Virginia “snowflakes”…

winter is finally arriving in the Washington, DC area bringing arctic temperatures which will be the coldest we’ve had for about two years…

NBC News Inaguaration Day 2013

yesterday’s Presidential Inauguration turned out to be a beautiful day with mild temperatures…

Queen Anne's Lace Fresh Collage

so until we get some real snowflakes I have been playing with Queen Anne’s Lace flower heads (also known as wild carrot) that I gathered last summer in a nearby meadow…

Queen Anne's Lace in book

pressed in my flower press and stored in a book to keep them nice and flat…

Queen Anne's Lace (3)

I recently got the idea to add a printed word when I put them in the laminating sleeve…

Queen Anne's Lace Laminating Machine

after sending them through the laminating machine I trim them with scissors and punch a hole to add a string or ribbon for hanging..

Queen Anne's Lace (5)

I did manage to make a handful of gelli monoprinted cards with “snowflake” ornaments for the holidays…

Patty Szymkowicz Gelli Monoprint cards

the idea had been in my head for awhile…

Snowflake quote

it is a perfect day to stay indoors and enjoy a hot cuppa…

28 responses to “Virginia “snowflakes”…

  1. LOVE the Queen Anne’s Lace my favorite flower, love the cards with the snowflake brilliant idea, looks fantastic..

    Like

  2. I love your snowflakes! Stay warm, my friend!

    Like

  3. Both the cards and the ornaments are absolutely gorgeous. The Queen Anne’s Lace always reminds me of a childhood moment with my mother when I first saw this delicate flower. What a beautiful idea. xoxo

    Like

  4. Snowflakes are so lacy and I love your theme here. Queen Anne’s Lace is one of my favorites. Love your cards with the printed snowflakes, too! All so delicate and beautiful! Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr; its really cold here, too. I’m staying inside today 🙂 Stay warm! xxoo

    Like

  5. These are so delicate and lovely Patty! We are very snowy here at the moment!
    Sending warm hugs,
    Alison xxx

    Like

  6. Brilliant idea! So beautiful hanging in your window. I love Queen Ann’s lace, but never thought about the snowflake resemblance (duh!) A definite way to brighten a winter’s day. 🙂

    Like

  7. That is just SO creative Patty….beautifully pressed flowers and such gorgeous cards.

    Like

  8. what a beautiful creative idea! they are true visual poems.
    greetings from Poland – buried in snow.

    Like

  9. oh I do love them with the blue gelli printing patty………stay warm……. I would send you some heat if I could 🙂

    Like

  10. I watched the amazing images on BBC news, it is inspirational the way so many attended, I could never imagine this happening in the U.K.
    Those are so delightful, what a beautiful way to send a wish to someone or to have around the home. They look so artful against your gelli prints.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  11. I really enjoyed the inauguration.
    Rinda

    Like

  12. always such wonderful, original ideas! xo

    Like

  13. Well it is just the perfect summer snowflake! I love it! I had a steaming cup of Earl Grey today and it was yummy!!
    ~Dawn

    Like

  14. Patty,
    I love those gelli printed cards. They turned out beautifully! You are such a generous giver. I also love your use of flowers. I wish I had access to some to make your pressed-flower tissue. Also love the laminated “snowflakes.” Alas there are no flowers and it is way below zero here! I am having computer trouble and cannot blog but I am going to try to keep up with some of my favorite sites.
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  15. This is a sweet idea…the cards…the snowflakes are wonderful …and to think I have my own supply right along my country road. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  16. inanoctopusgarden

    These flowers are magical – I too have a childhood memory of placing them in water with food coloring added to change their color…it really works! Your cards were just beautiful and looked just perfect on our display shelf in Asheville over the holidays. Stay warm and enjoy looking out at the sunshine!

    Like

  17. I love your Queen Anne’s lace snowflakes. And to see them displayed on your beautifully printed cards makes them even more special. You’re always so inspiring my friend!

    Like

  18. I just love the idea of Queen Anne’s snowflakes! Your holiday cards really are beautiful! They are one of my favorite flowers to dry, but the idea of laminating and using as snowflakes rocks!

    Like

  19. Dear Patty, hello again my friend.
    How beautiful you pressed the Queen Anne’s Lace – they are so fragile and lovely-and put onto your gorgeous geli printed cards,with a sweet word-they are stunning!
    I would have loved to see the Inauguration monday, but was on my way home from Copenhagen,after having left Mathilde with her parents again.
    Hugs and keep warm-I try to here, but have catched a bad cold!!!
    Dorthe

    Like

  20. Love the pressed flowers. So pretty.

    Like

  21. Thanks for the visit, I tried a lot of times to dry the QALace never worked but I see now it can be done. Sheesh now I have to wait for July around here for them..Thanks fellpw magpie:):):)…

    Like

  22. Hello dear Patty
    These QAL flowers are absolutely beautiful pressed.
    I used to have masses of it in my old garden.
    One of my neighbours gave me a tiny seedling just before Christmas
    and although it hasn’t grown as tall as I thought, it is about to flower!
    Each morning as soon as I get up I always do a walk around my garden and I’m getting so excited waiting for my Queen Anne to flower!!!

    I’ll press some too in my flower pres which is a huge old copy of Collins English Dictionary!
    I lOve the idea of making cards – they do look like snowflakes!

    Please come over and enter my giveaway!

    Hugs
    Shane ♥

    Like

  23. Patty this is such a wonderful idea! I love this nautral based look ..and how clever and artsy you did preserve this natural gifts ! I had to pin it to my inspirational board on pinterest! I hope you agree with this!
    wonderful post this week dear Patty!
    Thank you also for encouraging our ART JOURNAL CHALLENGE Patty!
    xxx
    be care of you!

    Susi

    Like

  24. Just a wonderful idea. Really eye catching.

    Like

  25. Patti these are really beautiful & I love the addition of the words as well xx

    Like

  26. Very creative , love the use of the Queen Anne’s lace in the laminate machine. I have one of those somewhere collecting dust, and I never know what to do with it , looks like a great way to preserve the delicate dried flowers.

    Like

  27. Pingback: can you feel the twinkle… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  28. Nothing makes me happier than a good inside day! LOVE the Queen Anne’s lace!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

