Art Helps Me Breathe …

another loose leaf journal page for the Art Journal Journey Frida challenge

Magpie's Nest some supplies

I think Frida might have liked one of my favorite rubber stampsArt Helps Me Breathe” ( black embossing powder is missing from my supplies photo above)…

Magpie's Nest Frida Art Helps Me Breathe (2)

I sanded an extra image I also used here that was printed out a little smaller adding some light pencil lines and shading (pressed rose petals adorn her head)…

Magpie's Nest Frida Art Helps Me Breathe (1)

the heat embossed heart with flames was fun and something I haven’t done in a long while…

Magpie's Nest Frida Art Helps Me Breathe

25 responses to “Art Helps Me Breathe …

  1. I agree. Great page, love the crocheted piece.

    Like

  2. Another very beautiful Frida page, you have made me happy again , thanks! Have a lovely day, and wish you a good start in the new week, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. Your Frida is absolutely gorgeous, liebe Patty.

    Have a wonderful Sunday

    Like

  4. love the sentiment – its like the oxygen tank to our mount everest’s in life

    Like

  5. SHE is totally AMAZING Patty… wow wow wow wow!
    ♥♥♥♥♥

    Have a good start in the new week my liebe Patty!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  6. Frida’s never looked so good.

    Like

  7. Gorgeous page, texture and quote…so true for her, but not only!

    Have a happy Sunday Patty! 🙂

    Like

  8. Oh, I do so love your Frida stuff, always!

    Like

  9. An absolutely gorgeous page. This one is so textural with the crochet piece you added. You seem to have not quite finished with flowers, either, since you have added some to this latest spread, too. Great way to honor Frida yet AGAIN.

    Like

  10. This is truly beautiful work, stunning!

    Like

  11. A stunning Frida piece, the textures look wonderful.
    Yvonne

    Like

  12. sparkledaysstudio

    Does it ever, really great piece. xox

    Like

  13. Yes, your Frida is gorgeous. She would like what you’ve done!!!

    Like

  14. Fabulous patty- and your sentiment brought tears to my eyes today- I need more time in the studio- thank you for the reminder hugs xoxoxox

    Like

  15. Perfect page, perfect quote! This is beautiful in every way Patty!

    Like

  16. What a great page! I love the distressed and textured look. ‘Art helps me breathe’ could be my motto but I forget it too often. Thank you so much for this reminder.
    Best wishes, Manuela

    Like

  17. Patty, this is so beautiful! I love the soft and delicate portrait of Frida with the butterfly and the heart with a flame is gorgeous! The sentiment is just the best thing ever! I am sure that Frida would have loved it because I don’t know what she would have done if she couldn’t create. Come to think of it, it’s made a huge difference to my life, creating and meeting and seeing the art work of so many amazing artists all over the world. This is an inspirational spread and really exquisite work! Julie Ann xxx

    Like

  18. Wow, that’s a breathtaking page.

    Like

  19. Really gorgeous page Patty! So much texture in the layers.
    Question….with your loose leaf pages do you just label the back or do another work of art on it? I’ve struggled with this one myself.with what to do.

    Like

  20. Frida looks stunning with the petals and butterfly Patty! Great textures too!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  21. Dearest Patty, this is so beautiful, with the wonderful texture of both embossing, sanding, the flowers,- and the lace used -it looks like it is growing from your page, so very gorgeous a piece, again, my dear friend.
    Hugs from me.

    Like

  22. This is a stunning piece! I love all the texture, and she is extra special with dried flowers in her hair.

    Like

  23. Sublime, le coeur enflammé brûle dans sa poitrine martyrisée, un beau symbole.
    Bizzz
    MAPY

    Like

  24. A sense of fragility has been captured yet there is also a sense of Frida’s strength, the look in her eyes.
    I love the effect of the image, it actually looks as though you have drawn and painted this image and I especially like the use of black pencil, giving a muted definition (I know that sounds like a contradiction) to her.
    Stunning.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  25. Just I visitet all your Frida-work and I am so impressed!
    This month I am participant in the art-journal-group for the first time – inspired by Susi.
    Regards from Ulrike

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

