Spring has Sprung Tea…

in quest for signs of spring here in the Washington DC area Mr Magpie and I took the traveling tea cup out and about this past weekend…

Tidal Basin Cherry Blossoms

the National Cherry Blossom Festival activities are in full swing but the cherry blossoms themselves had been slow to make their appearance…Cherry Blossoms 7 Apr 13

that did not stop the hoards of visitors from coming out on a sunny and very breezy day to check on them…

Not quite ready Cherry Blossoms 7 Apr 2012

while we were in the city we decided to visit a favorite garden and were delighted to find the Crystal Cloud Terrace installation still in place…

Dumbarton Mr Magpie

the garden will not be the same when the ten thousand Swarovski Elements crystals are taken down…

Dumbarton Forsythia Dell

it was a treat to see the forsythia dell in all of its glory…

Dumbarton Pebble Garden

every season definitely has its charms in this most beautiful of city gardens

Dumbarton Oaks T Cup

a spot well worth visiting if you come to Washington, DC any time of year…

Dumbarton Oaks bench

“Every spring is the only spring – a perpetual astonishment.”  ~Ellis Peters

***be sure to stop by and visit Elizabeth of Altered Book Lover and leave a comment for a chance to win her wonderful book giveaway if you haven’t already***

32 responses to “Spring has Sprung Tea…

  1. Hello,
    Quelle belle balade ma chère Patty, les arbres sont en fleurs, comme chez nous, le printemps est là, la vie est belle.
    J’aime particulièrement le jardin préféré et le Nuage cristal, j’adorerais visiter un tel jardin.
    Merci pour ce partage.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY..

    Like

  2. Oh my, I’d love to visit Washington DC again and here you can just drive into the city…wonderful! A crystal cloud sounds like it would be worth driving many miles to see!

    Like

  3. thanks for the walk around D.C….wonderful shots. I especially like the one with the tea cup in the tree with the Washington Monument in the background. Those cherry blossoms always make me so cheery. Now I need a spot of tea………

    Like

  4. A crystal cloud sounds like a dream! Thank you again for sharing your glorious photos….they are beautiful and inspiring and I am so ready for them, they make me happy!
    Thank you for always sharing your warmth!

    Like

  5. Gorgeous pictures of DC!!! The Cherry Blossoms are so beautiful this time of year!!! I would love to visit the crystal cloud garden. It sounds like such an amazing place. Thank you for sharing!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  6. What a perfectly delightful time of year in Washington, DC. Hoping your cherry blossoms come forth soon. The crystal cloud is enchanting and I’m sure the garden won’t be the same when the installation is gone….
    Thank you for sharing the travels of the cup! Have a lovely week, dear Patty.
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  7. oh my gosh .. you have spring… wonderful images Patty — I can feel the fresh soft breeze of spring …

    hopefully I look forward .. today the first sun was here to see and the perpetual snow from this very strong and long winter is going to melt!

    Please send this springweather from the Washington DC area to me…
    thank you!

    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  8. I WILL get there…… sooner than later……. love your pictures! It’s all beautiful………. your cup overflowth!

    Like

  9. Today I so needed to be taken on a journey, even if it was for the briefest of moments, I feel recharged for it.
    Such a pity the cherry blossom are so shy this year but still, lovely to see the visitors out and about enjoying Mother Nature.
    That cloud is astonishing, I cannot imagine the hours put into its creation.
    As always, thank you for sharing with us images that otherwise we would not have the opportunity to savour.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  10. I read this entire post with great interest, remembering the times I had visited DC, but never ti this garden, and never when the cherry blossoms were in abundance. After falling in love all over again with the scenery, I nearly fell over when I saw my name. You are too kind!! Happy, happy tea day to you (and Mr. Magpie, too).

