whatever floats your boat…

Conny’s Mix it Monthly challenge this month is using a lovely color palette along with the theme of sailboats / boat 

Magpie's Nest Sailboat (1)

I knew I wanted to use a fancy slipper/shoe image for the boat along with the float your boat words …  the three cherubs were taken from a Christmas napkin with touches of color added…paint and stencils…gesso and assorted papers and some pieces of German scrap…

Magpie's Nest Sailboat

such a fun challenge…be sure and visit Mix it Monthly to see lots of inspiring creativity and of course you are most welcome to play along

33 responses to “whatever floats your boat…

  1. Wonderful!!! Love that fancy slipper boat! xxx

    Like

  2. so appealing – freedom, childhood innocence, the hope and expectation that anything is possible

    Like

  3. Sometimes a theme doesn’t ‘float your boat’….but you nailed this one. Bright and summery…..love the sails and the background.

    Like

  4. Too cute for words!! Love the girls in the slipper.

    Like

  5. Oh, this is so whimsical and utterly lovely! I love the maps for sails and those gorgeous little girls in their slipper boat! I love your colours in this too! Once again, Patty, you have lifted my spirits with your lovely art! Julie Ann xxx

    Like

  6. OMG you have ideas, this oriental shoe as a ship and the maps sails,wow wow wow! I love it so much. And the three little beauties look so sweet in it.
    Background, colours and text are in complete harmony.
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  7. Love this Patty! So delightful and happy feeling! They look like they’re having a wonderful time.

    Like

  8. So much to enchant none more so than a fancy slipper boat. Now I am not the best of sailing companions (I am known to literally go a shade or two, or three, of green – not a pretty sight!) but the fun of sailing in this boat, not even the prospect of sea-sickness could stop me!
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  9. I love this! It is just adorable!

    Like

  10. Ahh Patty what a darling crew that is on its journey on such a magical boat!! I am sure the boat can fullfill wishes as long as it can sail 😉 I sooo love the mystic of your page and the light that shines around the three!! What would I pay to be with them on that adventurous trip 😉 Mix It Monthly ♥ Conny

    Like

  11. Fantastic page Patty!!! Love how you used the map as a sail 🙂 So creative. The gold accents are a nice finishing touch. Love it!! ~Sophia

    Like

  12. So whimsical!!! Great page!

    Like

  13. Jaw dropping gorgeous, dear friend. The combination of the shoe, the map sail, and the children on a napkin, make this an incredible combination. Yep, I’m impressed! BTW, the shading of the sails was PERFECT.

    Like

  14. Stunning page patty,
    love how you used the map, great idea!

    Like

  15. Sooooo cool, that’s a fantastic idea and a wonderful page.

    Like

  16. Wow gorgeous art, love it very much 🙂 Have a wonderful week, Shirleyx

    Like

  17. inanoctopusgarden

    Just love it – sail away!!!!

    Like

  18. sparkledaysstudio

    Love the whimsical shoe as boat and the map of your area, or close to anyway……thinking the inner harbor and the American Visionary Art Museum….I could sail there right now. xox

    Like

  19. I love the colors, the map sail, the slipper boat (reminds me of Aladdin), the freedom sentiment…. I’m feeling the mood here 🙂

    Like

  20. Such a wonderful and joy-filled page, Patty!! I love those little winged pretties setting sail to their next adventure…truly free xxxx
    Gaye

    Like

  21. this is so adorable and fairy tale like Patty!!! Love the use of map for the sails and the shoe for the boat. We are on the same page again -I just finished another boat page which I’m preparing to post later this eve or early tom. and mine has two sails also:):)

    Like

  22. Love this adorable page! Every detail is perfect!

    Like

  23. fabulous love those sails

    Like

  24. oh wow.. this is just FANTASTIC my liebe Patty!
    You rock the sailing club with your design!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  25. Patty, this is lovely and so creative! Love that you used the maps! xoxo

    Like

  26. Now, this reminds me of the phrase, “a painted ship, upon a painted ocean” – The Rime of the Ancient Mariner. This is just lovely, so original and happy, I can imagine the girls playing with this boat in their garden.

    Like

  27. That is such a creative piece! I love the shoe you chose too, and the children are so sweet. Blessings!

    Like

  28. COOL idea with the sails from a map! the whole page is adorable!

    Like

  29. Great image and I love the sailing angels!

    Like

  30. How timely! Just a couple of weeks ago I came across outdated (but not vintage) maps — things I’d replace if we were traveling to the area again. I knew I should toss them, except I’m me and we mixed-media types couldn’t toss a map if we tried! What a wonderful idea! I love the children, they make me smile. One of my favorites!

    Like

  31. Nice work. I love the map and you color composition!

    Like

  32. This is beautiful. I’m looking on the net for inspiration and this came up! Just my kind of mixed media Art! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

