Spirit …

while searching for something in my art room I came across this 5.50 x 6.25 inch (13.97 x 15.87 cm) blank journal and decided to glue some pages together and play…

after a couple of hours and lots and lots of layers I ended up with these pages and thought I would refrain from putting a face on them and almost called them done…

until I came across an angel that I created some years ago and that was the end of my no face Spirit pages…

she fit perfectly on the left hand side…

thanks to sweet Susan for sharing some beautiful handmade Korean papers, I finally got brave and used a bit of the white flower piece…

the first rip is always the hardest and now my pages are complete…

“When I was younger I could remember anything, whether it happened or not.” ~Mark Twain, 1835-1910

36 responses to “Spirit …

  1. The pages shone with beauty before but with the addition of the angel those pages turned into something exceptionally special. Just adore the layres you created.
    Have a beautiful Friday.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  2. Well it just looks fabulous! glad you kept at it. It is a wonderful, inspiring spread.
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. These are wonderful and inspiring pages, the angel and the white flower piece make them complete and turn them into something very special. Have a lovely weekend, Petra.

    Like

  4. Very beautiful pages, dear Patty.

    Have a lovely weekend

    Like

  5. As I say so often,you never disappoint! Lovely pages, you have a fantastic imagination to do what you do so beautifully.

    Like

  6. That angel is the one I mentioned that I came across in card form as I was unpacking some art stuff the other day…beautiful…glad you reconnectEd…I know I’m glad I DID!!!!

    Like

  7. Oh Patty this is sooooooooo gorgeous. Just love what you did !
    Hugs

    Like

  8. Perfect-o. Angel and all.
    Have a great weekend, my friend.
    Warm hugs,
    Jan xoxoxo

    Like

  9. lovely…………… xox

    Like

  10. So great! You always complete things perfectly….. and is the flower on the cover? I love that!!! Exquisite…as always!

    Like

  11. great pages Patty!!

    Like

  12. THe angel is just righ!

    Like

  13. Gorgeous spread and love the cover also. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  14. I like the addition of the angel. Adds that pop of color that I love.

    Like

  15. your pages are so beautifully layered and detailed Patty and your angel was there for you to finish it perfectly.

    Like

  16. It’s beautiful!

    Like

  17. i feel the same when ripping beautiful paper, you were brave and used it in a wonderful way!

    Like

  18. So lovely ! Love the background and the angelso much.

    Like

  19. oh beautiful pages patty, and the angel was perfect ….

    Like

  20. Dear Patty
    I agree with Lynne – I was fascinated with those two pages – but once you added your blessed angel – WOW didn’t it come alive!!
    and after only two hours work – incredible.
    There’s so much happening – yet it is calm and peaceful, just as we hope spirits are.
    I would love to know more about your layering process.

    Enjoy your weekend – filling your heart and soul with ‘the little things’ dear Patty.
    much love
    Shane x

    Like

  21. Oh, Patty, that’s a wonderful project, so many fantastic details.

    Like

  22. Beautiful pages, specially the Angel is amazing. Love all colors and details.
    Wish you a happy weekend.
    Warm greetings Anja

    Like

  23. Fran Podlesney

    Gorgeous pages Patti. But then they always are!

    Like

  24. Beautiful! I think the angel really makes the page – her rich blue draws me in.
    Rinda

    Like

  25. stempelchaotin

    Oh Oh Sweetie your pages are a fest for my eyes.
    Absolutely stunning design and work.
    Wooooooooooooooow !!!
    Love them.
    xoxo

    Like

  26. Wow! Wonderful pages Patty. TFS.
    Regards Florence x

    Like

  27. that angel was just waiting for this spread!! brave you used that paper (i´m also getting better at using the things instead of hoarding only…)

    Like

  28. Carmen Dyson

    Hi Patty, I’m showing off your wonderful art with my 91 year old Mom. We are home today and tomorrow we take her home to S.C. She loves what you do. I was bragging about you to her. It is good for her to see what I aspire too.

    Like

  29. What a beautiful journal, and I love the pages you have created.
    “The first rip is the hardest”, as is the first splash of paint on a canvas, the first sketch in a book, and of course The First Cut.
    *wanders off singing*

    Like

  30. I am really late seeing this beauty, but I couldn’t just admire it and not let you know how much I always love your beautiful layering. You do SO much with your pages. They are fantastic. And the spirit angel is perfect for the spread. I’m trying to learn to just DO it: make that first rip. I find it too hard and must learn from you.

    Like

  31. marmeladegypsy

    Hello, my friend — I have been so very absent, and I’m sorry. A stressful summer and dark depression have slowed my visits. That an an overabundance of family things — hard to juggle the two and blog visiting suffered. But my! I have missed a lot as I go through your pages — all the wonderful tea posts and this amazing journal! I am incredibly impressed, as always. How it makes me smile!

    Like

  32. Fabulous journal pages!

    Like

  33. Pingback: Directions to Discover… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  34. Pingback: create summer moments… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  35. How did I miss this post – do tell! Beautifully done Sugar!
    sandy xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

