Journal Journeys Challenge 11

this month Dawn has given a recipe as a prompt for her art journal challenge which consists of:

“Photograph (digi image, of a person/s),  Stamps, Design Papers & Glossy Accents”
my inspiration came from the Olympics
don’t you miss it …
Great Britain really outdid themselves by putting on a spectacular event from beginning to end …
although I am not sure how long I could  have kept up that TV watching pace…
I took a line from Eric Idle’s very British “Always look on the bright side of life”  from the closing ceremonies…
using the supplies above which include torn pieces of scrapbook paper from Paper Pizazz called Green Map on the tops of my pages…
the bird was handy on my work table which made for a spontaneous addition since I really did not have firm plans for the pages…
the lady is from my personal vintage postcard collection and I got to use some of the dotted paper strips Mr Magpie brings home for me…
 
I would have called my pages finished but still needed to use the glossy accent part of Dawn’s recipe …
so I used Diamond Glaze
over the words since that is what I had on hand…
(it is a similar product and missing from my supplies photo above as is my white gesso that was also used on my pages)
there is still time to play along in Dawn’s August challenge
the more the merrier
*some of the other pages in my journal can be seen here*
 

38 responses to “Journal Journeys Challenge 11

  1. So gorgeous and exquisite … very tempting to play along … I’ve never done a journal page beforehand ….

    Like

  2. do i see eyeshadow? i have used that too!! i LOVE your pages, love the soft pastel + black/white graphics look (and of course, i adore any python songs) beautiful pages, patty!

    Like

  3. Thank you Petra…I hope you DO join in.
    and
    Thank you Jean those are chalks…it’s a pretty big set with just a bit showing in my photo.
    oxo

    Like

  4. Oh Patty, these are two wonderful pages, love every detail on them.

    Like

  5. oh patty, whata delightful page and teh olympics were fantastic 🙂

    Like

  6. Absolutely stunning dear Patty… I love the image of the lady… and the words are just perfect…

    Hugs
    Jenny x

    Like

  7. These pages are so mesmerizing…the Diamond glaze appears to have done the trick. I was hand quilting during the Olympics….I kind of miss the nightly events…the swimming and diving were addictive. Have a great week…the sun is shining. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  8. stempelchaotin

    Patty you rock.
    Your pages are a fest.
    Absolutely unique.
    I´m a big big fan from your amazing journal work.
    Love these.
    Have a lovely day Sweetie.
    xoxo

    Like

  9. Absolutely gorgeous, love eveything about it, the colours, the images, the stamps. Have a great day!

    Like

  10. Sooo wonderful pages, dear Patty. It looks so romantic

    Like

  11. Stunning journal pages Patty, what a great challenge…love how you were inspired by the Olympics, I watched more that what I thought I would!! Jan x

    Like

  12. I love those colours Patty, faded, washed out, gorgeous. Your pages are so inspirational and adore that young woman, what a beautiful face, she draws you in and the bird image was definitely meant for those pages.
    Maybe I need to keep my opinion of the Olympics to myself as I appear to be in the minority lol.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  13. She is so soulful one could get lost in her eyes. Love the use of gesso and lace bits which gives an ethereal look your beautiful pages.

    Like

  14. You have made another beauty! So wonderful!

    Like

  15. Beautiful! 🙂
    Funny, I didn’t know the Monty Python version but that tune is used on a local ad but with the lyrics changed to “You can always turn everything the other way round”.

    Like

  16. such wonderful pages, Patty. Monty Python always makes me laugh 🙂

    Like

  17. This is a fantastic spread. I love what you do with stamps. I wish I saw stamps the same way you do. You did a great job by incorporating the bird, too. And that was the ONLY part of the final Olympics I got to see.

    Like

  18. Love your fantastic tribute to the 2012 Olympics and the quote you added.
    I am still suffering withdrawal from constantly watching the sporting events, day and night.

    Like

  19. Gorgeous, meaningful pages, totally, Patty’s style.
    And thank for your words on my blog, you make me always blush 🙂

    Have a nice weekend!

    Like

  20. Two absolutly dreamy pages. Love the soft look. All textures and details, images, erverything fits together perfectly.
    Hugs Anja

    Like

  21. Beautiful Patty!! I just love how you expertly melded the collage pieces into the background-fabulous!!

    Like

  22. What a great challenge! I’m glad you are creating….I’m living through you right now….. these are beautiful pages!

    Like

  23. Hi Patty,
    Your new pages are stunning, I so love that effect you created ,like mosaic,
    and the bird living there, in the mittle of cheece cloth and other beautiful adds is so lovely , as is the girl.Such fantastic pages dear friend- and so inspirational.
    Hope your weekend will be great Patty.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  24. Your Work is Once Again so Lovely Patty. I Really admire you and Sharon’s Journal Pages! You Both have inspired me to give them a Try.
    Hugs
    Jill

    Like

  25. These journal pages are fantastic, Patty. I love how much detail you put into your work! The colors and layers are gorgeous!
    Just saw your last few posts…you made so many beautiful things while I was away! Love your latest creations:)

    Like

  26. Ths is a page which I adore! The colors are striking! The stamps you show on the picture, who are they from? Can’t find that info in your post, or did I overlook it?

    Like

  27. Sorry to have bothered you, I can see it when I enlarge the photo!

    Like

  28. Thank you very much Ellie

    The unmounted stamps are from Club Scrap May 2003 Aromatherapy
    the burst stamp is by Paper Parachute #780
    and the dot stamp is by Serendipity 🙂

    Like

  29. Another beauty! How sweet that hubby saves the dotted paper for you. Adds some great interest to the pages.

    Like

  30. Wow Patty you have done it again ;0) I really love how you have used the stencil on the edges of the pages. And yes Diamond glaze is the same thing. Thank you once again for joining Journal Journey’s this month. ;0) xx

    Like

  31. Lanise Coats

    I LOVE how you interpreted your theme…it is fascinating to watch the evolution and eye candy to see the finished project..ahhhh…way to go!

    Like

  32. Beautiful – the vintage postcard is a great feature on this! I really like the way you’ve layered the papers and colours, etc. I also love birds … =D

    Like

  33. this is so totally awesome, i can´t stop looking at the details!

    Like

  34. Patty I love all the textures on this page and of course you can never go wrong with a quote from Eric Idle 😉 The stencil on the edges of the pages is gorgeous and the lady on the postcard is just beautiful.

    Love

    Jill
    x

    PS The Olympics were good weren’t they!

    Like

  35. How gorgeous! I especially love the detail in that first photo.

    So glad the Olympics inspired you. It was rather wonderful, wasn’t it….
    XX

    Like

  36. Oh I really love this!

    Like

  37. Pingback: Soartful Challenge “Trees” | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  38. Another fabulous layout!! Wow!!! Your creativity is absolutely fabulous!!! Love it!!! ~Sophia

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

