Frida and Diego…

 Art Journal Journey and Valerie has given many of us Frida Fever so when an image by Pierre Mornet in our local newspaper made me think of Frida and Diego and their stormy romance I was not surprised…

Patty Szymkowicz Frida and Diego collage

here are a few photos as I was creating this 6 x 9 inch art journal page to show some of the steps I took sketching a little adding paint and gesso with some rubber stamping on tissue paper (again I cannot identify who made the rubber stamps)…

Magpie's Nest Frida and Diego

and here I thought I was finished with Frida…

Magpie's Nest Frida Flower

the image above was made using the first Frida that I shared along with some iphone apps to layer a flower photo from our garden with my artwork...

I still have one more Frida that I made and will share it here soon…

20 responses to “Frida and Diego…

  1. Wow, I love that you shared your process from inspiration to finished piece. Not always easy to stop the flow of creating and document the process. All of your Frida pieces have been marvelous.

    Like

  2. Not only did you honor Frida and Diego’s stormy relationship, you also managed to get some flowers into the picture, too. I can’t believe where you get your inspiration from. Very impressive use of found materials, a bit of magic, and your artistic eye.

    Like

  3. I love how you layered Frida with the flower, so clever! xxx

    Like

  4. This ist just ADORABLE Patty -wow – it sends cold shivers up and
    down my spine – gorgeous!
    The photocollage is amazing as well!
    Fantasic Patty …
    Thank you ♥♥♥ so much for all your gorgeous interpretation this month!
    Susi

    Like

  5. Wow, this is breathtakingly beautiful, just FANTASTIC! You are making me soooo happy! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  6. I love this post, Patty. How beautiful it is! I love all the elements you have put together in it. There is always something so special about your art, Patty. It appeals to me so much that I can’t always find the words to express the deep emotional impact your composition, choice of colours and design choices have on me! I just wish I could send thought waves to let you know how much inspiration i gain from what you do! I have really loved your exploration of all things Frida! xx

    Like

  7. So beautiful Patty!!! Love how you layered your flower with the image on the second. Fabulous technique!! ~Sophia

    Like

  8. I’m loving this whole Frida thing. Everyone is doing such inspiring work.

    Like

  9. It makes such sense that this image in your local newspaper brought to mind Frida and Diego.
    There are so many elements that stand out for me – the colour palette and your use of that rubber stamp which surely was made to be incorporated into a Frida inspired art and we come to the words which encapsulate the passion of Frida and Diego.
    Wishes
    Lynne
    So wanted to enter a second time for this challenge because I have am Oxford Impressions Frida stamp which hasn’t been inked up as yet.

    Like

  10. so cool to see your steps… this rubber stamp is gorgeous, too, and great to transfer it via tissue paper. wonderful result!

    Like

  11. I like your way to paint. Your own style, your own interpreation.
    This work shows the love, the depth but also the severity of the relationship between Frieda and Diego. Adorable!

    The photo art work is also well done.

    Wishes
    Claudia

    Like

  12. Wow another very good Frida Artwork. Very interesting to see how you changed the newspaper picture in this amazing “Frida and Diego” portrait.
    The stamp with the skull head is perfect for this.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  13. I am SO loving your Frida art Patty!! And yes, what a great theme to work with:) I just may have to squeeze in one more before it ends too!

    Like

  14. Fabulous Patty! I really dig that stamp too! xoxo

    Like

  15. This an interestin interpretation on Frida and Diego. I love how you have painted her skin. Fabulous art work, Patty.

    Like

  16. inanoctopusgarden

    absolutly love! the angle and use of a portion of the photo is wonderful and you making it your own is again wonderful!

    Like

  17. sparkledaysstudio

    Fabulous take off on that photo. Love your work my friend. xox

    Like

  18. Again a fabulous work!
    … I think the rubberstamps are from Lost Coast Design…

    Like

  19. I wish you’d write a book on creatively using materials. I’d buy it — and more copies for my friends. Splendid.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

