Rinda’s 2014 Summertime Photography Scavenger Hunt: Part 1

here is my first installment for Rinda’s Scavenger Hunt
my husband and I are a team so you will see his name on some photos and mine on others…
1. A sign welcoming people to your home town (or a nearby town)

this photo on the side of a building in Washington DC looked a bit mysterious to us … 

Magpie's Nest #1

2. A garden gnome
We had been snapping photos of garden gnomes at local garden centers only to discover we had our very own tiny German (or maybe Swiss) gnome right here at home (top view he is sitting on a bench in my fairy garden and below he moved over to a pot of sedums…he likes to get around)…
Magpie's Nest #2 Gnome
3. Birds on a wire
this one was quite challenging UNTIL Mr Magpie suggested a tried and true spot which had me clicking away…
this one is my favorite shot with thirteen birdies…
Magpie's Nest #3 birds on the wire
4. A group of tourists
living so close to Washington, DC tourists are a common sight…
that said we enjoy going into town to play tourist too 🙂
Magpie's Nest Wash DC Segway tour groups
near the U.S. Capitol building…
Magpie's Nest Tourists near US Capitol
5. A rack of post cards
after looking up the definition of “rack” (1. a framework of bars, wires, or pegs on which articles are arranged or deposited) I decided a handful of my handmade postcards would do the trick on a wire holder I rescued from a thrift shop way back when
Magpie's Nest a handful of my postcards
6. An urban street scene
being in Washington D.C. for the Fourth of July was special and to avoid traffic we booked a hotel for two nights to enjoy the festivities…
Magpie's Nest #6 F Street Musicians
these musicians were really rocking it…
here is a 34 second snippet for you to listen to…
7. A rural landscape
heading west on Rt 50 in Northern Virginia you have to travel further and further to leave the housing developments and shopping centers behind…
Magpie's Nest Rt 50 barnthis barn is now used for some sort of construction business rather than farming…who knows when a photograph is all that will be left of it…
8. A tattoo on a person
here is one from the Washington, DC fourth of July parade
Magpie's Nest tattoo arm
that’s it for now….
the rest of my list below is still in progress…
feel free to join in the fun here as you have until 23 September to complete your hunt…
9. A bakery
10. A photo bomb (someone found lurking in the background of photo; the lurker may have intended to disrupt the picture or may be doing it unintentionally, but the background lurker is a surprise to the photographer)
11. A horn
12. A mascot
13. A sunrise
14. A parade
15. A juggler
16. A sign in a language other than English
17. A lamp post
18. A water fall
19. A public garden
20. A bus (not a car, truck, lorry, camper or RV) with a picture painted on its sides.
21. A photograph of you with something representing the season (recognizing that the season will be Winter for our friends in the southern hemisphere). Note: you may not use a substitute for this item.
If you find something on the list too difficult, you may substitute one of the following items for anything on the list, except for Item #21:
Alternative A: A kite, hot air balloon or blimp
Alternative B: A bird house

24 responses to “Rinda’s 2014 Summertime Photography Scavenger Hunt: Part 1

  1. Love the thirteen birdies … and the postcards are lovely. Thanks for sharing your adventures with us!

    Like

  2. Looks like a fun adventure 🙂 The garden gnomes are cute 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend, Shirleyx

    Like

  3. Hello, this saturday afternoon, from me, dear Patty, what a wonderful photo-gallery,- I wonder if your little gnome isen`t feeling hot in this summer ,lol- how sweet,- and your birds photo, is gorgeous, dearest, —- the “riding” tourists looks so great, we don`t have many of those, (what are they called ) here on this tiny island, and also in Copenhagen I haven`t seen one yet !!
    Your cards looks so beautiful together on the rack, and oh that old barn…. so sad they are ,-like here-, not used for farming anymore. Only huge farms can live on!! How beautiful that old building is . Also love the music, and all the happy people on the 4`th of July photo.
    Thank you for this tour ,and thank you for your mail, to me, you made my morning so happy and beautiful dearest friend.I send you a loving hug.
    Dorthe xx

    Like

  4. great finds for the hunt…love the segway riders

    Like

  5. You are going well Patty. I’m finding a juggler the most difficult.

    Like

  6. Hey Patty you made a good job till now, but there are still a lot of other points for making photos. Great task! I am curious how you will solve the tasks. Good luck for it!
    Dearest greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  7. This sounds like a fun challenge! I love the photo of the barn – they are always something that fascinates me, particularly the ones that are neglected and worn. How I wish I could know their history.

    Like

  8. Love your birdies, They are much harder to capture than anyone anticipated, And I love, love, love the the tourists on segues,
    Thanks for playing along and sharing.
    Rinda

    Like

  9. oh, quite a challenge! i´m totally in love with the altered postcards! and street signs are always among my favorites!

    Like

  10. sparkledaysstudio

    Great pics. It’s hard not to find good stuff in Dc, so much to look at all the time…xox

    Like

  11. You and Jim are so good at this challenge-fab photos! My fave though is that very happy gnome in the garden:)

    Like

  12. The birds, the barn and your postcards are my absolute favourites.
    The birds remind me of many stamps depicting birds on a wire and I love the colours of the barn’s roof and as for your postcards, any opportunity to view your art .
    Thank You to you and to Mr Magpie for sharing your photographs.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  13. I started taking a few photos a few weeks back, but got serious when I visited Kathy. I didn’t realize we should post as we go, so guess I should do that soon. I simply adore your birds on a wire. I had some land in my back yard, but didn’t have my camera outside at the time. However, they would NOT have been as great as yours.

    I never thought of visiting a garden shop to look for gnomes, but I actually found one last weekend at a friend of Kathy’s. And those postcards are simply INCREDIBLE. I may have to use that idea, too.

    You put all my photos to shame. Yours are SO well done. I simply adore them ALL, and some have given me inspiration!

    Like

  14. lifeincharente

    You have done well. The welcome sign is impossible for me, they just do not seem to welcome you to towns in France! I have a welcome sign to a new walk that has just been developed for the resistance fighters during the war but that is not a town” Think I may have to go for an alternative here. Have a good day Diane

    Like

  15. Great photos for the hunt!I like the rack of postcards the best!

    Like

  16. Great interpretations – I’m always looking for something that pushes the edges just a bit – loved the post card rack. I have one of those – actually 3 of them – but no post cards that I can think of – I’ll have to hunt around. Although being a city with lots of tourists it shouldn’t be hard to find a rack of post cards.

    Like

  17. Good scavenging! I too envy you the wire-perched birdies. But I hunt in hope!

    Like

  18. Funny tourist photos! Love the Segueways… 😉

    Like

  19. Lovely set of photos, especially like your urban and rural ones.

    Like

  20. A great selection of captures…..love your take on the rack of postcards.

    Like

  21. You and your husband have taken some gorgeous photos. I am in LOVE with your birds on a wire photo – given how hard they are to capture, your composition took my breath away!

    Like

  22. Great photos. The bird one is really good. Happy Hunting.

    Like

  23. Pingback: Rinda’s 2014 Summertime Photography Scavenger Hunt: Part 2 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  24. Pingback: Rinda’s 2014 Summer Photography Scavenger Hunt: Final Part 3 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

