Cabo Rojo and the Traveling Tea Cup…

our traveling tea cup got to visit Puerto Rico about seven months ago…

time moves so quickly I had not made time to record this fun part of our trip…

not everything makes it to my blog but this post has been partially drafted and waiting in the wings since March (oh my!)

there is a lot to tell…

we wanted to take a day trip to Cabo Rojo in the southwest corner of Puerto Rico (about 1.5 hours from Old San Juan where we were staying) and hired a guide to drive us which was something we had never done before…

our day unfolded sweetly from beginning to end thanks to Amadis Cruz or “Cruz” (in the photo above with Mr Magpie) as he liked us to call him…

he was an affable ex U.S. Army guy who shared his passion for his beautiful Puerto Rico with us…

even inviting us into his Uncle’s getaway home for a stop along the way…

we visited a hot dry forest and could have easily spent the entire day there…

those are termites marching in a line on the tree from a big nest (thank you telephoto lens…click on the picture if you dare for a closer look)…

the Los Morillos Lighthouse welcomed us even in daylight…

when Mr Magpie spotted the first of several Iguanas on the daunting and crumbling limestone cliffs he told me to turn around very carefully knowing I would be very surprised and delighted…

you can see below where the sky and the Atlantic and Caribbean Oceans meet with the different shades of blue…

we came upon this memorial rock along the 200 ft tall cliffs’ edge that stopped us in our tracks…

as it happened we were visiting on 11 February which was the exact same day that this young man fell to his death the year before…

I did a search when we returned home to find out a little more about Casey here (there is a memorial Facebook page for him as well)

with hearts overflowing we walked through the brush to a beautiful beach area

and paused to twinkle our toes in the silky white sand and stand in the cool water for a bit…

Mr Magpie and Cruz waited patiently for me to snap some traveling teacup photos…

we drove past the salt flats and were off in search of the perfect sunset which is what brought us to this side of the island in the first place…

we never really got a great view of the sunset because of driving and logistics and whatnot but it really did not matter…

later that evening we walked in the beach village of Boquerón which was very lively on that Saturday night

we tasted some of the sweetest clams and delicious oysters shucked fresh and sold for a song…

just before heading back to Old San Juan we experienced a magical boat ride (not the kayaks noted on the sign) out onto a bioluminescent bay… there are no photos just amazing memories of that extraordinary encounter with nature…

I am happy to have some links here for future reference and some photos too…

we would highly recommend a visit to Puerto Rico if you have the chance to visit some day…

40 responses to “Cabo Rojo and the Traveling Tea Cup…

  1. BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS PATTY. THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR TRIP WITH US.
    Xxoo

    Like

  2. Our youngest son, Peter, was hiking with his father on C&O Canal. Peter was rappeling over the Potomac and his knot loosened and he fell 45ft.
    He landed on rocks below and has a plate in his skull as a result. He was first to be picked up by Rescue Helicopter. It was his Senior High School year. So sorry to see your memorial.

    Beautiful photos..never seen the demarcation between sea and sky…beautiful.

    Like

  3. Wonderful photos of your trip Patty, your teacup is certainly clocking up the miles. How strange to have found the stone on the same day,think that would have got me all goosepimply! Love the last t-cup pic Mxx

    Like

  4. What fabulous shots,,,,you should work for their Tourist Board with such shots:),,,you make me want to revisit too:) Hope you are doing well!!
    Happy Tuesday to you!

    Like

  5. I enjoyed ‘going on this trip’ Patty… it really was like I took a journey when I came to the end of your post! I especially love the photo of the sunset with the big boats… remind me of ‘home’ you know. Have a great day, dear one!

    Like

  6. What a gorgeous post and definitely worth waiting for. Your photos are breathtaking- and even though I am in love with rainbows, your tea cup is my absolute favorite. Your trip is poetry in motion filled with such passion for life! Love it!! Xo

    Like

  7. I’m so glad you are also continuing Tea Tuesday. It would be no fun being the only person doing so. I also enjoy it, and it makes an enjoyable mid-week respite.

    It was wonderful to see the traveling tea cup as it sat on the rocks. What a sad story about the boy from Arkansas. And of course, all the photos are wonderful. And yes, I clicked on the termite tree! Amazing. Happy Tea Tuesday to you, dear friend.

    Like

  8. Such a lovely pictures, Patty.
    I love that magical one with the cup 🙂

    Like

  9. What a great post…. glad you finally posted it. ha! Amazing about Feb. 11 and Casey, etc. Very touching…. And… those termites… oh my!

    Like

  10. wow, what a trip Patty….so beautiful, and the stories you tell. Love seeing your wonderful memories!

    Like

  11. What a gorgeous post, Patty! So many beautiful captures of this charming area. But I must say that I’m stuck on that memorial rock. I can only imagine the goosebumps/chills you must have experienced in seeing the Feb. 11 date. Always enjoy peeking in even though I am blogging dropout/loser! 🙂
    xo, Sue

    Like

  12. Patty, what great memories. Thanks for sharing. As usual, the photos are fabulous. You make me want to visit these places you share. May you have a most blessed day! And, please take care!

