Art Journal Journey September Challenge & The Craft Barn Q&L Challenge

the new theme over at AJJ (thanks again this month to Valerie at Bastelmania) is LIVING BEINGS/ LEBEWESEN” (when I did an online translation of the German word “Lebewesen” the English wordcritter came up too)…

Magpie's Nest GRACE (1)

one of my favorite creatures/critters/living beings for a long time now has been the swan so I created a loose art journal page using assorted scraps of paper (citra solv circles… envelope liner… pattern tissue and more) adding stenciled plaster… gesso and paint to the collaged papers with a bit of Viva Inka-Gold…

Magpie's Nest GRACE

the word “grace” came to me as a nice finishing touch which also led me to some great quotes on grace…

Magpie's Nest My Shadow w phone apps

(a photo I took on a walk of my shadow with my iphone altered with some of my favorite phone apps)

I am also joining in for the first time over at The Craft Barn for their Quote and Lyric challenge theme of “Peaceful and/or Grace …

“You say grace before meals.  All right.  But I say grace before the concert and the opera, and grace before the play and pantomime, and grace before I open a book, and grace before sketching, painting, swimming, fencing, boxing, walking, playing, dancing and grace before I dip the pen in the ink.” -K. Chesterton

45 responses to “Art Journal Journey September Challenge & The Craft Barn Q&L Challenge

  1. Beautiful pages Patty!! I love swans too. They’re so graceful 🙂 Love how your silhouette turned out!! The colors are fabulous!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  2. Oh Patty, what an amazing quote about grace…thank you for this. So true. “Amazing” it is. 🙂 Your art seems to just flow from you.

    Like

  3. This page is so beautiful.. once again I have to write I love all about it .
    Swans are such amazing creatures indeed! My favourite fairy – tale , which my mother had to read everey evening as a bedstory to me was “The Ugly Ducking – and all the times I see a swan this feeling of happiness returned to my mind! Thanks a lot ” liebe Patty” for this delicate graceful page for our new event! Adorable! I love your shadow and the fab quote as well – a perfect accompany to this page! You are such an enrichment to our tour party dear Patty! Thank you for being with us!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  4. Patty, it’s a fabulous swan! And your background so many yummy texture, I loved the word grace with the swan image!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful page. Swans have something magical for me. This summer we have had a swan in the Rhine, and I stand there every morning and watch her, wonderful! You page has made me happy again! Hugs, Valeie

    Like

  6. i read the comment from Susi and totally second it! what a wonderful post!!

    Like

  7. Oooh, liebe Patty, your pages are gorgeous, like all your artwork.

    Have a wonderful day

    Like

  8. oohh patty,i love your swan pages,so dreamy and wonderful,swans its my fav deer,he its beautiful and magical,love,love,love your swan page so much,dear patty,just amazing.
    have a great day my dear.

    greetings jeannette

    Like

  9. Swans are such graceful creatures and your page captured it beautifully!

    Like

  10. A magical wonderful page with the swan you made dear Patty. I like all the nice patterns and textures. The shadow photo is very good too, lovely with the clouds in your shadow. Both a dream.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  11. Such great quotes about grace! And what a wonderful silhouette of you filled with dreamy clouds. And your swan page is just beautiful. Love it all!

    Like

  12. My dear Patty,
    A wonderful page, filled with so many great tecniques used,-you alwayes use so many wonderful ideas, and papers ,too, and this swan, is just beautiful.and love how you did the water…
    I need to start using my stencils much more, I`m sure you have so much fun , when creating a page with so many different materials .
    I can also greet you from two swans I met on my tour to the sea ,today, they had a fantastic tour along the beach in sunny water !
    Hugs from me – to you. xx

    Like

  13. Patty that swan piece is so beautiful and full of elegance and grace, beautiful textures and colours!

    Like

  14. Patty, that’s a wonderful page, great texture, colors and details 🙂

    Like

  15. Beautiful page! Love your swans! Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me!

    Like

  16. What a wonderful collage, all elements and the soft turquoise color are amazing.
    I love the swans too, they look so majestically. I love also the Ballet “Swan Lake”. very much.
    Take care,
    big hugs Anja

    Like

  17. twinkletoes2day

    Beautiful art Patty 😀 I love the swan page and the quote is fabulous and also, the ‘shadow’ page is very cleverly done. Welcome to the Craft Barn challenge, I hope you have lots of fun 😀

    Like

  18. twinkletoes2day

    ps – I meant to add, Many thanks for your comment on my blog too 😀

    Like

  19. Beautiful textures, Patty and that anne Lamott quote is terrific!

    Like

  20. Wow!! Patty, your journal page reminds me of one of those oil paintings done during the Renaissance. A beautiful table cloth as a back ground and then various plates of food and then some sort of fowl with his head hanging off the table still wearing his elegant feathers. Now I know your swan is very much alive – I do love your journal entry! Love your quote page as well.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  21. Stunning page and beautifully illustrated, pure joy to gaze upon 🙂 xxx

    Like

  22. what a beautiful page…

    Like

  23. Love your swan collage and the shadow page too – beautiful! thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  24. Look at you. Joining Craft Barn’s challenges. Now I can REALLY be intimidated (grin). WELCOME. That phone app is incredible. And that background is super stunning.

    Of course, it wouldn’t be YOU without a swan in the living being category. And this one is magical. I thought the citra-solv circles looked like large lily pads, and the swan was navigating them.

    Lovely entries, both.

    Like

  25. Fabulous entry – amazing what you can do on a phone! Great quote too. (Thanks for your comment on my entry too!)

    Like

  26. A beautiful page that is full of grace Patty! That’s a wonderful quote too!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  27. your page is just breathtaking Patty. I love how you have achieved the effect of it looking so 3 dimensional! What a great word-grace-and you have chosen some of the loveliest quotes there are-love Ann Lamott. Nice app art too.

    Like

  28. This looks like such a complex page, and what a great result, it’s really quite unusual and maybe a little bit different from your other art? And your photo illustrating “Grace” – I think “awesome” is the right word to describe it. What magical photo-editing and a quote of the spirit.

    Like

  29. I was lucky enough to find this challenge in January so have been playing along all year and loving it and learning a lot too. both your pieces are stunning, from the background work on your journal page to your “app art” . Looking forward to seeing more of your artwork in futures challenges and thank you for your lovely comments on my blog post too.

    Like

  30. Love the textures and layers in your first page and the silhouette in your second, very original!

    Like

  31. A truly beautiful, inspiring page.

    Like

  32. A super page, love all the elements including the swan.

    Like

  33. Awesome page, very interesting textures!
    Hugs
    Gabriele

    Like

  34. I never see a picture of a swan without thinking of you! Beautiful page, and of course I like the quotes (I’ve collected them for years).

    Like

  35. These are lovely pages. Hope to see you on the next challenge.

    Like

  36. Lovely entry, dear Patty! Good to see you here as well! You sure have got a very interesting app there 😉

    Like

  37. Beautiful page! I love all the texture and of course the elegant swan! xx

    Like

  38. Great page, the texture is stunning and the swan beautiful 🙂

    Like

  39. A stunning page. I look forward to seeing more entries from you for the CB challenge .

    Like

  40. Wow…this is such a beautiful page, love your art!!

    Like

  41. A lovely quote and a fabulous picture taken on your phone and altered. I haven’t a clue how you do that!

    Like

  42. Grace is the perfect word to describe swans.
    This is such a beautiful piece of art.
    I like the idea that swans will mate for life, it is such a romantic notion.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  43. Pingback: The Craft Barn Q&L Challenge – Childhood & Easier | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

