Frida dreams…

inspired by two different Frida Kahlo paintings (Roots, 1943 and The Wounded Deer, 1946) I began work on another loose leaf art journal page using a piece of heavily inked scrap paper from the piece I created on the other side of this one (shame I did not take the time to snap a photo of the ‘before’ page…but you know how it is when you get excited)…

Magpie's Nest Friday Roots supplies (1)

 

I have a pizza box in my studio lined with paper which helps contain over spray…

Magpie's Nest Frida Kahlo Roots and Deer

I tore some of the background paper adding pieces at the bottom and at the top…

Magpie's Nest Frida Kahlo Roots and Deer (1)

a small assortment of rubber stamps came in handy too (the unmounted red rubber stamps are a mystery to me and have been in my stash for a long long time)…

Magpie's Nest Friday Roots supplies

this is my Frida #5 for this month’s Art Journal Journey challenge (4, 44, 58, 75)

Magpie's Nest Frida Kahlo Roots and Deer (2)

I got to watch FRIDA the movie directed by Julie Taymor over the weekend…some parts of it were like seeing it for the first time as it had been many years ago when I first watched it…

Diego played by Alfred Molina in the movie said: “At the end of the day we can endure much more than we think we can.”

24 responses to “Frida dreams…

  1. Lovely art page. You are such a dedicated artist and journaler. I wish I could be so organized. I am trying to go with themes for my blogging so that I have some direction in that sense. It’s working so far. Now if I can just apply it to other areas of my life. 🙂 Have a great day. Tammy

    Like

  2. I love your wonderful Frida page, fab artwork. Annette x

    Like

  3. I was just here and had to log in again before I could leave a comment. Wonder what’s up.

    I think I’ve seen that deer before. Maybe in one of the sites I’ve visited since I started learning about Frida this month. I’m so glad this topic has inspired you (and Susi), because I’m sure learning a lot. I wonder if Diego was talking about himself or possibly Frida. I’d love to see that movie.

    BTW, I really like this roots page. And the stamps really made the page shine.

    Like

  4. Wow, this is FANTASTIC! Love how you have combined the various elements. You have made me soooooooo happy again! Valerie

    Like

  5. Wow the stamps look very good on your new fantastic Frida page. Every detail is placed perfect. I love it very much. Frida forever!
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  6. Oh my gosh … this is just AMAZING “liebste” Patty!
    I would say:
    A MASTERPIECE!

    Patty rocks Frida!
    xxx
    hugs
    Susi

    Like

  7. Very nice use of Frida’s paintings, Patty. I liked seeing your inks in the first photo, they look luscious.

    Like

  8. Frida would love this ‘homage’ to her work. Excellent Patty.

    Like

  9. This is such a beautiful page. I adore the vivid colours and those two Frida paintings. I have always loved the deer one. I really like your idea of using the paper from the ink spraying. I sometimes use my baby wipes that I mop up with, stamping text on them. Really like those stamps you used too. The leg looks very effective and goes so well with the idea of Frida. Alfred Molina is such a superb actor. He is really versatile and perceptive. I think I might have seen that film long ago. I’ve certainly seen at least one film about Frida and Diego. Have a lovely week, Patty. xxx

    Like

  10. Absolutely beautiful page Patty!!! Love it!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  11. Very, very cool! I love what you have created. As for the movie I will watch it the first chance I get.

    Like

  12. Gorgeous piece and I’ve recently re-discovered stamps too! xo

    Like

  13. Excellent Frida page. I so love the Deer Frida. It’s a wonderful image. You own a superb collection of stamps.

    Like

  14. I really like what you did with this!!!! Combining the main parts of the two different paintings was brilliant. ..the stamps tie it all together very well. I love doing Friday and am so happy that I found this challenge. Happy Arting! !!

    Like

  15. Absolutely fabulous! I love the collage and stamping together as well as your painting! and the pizza box idea is awesome! xoxo

    Like

  16. inanoctopusgarden

    Patty you are amazing me with these Frida pages they are soooo good…I am just eating them up! (I also need to go back and watch the movie again!)

    Like

  17. Wonderful Patty! Your background colors are fabulous.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  18. This is a unique piece, striking and very special!

    Like

  19. Absolutely beautiful!!!
    I really must try & watch the film sometime, I’d love to learn more about Frida.
    Alison xxx

    Like

  20. What a joy and a privilege it has been to view your Frida art because it is as though you have completely immersed yourself in Frida, having such an understanding of her as a woman and her art.
    You create with such a sense of ease, it really is magical.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  21. Divine! not more to say…
    maybe i should re-watch the movie also…

    Like

  22. sparkledaysstudio

    Another amazing piece. Love those stamps, great bits and pieces. xox

    Like

  23. Soooooooo great! You are a Frida Diva!!!! Love it!

    Like

  24. Wonderful Frida-work, you are a great artist!
    Greetings – Ulrike

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

