Royal Welcome…

our first full day in London was quite memorable…

Colonels Review Trooping the Colour 2013as we walked through St James Park toward the sound of marching bands…

St James Park 8 June 2013we could hardly believe our eyes and ears…

Mr Magpie filmed several short videos of  the Colonel’s Review of the Trooping The Colour 2013 for Her Majesty The Queen’s Birthday Parade which was happening the following Saturday (15 June 2013)…

we were pretty excited about just this rehearsal (one of two conducted on different weekends before the actual celebration where the royals would be in attendance to celebrate the Queen’s official birthday)…

London Holiday Inn 19 Floor ViewLondon certainly is a bustling and beautiful city with lots of helpful and friendly people…

***here is a bit of a back story from many years ago when I traveled as a young woman to Europe for 9 weeks by myself …

that was the first time I had ever heard about Trooping the Colour …

as it happened on that beautiful and warm June day there were lines of red uniformed bear hat soldiers standing at attention on a green lawn …

I remember gasping as two soldiers fell face down at full attention with their arms stiff by their sides hats pretty much in place…

what were the chances to revisit a similar scene so many years later (no fainted soldiers this time around…there was a nice breeze)…

I had not really paid attention to Trooping of the Colour since my chance encounter so many years ago***

 

 

27 responses to “Royal Welcome…

  1. Beautiful photos!!! Love the bright red uniforms. Stunning! Thank you for sharing your trip!!! 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  2. Photos are awesome! So impressive with the colors, ceremony, and significance. Thank you so much for sharing! xxoo

    Like

  3. Always in awe of your photographs, in evidence here the wonderful colours.
    Eagerly await further photographs.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  4. inanoctopusgarden

    such pomp and circumstance ….all in honor of you visit …how welcoming!

    Like

  5. Wow! Love the photos and seeing the short videos.

    Like

  6. Enjoy the trip Patty. What a great start!

    Like

  7. Well Miss Patty, how nice you didn’t have to witness the guards falling again. I would be no good had I seen that, my gosh.
    Thanx for the lovely photos.
    Hugz Tonniece

    Like

  8. Dear Patty, this must have been a fantastic show ,to witness- oh so many rehursing, ,-playing and marching , what a sight and what an experience!!
    They look marvelous in their red and black uniforms!!
    Good you did not see any falling guards – one time must be enough 🙂
    —poor men having to stand for long in very warm summers, now and then!!
    Thankyou again Patty for sharing wonderful experiences from your journey,– I never witnessed this, and am happy to see and hear the videos.
    Hope your saturday is lovely,–here the sun has been out, all day and still is ,20,30 evening!!
    Hugs from me.
    Dorthe

    Like

  9. Looks like you are having great fun in London! Valerie

    Like

  10. Beautiful memories of your journey. Saw the birthday parade live on german tv. Really fantastic and colorful uniforms but the music isn’t my cup of tea *_*

    Like

  11. Gorgeous photos! Both of the rehearsal and the last panorama.
    Rinda

    Like

  12. amazing impressions Patty! Oh that reminds me on my first and only trip to london sooo many years ago!
    Would be great to visit again…

    seems that this was a great trip Patty …
    blessings

    Susi

    Like

  13. love your impressions of great britain – and i suppose the fainted soldiers are not seldom on hot days. good you had some breeze this time!

    Like

  14. Hello Chère Patty,
    Lors de ma visite à Londres il y a longtemps j’ai vu le même spectacle immuable.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  15. What a beautiful and exciting experience for you both, only to revisit the experience so many years later! The photos are so crisp, clear and colorful. I feel like I’m standing there with you! xoxo Karen

    Like

  16. Hallo liebe Patty, your photos are brilliant – as always. It is always a pleasure to have a look to your blog.
    I thank you so much for your visit to my blog and for your lovely comments. It means so much to me.

    Have a wonderful new week

    Like

  17. Great photos. I’m just glad you are home.

    Like

  18. WOW Miss Patty how GORGEOUS those soldiers with their stunning uniforms and their beautiful black horses, what a sight to behold and you give that Mr Magpie a BIG hug for videoing it, there is nothing better than to hear those hooves clopping along the road, oh how exciting., Isn’t London a FANTASTIC place, thanks for sharing your fabulous photos and stories, love sharing your adventure, can’t wait to see more. Have a wonderful day..

    Like

  19. I think you had a much better view and far less police than would have been there had the Queen been present. What impressed me were the police who didn’t seem to be wearing guns.

    I felt like I was there when Mr. Magpie filmed that video. So very impressive. It made the sights and sounds of London seem so real.

    Like

  20. Your videos were so fun and that shot of London is post card perfect. It is so wonderful that you had the opportunity to see London with a new perspective and share it with Jim and your dear friends. Thank you for sharing your special memories! =)

    Like

  21. Wonderful photos Patty! What a great thing to see! xxx

    Like

  22. wonderful photos and vids dear Patty! First time I went to London with a friend was over 30 yrs. ago and I remember it still so vividly. I felt like I was in a dream… I know my friend persisted in trying to get one of those guards to move or smile-didn’t work 🙂

    Like

  23. Your videos remind me of my day in London — except ours was rainy and yours looks very jolly! Oh, I must go back!

    Like

  24. This is always exciting TOC we saw the queen once and it was quite lovely even though I wouldn’t consider myself a royalist (although I do think they are a good thing for the country to be honest) I am glad you got to see this rehearsal to remind you of earlier years. Lovely photos & video, the horses are so beautiful aren’t they Dxx

    Like

  25. So glad to see London put on a good show for your arrival 😉 I think you have seen more than us now, Patty….and we only live 90mins away! xx

    Like

  26. Pingback: Loti and The Traveling Teacup | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  27. Pingback: Rinda’s 2013 Summertime Photography Scavenger Hunt: Part 2 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

