stitch by stitch …

 

Rusty Tea Dyed Fabrics

a chance to use some of my rusted and hand dyed fabric pieces

stitches

 not worrying about making exact stitches or finished edges is relaxing for me while listening to TV…

 Johanna's Swan JOY

 a beautiful German Swan image printed on cotton from Johanna in Germany…Patty Szymkowicz Prayer Flags

in the center you can see how plain the flags begin with a sleeve at the top for stringing/hanging…

LOVEthe embroidered netting is from a thrift shop shower curtain (wish I knew who to thank for the little girl image?)…

Another HeavenI printed a copy of a small canvas I created onto cotton adding dyed netting, a silk ribbon bow and a piece of gorgeous lace from Mapy in France

Peacethis flag came about when I found the last piece of lovely silk kimono left over from making a Japanese Journal that used wonderful ingredients all the way from Jen in Australia

the Japanese lady is printed onto new tea bag paper which was a gift from my friend Judy Post…

“All my scattering moments are taken up with my needle.”  ~Ellen Birdseye Wheaton, 1851

32 responses to “stitch by stitch …

  1. Love these little flags. You have used such great combinations of fabrics and images. And I like that you have special stories about where the materials come from.

    Like

  2. Each creation is beyond gorgeous Patty! From the dreamy hand dyed fabrics and lace to the wonderful images and art. Your stitching and special flourishes are just beautiful. xoxo

    Like

  3. Gorgeous flags Patty!!! I love the vintage look to them. The swan is just beautiful!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  4. I’ve never transferred the images to fabric. This is really just stunning. I love the combination of the photos and your art with the delicate stitching and beautiful fabrics. It really is a treasure.

    Like

  5. Your projects are gorgeous and it’s wonderful to know the history of the pieces. Loveing all the dyed and rusted materials…………….. yummy.
    Hugz Tonniece

    Like

  6. Lovely and all with a bit of history too.

    Like

  7. oh patty, these are just fantastic! i really love all the details and stitching…c’est magnifique!!!

    Like

  8. Lanise Coats

    So Patty, you are stitching together a ‘neighborhood of world’ and Time as well…in Balance of color, texture, etc, and, like the Tibetans, have used the flag as metaphor…for prayers…This particular piece hits me on soooo many levels…the written explanation of the origins of some of the elements, the possible stories of each person and their connection with you, and now, via you, of us all..and the Visual, rich, rich, rich..well..I could (and sometimes DO!) run on an on, waxing quasi-lyrically…STUNNING and Complex…

    Like

  9. Oh Patty…what beautiful treasures you have created…LOVE the rusted and hand dyed fabric pieces.. your flags are amazing 🙂 I agree …so relaxing to stitch away while listening to the TV in the evening….perhaps that’s why I’m addicted to making these little prayer flags!! 😉 x

    Like

  10. Oh my gosh ..what fabulous and wonderful things!
    My heart sings!
    Thank you Patty!
    Fantastic treasures!

    Like

  11. Oh my!!! I’m in love with these beauties Patty! I can see why you could get addicted to making them! xxx

    Like

  12. OH Patty, they are amazingly beautiful, -the blue swan flag is fantastic, and so love the flowers you made ,too- and the little girl, the sweetest image- with the gorgeous curtain and all other beautiful laces,–and all of them are special with your rusted materials- — love the painted image too- was that a photo, dear ?
    After this I need to try printing something in blue tones if possible- smiles!
    Hugs and happy thursday my friend.
    Dorthe,xx

    Like

  13. Wow, Patty, these pieces are gorgeous. Just wonderful

    Like

  14. Simply beautiful.

    Like

  15. You’re just too talented mrs magpie 🙂 I really love all this lace together it really works with the extras of rust ‘n’ stuff! Dxx

    Like

  16. Patty I just love these! Perhaps you could do a blog post on your image printing methods. I need to learn about this.

    Like

  17. What beautiful pieces! They are gorgeous!

    Like

  18. Stunning Patty – truly! All your touches, stitches and images come together so beautifully! xxoo

    Like

  19. Beautiful through and through 🙂

    Like

  20. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Patti! I love these stitched pieces – are they prayer flags? I love how you used your hand dyed fabrics. I am still planning on doing some dying like you told me. I bought some pieces of lace trim just today. God bless and enjoy Spring – we actually had some warm weather and sunshine.

    Like

  21. Beautiful as usual dear Patty. Never throw any pieces away…..they can always to used somewhere in creative moment.

    Like

  22. I’m both in love with and jealous of those wonderful laces and rusty fabrics you used in your flags. And of course I can only appreciate your incredible hand stitching. Gorgeous beyond belief.

    Like

  23. This is truly beautiful Patty.

    You always make my day with your sweet comments 🙂
    Hope you have a very nice and creative spring-ish weekend !

    gio

    Like

  24. these are just stunning Patty! I love the delicate feel of the embellishments you used. beautiful work!

    Like

  25. These pieces are so wonderful to look at they have such a relaxed joy to them – how sweet they will look swaying in the wind.

    Like

  26. Sheesh Miss Magpie I wanted to get here to comment, I loooooove to rust , its one of my favorite techniques, how its like magic when you see what the rust created..The pages are really so gorgeous, all that special thing you added, fabulous, I haven’t rusted lace or ribbon, I have to make some now:):) always inspiring my dear., printed on new teabag paper how kool is that…..That pretty canvas print is lovely in there. The embroidered netting is from a thrift shop shower curtain, you are a great magpie:):), it looks beautiful surround that sweeeet image.. What a stunning piece you created right here, thanks a bunch for sharing all, big hugs..

    Like

  27. ah beautiful prayer flags we will have to a swap one day…glad you backs are messy too….as soon as I saw that fabric I thought it was familiar 🙂 xxxxx

    Like

  28. Dear Patty
    Only now am I catching-up on some of your recent posts.
    Sublime!
    All so unique but all with beauty running through them. I absolutely adore the flag with the child’s image and also the one where you printed one of your canvases.
    As I viewed this post I did have to wonder to myself, they would look amazing in Sew Somerset 🙂
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  29. I love the rust dyed edges..gorgeous fabric post..love all the layers

    Like

  30. How did I almost miss this post? I just happened to scroll down and see it! Love, love, love these flags! Soooooooo special!!

    Like

  31. Swooning for the rusty, lacy beauty! very luscious!

    Like

  32. Gorgeous work! I love the one with the swan! You’ve been busy!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