    Like

  13. Yes we felt deeply some of the pain Casey’s family and friends must still be feeling with his untimely departure and plunge down the cliffs

    I also got goosebumps this morning when I realized my scheduled T post was on September 11th…
    another terribly hard day for all those that have lost loved ones…
    harder than every other day without their dear ones to hold and hug
    oxo

    Like

  14. I enjoyed every inch of your post, Patty. Remembering the previous posts about your trip, I’m not sure that you could have filled another moment into your visit to Puerto Rico! Thank you so much for sharing all this loveliness with us, sweet friend!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  15. Casey’s face book page was very sweet and he is greatly missed by many. I’m so glad you looked it up! And beautiful pictures also! Love, Diane:)

    Like

  16. The photos you´re sharing are always so beautifully and uniquely. What a wonderful trip my dear.

    Like

  17. How wonderful to have a travelling tea-cup.
    The deepest blue of the ocean. I am not a beachy type of girl but those photographs are sensational, so calming and the sunsets.
    Amazing photography as always Patty.
    I also stopped to pause when I realised the date today. I can remember exactly what I was doing 11 years ago, strangely enough I was purchasing US$ as I was preparing for a holiday in America.
    There is much to reflect upon.
    Wishes
    Lynne
    P.S. Thank you for being so supportive of all my little posts, it does mean so much to me.

    Like

  18. Wow, you go on some amazing adventures Patty, and I just love going on these beautiful trips with you through your wonderful pics!! x

    Like

  19. Beautiful pictures as always, Patty. Thank you for sharing bits of your traveling adventures with us 🙂

    Like

  20. Vacation photos are always timely and welcome. And yours are always amazing! I am still savoring the oysters you described and your traveling teacup is as good as a gnome, only classier (classy-er). heehee.

    Like

  21. I have goosebumps after looking at your beautiful and very touching photos and reading your wonderful commentary Patty. Poignant and lovely. xoxo

    Like

  22. You are such a great photographer Patty. Love those blues too. It all looks so beautiful…it just has to go on my bucket list.

    Like

  23. Not a chance I guess I will ever get,-so thankyou for this computer trip, dear Patty.I so enjoyed all your wonderful photoes of that beautiful place,- and very gorgeous nature. Love your tea cup photo also- thankyou for taking me with you my friend.
    Weekend to come – hugs ,Dorthe

    Like

  24. What a gorgeous trip…thanks for continuing to share pieces of it with us.

    Like

  25. That dear little tea cup must be ‘the most travelled of all tea cups”!
    What wonderful adventures it has shared with you and Mr M.
    Your travelog posts are wonderful and I always grab our atlas to see exactly where you’ve been. I love how you take the path less travelled – or so it seems.
    I can see a wonderful armchair travel book from you one day, it’s one of my favorite genres.
    A M A Z I N G photos again – taken with an artist’s eye!

    We remembered 9/11 yesterday, my heart goes out to those families who lost their loved ones too.
    love
    Shane xox

    Like

  26. What a wonderful trip! Amazing pictures! I love the little bird hanging upside down in the Hoya vines!

    Like

  27. i so enjoyed traveling with you, dear patty, your photos are amazing!!! i LOVE the iguana in particular…i have had the great opportunity to see those lovely creatures on 2 occasions!!! thanks for sharing…xo

    Like

  28. Wonderful shots – love the teacup ! Casey’s rock is haunting and how extraordinary that the dates collided – amazing! You were truly meant to find it. Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

  29. Again, I’m thrilled to share in your travels even months later, it doesn’t matter when. The tea cup sure sat in it’s glory, haha! It was all so beautiful and I’m sure not a coincidence that you visited on that very day.

    Like

  30. Oh how lovely! I know I will never get there in person so it was wonderful to see it through your eyes.

    Like

  31. I’m fascinated, thanks for sharing this lot of beautiful photos. I believe you had a great fun trip. Wish you a happy weekend my Dear.
    xox Anja

    Like

  32. It sounds (and looks) like an amazing place!!! I have to admit that I will just take your word for it about the termites …. just reading your words gave me the creepy crawlies!

    How sad about the boy from Arkansas – his family must be devastated – what a tragedy

    Like

  33. I love the travelling tea cup posts and this one is no exception… the colour of the water looks like the water here at home… xx

    Like

  34. Thank you for a little holliday ;o)

    Like

  35. Really enjoyed reading this and seeing your lovely photos … esepcially the travelling teacup! =D

    Like

  36. Looks divine. Period!

    Like

  37. What a wonderful trip with some amazing sites and beautiful photos. So sad about that young man. Wishing you a wonderful weekend. Tammy

    Like

  38. What gorgeous, gorgeous photos!! Such a sad and tragic ending of a young life. You must have had some strong feelings reflecting on what brought you to this place the way it did. Love and hugs.

    Like

  39. Fabulous post , thoroughly enjoyed reading it and what beautiful photos, thank you x

    Like

  40. Gorgeous!!! Your photos are just so beautiful! I love the rock in memory of the person whose ashes were scattered! I’ll have to have them do that in Colorado with mine!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

