Elderflower Lemonade…

a break in the humidity and very hot temperatures lately had me out back pounding the pavement (so to speak)…

I have tried flower pounding before with paper but was never very thrilled with the results…

using some cotton this time with green leaves and two kinds of hammers I was happier…

Flower Pounding on Cotton

all that pounding made me thirsty so I stopped to enjoy a drink I first tried at a sweet spot called the Cachepot when we visited my friend Linda in Breaston, Derby, UK…

Cachepot Tea and Gifts

she whisked us away from the train station and we stopped at the Cachepot for tea and conversation (I was floating on a cloud pinching myself again and again that there we were meeting in real life ♥)

Elderflower Lemonade

so imagine my delight when we came home from our travels and the Elderflower Lemonade jumped off the shelf at me at our local Whole Foods Market…

Elderflower Lemonade (1)

I had just been lamenting that I might never see a drink like that here in Virginia…

Elderflower Lemonade (3)

some Borage blossoms from our garden were a fresh and tasty compliment to the lemonade…

 Rose Tea Pot ID

thought you might like to read the bottom of the tea pot I am using for the potted rose plant I picked up at Trader Joe’s a bit ago (I am watering the plant through the tea spout being careful to not over water it and I am often curious about the underside of china so I thought I would share)

Kalanchoe in pottery tea cup planter

Needle Thread Cloth has issued their August challenge of TEA TIME with wonderful inspiration and a short video on how to do the Stem Stitch…

everyone is most welcome to join along and if you haven’t seen the recent works of stitched art by Theresa Martin…be sure and pop over here to feast your eyes and be inspired…

T Time Lemondade

I was thinking my mashed leaves on cotton could use some embroidery…

joining Elizabeth for T stands for Tuesday

 

38 responses to “Elderflower Lemonade…

  1. That lemonade was meant to find you dear Patty… and looks even more delicious with the blossoms… fabulous flower pounding… love the effects on the cotton… you never cease to amaze me with your creative diversity..

    Hugs
    Jenny ♥

    Like

  2. Your flower poundings are lovely…a bit of embroidery would be lovely. As always I’m in love with all the images you share.
    Happy Tuesday!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the mention Patty! and yes! Your pounded blossoms and embroidery would be a great marriage! Love your results.

    Like

  4. I really look forward to each and every one of your posts….I feel such a peaceful feeling when looking at your beautiful images. The pounded leaf images, the Cachepot, the lemonade with borage flowers, the bottom of your teapot, your sweet potted plant – all capture such a wonderful mood. Thank you for sharing your talents and creativity.

    Like

  5. The mashed leaf project looks great. I’ve a half-dozen vintage handkerchiefs just begging for upcycling; I’ll have to give it a try on one. Also, I don’t often drink tea, but I do love lemonade. I’ve not noticed the Elderflower lemonade at our local Whole Foods, but I’ll certainly look for it Thank you for sharing it!

    Like

  6. We are finally getting a Whole Foods here and I can’t wait to try that! Your photos are — as always — delightful and I’m very impressed with the leaf pounding on fabric. Nice!

    Like

  7. well I don’t know about any one else but I actually got smellyvison looking at your lovely flowers, super scent!!

    Like

  8. Your tea look not only tasty but beautiful! The rose plant is really interesting with the white veins in the leaves. Happy T Tuesday!

    Like

  9. Like you, I have pounded flowers on paper, but never tried it on cloth. Now I must do that, especially since I have so much greenery to get rid of in my garden.

    I sure miss both Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, an experience (and memory) I brought home from CA. What an awesome find for you. It must have brought back wonderful, fond memories of your recent trip. You’ll look back on this one for years (and possibly T Tuesdays) to come.

    Like

  10. Your leaf print fabric is interesting and beautiful. Do they hold up after washing? I bet embroidery embellishments would be gorgeous! Your Elderflower lemonade sounds really interesting.

    Like

  11. Divers and Sundry is having trouble with both yours and Dawn’s sites. Must be a WordPress problem on her blog. Thought you might like to know.

    Like

  12. Patty ,dear- the mashed leaves are so beautiful- what a wonderful effect ,-I once tried it with a posy which came out fine, but this piece of cloth filled with green wonderful leaves are looking gorgeous.
    So lovely ,too with your big cup and the teapot with wonderful flowers inside
    and the elderberry drink with the Borage in…looking so pretty ,and lovely to taste! You have such a beautiful way in decorating your garden, I love the blue glass piece hanging there, to give light in early evenings!!
    Thank you dearest for your loving understanding, for my situation, and your alwayes encouraging words !!- Love from Dorthe

    Like

  13. Wowzer… never come across pounding leaves onto cotton but what a fabulous effect you have achieved, delicate and summery and perfect for a warm summer’s day.

