. how wonderfully doodled… and the proverb will go straight into my quotes collection!

    Like

  18. Gorgeous doodling dear Patty,
    It looks so fantastic,-must have taken you hours to finish.
    What a wonderful art piece, and so extra powerful in black and white
    – and I love the proverb-
    Happy day to you my friend.
    xx,Dorthe

    Like

  19. Great doodles! They came out nicely 🙂 I can’t do plain black and white, I always use a colored paper as a medium value

    Like

  20. so interesting that fear less almost looks like fearless … I think with loving more we become fearless 🙂

    Like

  21. stempelchaotin

    Oh wow Patty I´m a fan from your zentangles or doodles.
    This was one, what I can not. 😦
    But yours is a great inspiring for me. Wonderful.

    Have a wonderful and sunny weekend Sweetie.
    xoxo

    Like

  22. ive got some black gesso , i must try it out…you are such a wonderful doodler 🙂

    Like

  23. WOW love it, it looks great in black with white, fantastic

    Like

  24. looks like you zenned away! I love this doodling and find it very appealing as an addition to my art…you look like a natural and love the black gesso. I also love the fact that you put books aside and go back and “play in them” – I love that rather than feel like you have this project you have not completed it is an ongoing place you can visit! I have a few things that I will have to put in that category!!!

    Like

  25. Wow! I have always liked simple black and white and this is a prime example of how stunning it can be.

    Like

  26. oh my gosh-that is some very detailed and very creative doodling Patty!!!
    And I absolutely adore your vintage crock of succulents!!

    Like

  27. I just love the idea of doodling but pretty sure mine would not be this spectacular. 🙂

    Like

  28. Pingback: …Explore… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  29. Gorgeous, I love your doodle art 💕💕

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