    Like

  11. Looks like a lovely weekend! Thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures as always. =)

    Like

  12. Drop dead gorgeous! Oh, Patty — will we ever get spring in Michigan? I’m so glad I can live vicariously online!

    Like

  13. Thank you for sharing your visuals of the crystal clouds..this was a favorite garden of ours to visit..so tranquil and quiet. My cherry blossoms burst into bloom yesterday..always a surprise and delight. I hope you can come Monday for bead fun. The girls are outdoing themselves with very large colorful eggs.

    Like

  14. Thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures Patty. This was a trip down memory lane, for me, as my husband and I have been to Washington, D.C. a couple of times and so enjoyed the sights. Spring is inching its way, here, but not in full – kind of teasing us 🙂 xxoo

    Like

  15. All your pics are breathtaking beautiful, Patty!
    Enjoy the blooming trees, while I have to get my coats out of the closet 😉

    Like

  16. Dear Patty.
    OH I remember that crystal cloud, from last year, it is just soooo amazing –
    and just to see the blue sky and all the people “feasting” the first dayes of spring, with the gorgeous forsythia busches… what a sight also with the sherry blossoms opened up, on some of the trees…that cup of yours, surely are a well traveled cup, and have so many wonderful stories to tell! 🙂
    Hugs my dear-
    Dorthe

    Like

  17. That Crystal Cloud Terrace is amazing!….but you wouldn’t get me out on such a cold day. Delightful to have cherry blossom in the city.

    Like

  18. Beautiful. DC is a place that we really want to visit. Nice to see little glimpses of it through your lens.

    Like

  19. still waiting for spring here… can you hear me tapping my fingernails on the desk? LOL!! just a bit impatient… oh alright! waaaay impatient to have warmth and flowers and greeeen things again!! wonderful to see your cheery cherry blossoms… xooxx

    Like

  20. what a beautiful city this time of year!
    I’ve only been there in the middle of summer – it was so hot!!!
    but I loved it anyway – so much to see and do – you are lucky to be so close!

    Like

  21. The pictures are beautiful and I love your traveling teacup. My family is going to D.C. next weekend. I hope to find some of the locations you mentioned. Maybe the cherry blossoms will be out by then.

    Like

  22. who needs to fly on a plane when I have got your lovely photos to look at..really like the teacup in a tree one…the wind is very cold here but the flowers are trying to bloom! so spring is late here too

    Like

  23. oh what times you spend together 🙂 so glad spring is on its way , the blossoms are beautiful 🙂

    Like

  24. Wonderful photos … thanks for the smile on my face seeing the cup in the tree 🙂 Still waiting for the fresh greens and the blossom here in Germany.

    Like

  25. Wow it’s such a lovely place! Cedric says hi!

    Sandy xox

    Like

  26. Even without the celebrated blooms, everything looks so lovely. What a wonderful day out! Have a fabulous Friday. Tammy

    Like

  27. Had a min. to visit and I’m glad I did, thanks for sharing your wonderful journey with us, the pics are beautiful, I loooooved how you took the cup and did photos very kool idea Miss Magpie, hope you and the Mr have a lovely weekend

    Like

  28. That first group is really interesting! And I love the Martin Luther King Memorial. Thanks for sharing your images.
    Rinda

    Like

  29. Beautiful photos. I am so missing cherry blossom as I hardly ever see any up here. The streets were lined with the trees where I used to live

    Like

  30. Oh dear Patty… sounds like a perfect day… the cherry blossoms are so pretty… and just love all your gorgeous photos… happy Springtime…

    Jenny ♥

    Like

  31. Haha, so cute “the travelling cup ” 😉 thank you for taking me with you on this joyful journey 🙂 and yes spring is here today the first day of the year YEAH ♥ Conny
    http://piaromsartjournaling.blogspot.de

    Like

  32. Such beautiful photographs Patty and Jim, I love how you bring your tea cup along too, very creative 🙂 It must be amazing to see all the crystals on the trees , especially if the sun shines on them. You always get your Spring before we do , to us, you live in the south 🙂

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