    Like

  14. Hello Patty, so glad to finally be here on my first T blog hop. I am enjoying seeing what everyone’s doing and drinking. Thanks so much for your visit too.
    This is so pretty, love your garden and photos each time I see them. Oh and guess what I met a blog friend this year and hoping to meet another one in the fall. Isn’t it the best thing to finally put a real face and voice with the blogging/emailing for so long. I was thrilled to finally meet her and hope to visit her again.
    I have never heard of smashing leaves, these are beautiful! How is it done exactly, will have to give this a try.
    Lemonade on a hot day in summer is a good way to beat the heat, haven’t had any yet this summer but now I want some.
    I saw your sidebar on being published and found your article in the Dec.2013 issue, how pretty this fabric collage is. I LOVE IT! My dream is to work more with fabric/paints/pictures one day, you did it beautifully. I will have to show you the few things I’ve done, more practice is needed.
    Well, Happy Tuesday to you and I will have to come back and read your post on meeting your friend. I have mine posted for sometime in April, it was my trip to Florida to Disney.

    Like

  15. Leaf pounding sounds like a very therapeutic thing to do…with beautiful results. I’ll just have to give it a go.

    Like

  16. Great flower pounding results. The Belvoir Elderflower Presse is my favourite too. I’m glad you found some over there.

    Like

  17. Beautiful photos!!! Love the mashed leaves. Very unique. I’m going to have to give this a try 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  18. wow I love the idea of planting in cups and teapots. I should save my busted ones but sadly I forget and throw them away
    Bridget #6

    Like

  19. Thanks for visiting my blog for T Tuesday. Your lemonade with the floating flowers looks both delicious and pretty. The flower pounding looks pretty, too. First time I’ve ever seen this.

    Thanks for the Needle Thread Cloth challenge link. I’ll definitely try to make something for it!

    Like

  20. Awesome post today! Love all the beautiful pictures. Love the greenery smashing on cloth. I wonder if you could heat set it with the iron and it become permanent. I might have to try this. Is elderflower and elderberry essentially the same? I found elderberry concentrate at a place near Elizabeth in KS. Love the flavor of it. Have a great day. I

    Like

  21. ooooh Patty, the leaf print turned out beautifully, the cotton really absorbed it well….the elderflower looks yummy specially with the borage 🙂

    Like

  22. I am definitely over stimulated by this post! That wasn’t supposed to happen! I love that your pounding leaves…. they look great. And yes, they need embroidery. Now I have to go visit that link!!!! I’ve been embroidering at night this week……. Elderflower lemonade… who knew?!!!!

    Like

  23. Dear Patty,
    Just love reading about your flower pounding. I too, similar to some of your other readers have never heard of it before. I hope to try it before the summer ends!!! What a wonderful way to end my day- reading your beautiful as usual blog post. Hugs, Jilly

    Like

  24. flower pounding and borage blossoms. thanks for introducing me to new things every time i visit!

    Like

  25. Those little leaves are so delicate and lovely! I tried flower pounding once, and it’s surprising sometimes the color you get…not always true to the color you see in the flower. Always love to see your gorgeous photos…the borage blossoms are really pretty, and love the plant in the tea pot!

    Like

  26. Elderflower lemonade, flower pounding, borage blossoms, this is what great , and pretty blogs are made of!

    Like

  27. Lovely pounded napkins! And I’ll have to look for that lemonade next time I’m in Trader Joe’s.
    Rinda

    Like

  28. the borage flower really compliments the lemonade in those beautiful beautilful glasses!

    Like

  29. Just a flying visit for T for Tuesday – late but happy to see everyone this week… Cheers Mxx #23

    Like

  30. Tickling my fancy again with the flower pounding and the blue borage floewrs in your glass … Oh that blue! (A friend just gave me some linen scraps – a pounding I will go)!

    Like

  31. what a lovely post…an icy respite indeed! your garden and photos are so luscious and inviting, thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

  32. Oh my goodness, Patty, the pounded leaves on cotton looks like an artisan screen print – I am astonished at the result, the clarity is remarkable.
    Elderflower is so lovely, I could easily swap for the glass of cranberry I have sitting beside me. I have grown partial to a glass at this time of night.
    Always an absolute delight to visit you.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  33. wonderful post Patty !

    One of my favorite drinks is thinned elderblossom sirup.. I mix it with mineral water ..
    here in the quater where I live we make the elderblossom sirup by ourselves.. but I am to lazy for this..lol… so I buy it at supermarket—

    I love to drink cold peppermint tea with a dash of elderblossom sirup and a little bit lemon.. delicious!

    Like

  34. So many fun things in this post and the previous! Always nice to visit and try to catch up with what you’re up to.

    Like

  35. I tried flower pounding, too, quite a while back and wasn’t too happy with the results. This is gorgeous! And your tea looks delicious. (Very late T-hello.) 😉

    Like

  36. Hi there, I have been trying to post a comment ALL WEEK. Phew!!!!!.
    Computer probs, so I will just say I have been trying to follow you all this time and when I could I was thrilled as always with your posts. Keep them coming Patty.
    Big Hugz Tonniece

    Like

  37. That was a very special lunch! I still think about it with a smile…..
    Love your photos of Cachepot; Maggi and I have had lunch in the garden a few times since you were here. xx

    Like

  38. I’d buy that drink just to have the bottle!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

