fabric fusion paper…

 in addition to special and inspiring friends on line I am grateful  to be able to spend time with local artists and friends who are extremely generous and talented too…

Magpie's Nest English Mug

I am part of a Mixed Media Collaborative group that meets twice monthly…

Magpie's Nest English Cottage Mug

recently I enjoyed revisiting a paper on fabric fusion technique that I first learned from the talented Beryl Taylor here

Magpie's Nest Fusion Fabric Paper supplies

 assorted thin papers with various color ways in mind (those pretty napkins and tissues you’ve been saving work beautifully) …

Magpie's Nest Fabric Fusion PaperI arranged pieces on cotton fabric brushing with a glue and water mix and ending with a thin layer of tissue on the top adding diluted paints too to some pieces…Magpie's Nest Fabric Fusion Paper backs

on the pink piece above the foundation “fabric” is a used dryer sheet and it worked nicely (underneath it you can see some of the  fabric backs of my other pieces)…

Magpie's Nest Fabric Fusion Paper (2)

it takes about 24 hours to completely dry…

Magpie's Nest Fabric Fusion Paper (1)after peeling it off the freezer paper I iron the back  to help flatten the pieces if needed…

Magpie's Nest C.S. Lewis Courage quote

for some ideas of what to do with your fabric and lots more great info you can visit here

Magpie's Nest August blooms

here’s wishing you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth and Bleubeard’s ~~

32 responses to “fabric fusion paper…

  1. I love that the cup design goes all the way around and even onto the handle. So sweet 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh wow. That’s a gorgeous cup.

    I’ve made fabric paper several times, and each time I do, I’m unhappy with the results. I think I’ll try using nothing but fabric with tissue and napkins. My fabric paper has always been too stiff and thick for my taste. Yours, on the other hand, looks beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely mug AND your fusion paper for T this Tuesday.

    Like

  3. That truly is one of the loveliest mugs I have seen. Your fabric fusion papers are beautiful! I haven’t done this in a long time-but I have at least one of Beryl’s books with this technique in it. You always tempt me with your art and revisiting techniques-I just need more hours in a day to get to it all:):) Happy T day-I hope you’re having a nice day-it is gorgeous here in PA this morning!

    Like

  4. Love the cup, too! And you are always making great art! Beautiful!!!!

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous cup! I love the colors in your fabric fusion. Happy T day!!

    Like

  6. Happy T-day! I would be wearing my drink, for sure, if I was drinking from that beautiful cup. I would be tipping it and turning it, just to admire the art work on it.

    Beautiful fusion work, haven’t done that in years.

    Like

  7. I join the others is thinking your cup is beautiful. I’ve never tried fabric fusion but you inspire me. I want to try some new techniques this winter so I’m putting this on my list.

    Darla

    Like

  8. A lovely mug, I really like Dunoon pottery. Love the paper fusion piece. I’m a great fan of Beryl Taylor’s work.

    Like

  9. Looks very good your Fusion technique. Love your nice teacup and the little flower photos.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  10. Such a feast for the eyes – your wonderful cup and those absolutely gorgeous papers. Yum.

    Like

  11. Gorgeous cup Patty. Fabric paper sounds very interesting, and yours looks great. Sounds like a messy process tho’.

    Like

  12. Oh…..Patty, you caught my eye with this technique. Looks like such fun with endless possibilities 🙂 Love it!!! Can’t wait to give it a try! Thanks for sharing!! ~Sophia

    Like

  13. Wow this project looks pretty. I wish I too had a creative group nearby. Sadly there is no one here to share my art with.
    Have a lovely week

    Like

  14. How funny because I was thinking only the other day that I should make some fabric paper until I realised I had no freezer paper to hand 😦
    This is so beautiful and how amazing to have this to hand for whenever the artistic urge strikes you to create magical art.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  15. This cup is gorgeous. I do love Dunoon mugs. So detailed.
    Your Frida looks lovely too.
    Hugs and Happy T Day.
    xx

    Like

  16. Love fusion and you’ve got a great collection there
    Bridget #1

    Like

  17. Oh, wow! This looks like such fun to play with!! I will have to go to the link and see all the instructions…and mill on this–LOL! 😉 Beautiful!!
    Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  18. froebelsternchen

    That’s another absolutely gorgeous mug and I love your fabric papers meine liebste Patty! Tatally Patty in blues and greens …yeah!!!
    I have to do this fun also – you inspire me so much , made a few pieces of fabric papers in the past ..but I have to explore this much more…
    “dear muse give us much more time please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
    Happy T-Day ..better to wish you a happy W-Day -because I am late this week… so much to do with the house just now…..
    grrrr.

    Like

  19. On MY!!! I’m in love with that mug!!!! Your fabric creation is very lovely too. Have a great day!!!

    Like

  20. Always so lovely here and your fabric collage is so evanescent and pretty!

    Like

  21. Your mug is gorgeous! 😀 And how fine that you have other crafty friends to meet up with. I am alone (as far as I know) in my area. I know knitters and stitchers, but no paper crafters. I’m sooo grateful for the online world.
    I made some paper fabric a couple of years ago and found it too thick, but have managed to get through it eventually. I may make some more using lighter materials now I’ve seen other ideas. Thanks for the links 😉
    What are you going to do with your paper fabric? 😀

    Like

  22. Your fabric paper is really pretty. Long time since I made some. Wish you a lovely day!
    xo

    Like

  23. thanks very much for all the info you provided here.
    I love my Dunoon cup too.

    Like

  24. Hi Patty!!! I had to come see!!! This is awesome! But it will have to wait until I get moved. 😦 Guess I’d better get it in gear!!!

    Like

  25. inanoctopusgarden

    Nicely done and nicely said!

    Like

  26. Your teacup is beautiful. So is your paper! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  27. Your papers are stunning Patty, thanks for sharing your process.
    I love your Dunoon mug too, so pretty! We have a pair of mugs that we bought from the Dunoon Pottery, when we were staying nearby, on our honeymoon, 23 years ago :o) xxx

    Like

  28. My dear friend, I simply love your fabric papers, they are gorgeous, and the mix you created so beautiful- I need to do some in the future,- I love you added stamps to the napkins , too!!!
    I hope you also today enjoy a lovely tea in that cozy cup , it is a wonderful summer and garden cup, and also big enough for a wonderful cuppa.
    Wishing you a happy weekend dear Patty. With much love, Dorthe

    Like

  29. Love the fabric fusion paper. I’ve never included fabric in mine. Just tissue as the base. What a great effect the fabric has. I will have to give it a whirl.

    Like

  30. Pingback: Spring made me do it… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  31. Pingback: Art Journal Journey May Wrap up plus one more… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  32. Pingback: garden of dreams… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

