creatures of the sea…

the oceans are full of many living beings…

Magpie's Nest the sea 1

I was inspired to create a spread in one of my gesso journals for the AJJ September Challenge with the round image of a mystery lady…Magpie's Nest the sea 2

toward the end of this month Mr Magpie and I will be taking some time to relax by the sea and twinkle our toes in the sand for a couple of weeks…

Magpie's Nest the sea

“The sea always filled her with longing, though for what she was never sure.”  Cornelia Funke

23 responses to “creatures of the sea…

  1. Oh my!!! What a gorgeous spread Patty!
    Utterly BEAUTIFUl– I just love all about ist.. this blues and greens and all the layers and exquisite composition ..and this wonderful face….I start to gush when I am looking at this spread!
    ♥♥♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  2. Lovely page, Patty. Is the shell a stamp or paper? Very interesting indeed.

    Like

  3. Patty she is so mystical, it’s gorgeous simply, and have a great time by the sea 🙂

    Like

  4. A beautiful, mysterious page, & what a wonderful quote! xxx

    Like

  5. Beautiful pages Patty!! Love the mystery surrounding this lady. Makes you wonder….. Hope you and Mr. Magpie enjoy your time at the beach!!! It’s simply wonderful. ~Sophia

    Like

  6. So nice Patty, with these fantastic stamps and the lovely face. You have a very special style creating your artworks and I love them all. It’s every time fun for our eyes.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  7. Lovely pages Patty. Happy toe-twinkling.

    Like

  8. So very lovely, i can smell the salty air! Enjoy your sea time, dear patty…have you read remarkable creatues by tracy chevalier? Might be a good one for your trip! Xoxo

    Like

  9. Your spread is so enchanting and greative. Really love it.
    I just posted mine and there are also beings in the sea 🙂
    Hugs,
    sirkkis

    Like

  10. Beautiful and inspiring page! Have a great, relaxing time by the sea, Patty!

    Like

  11. That’s an amazing spread, love the shells.

    Like

  12. Just wonderful, love everything about it! Have fun on you vacation! You have made me happy again with this beautiful journal spread. Valerie

    Like

  13. This swirls with mystery and beauty, I love the colours! A beautiful piece!

    Like

  14. The sea and all its creatures, shells, colors, etc. is always a favorite theme of mine. This is a beautiful page! I hope you enjoy your trip later in the month and I am sure will bring home some found treasures, too!

    Like

  15. amazing! the face totally matches the Quote… and the Shells are so beautiful in this composition.
    i´m sure your trip to the sea will be a great one!

    Like

  16. Your lady is lovely, but the shell is what first caught my eye. Such a beautiful piece for this challenge.

    Like

  17. Gorgeous project Patty. I always feel inspired when I see your work. Love all of the elements. Magical!! Have a lovely weekend.
    Florence xx

    Like

  18. Dearest Patty, this is so special with the big shell , how I love it-and the beautiful fern leaves, too- the mystery mermaid looking into a new beautiful spot, under the water, has fantastic eyes ! What a spread of adventure, and magic !
    Hope you are well, Patty, and wishes you a wonderful weekend, dear.
    Dorthe, OxO

    Like

  19. Liebling,
    “Gosh, I want to be:

    By the sea, by the sea, by the beautiful sea!
    You and me, you and me, oh how happy we’ll be!
    When each wave comes a-rolling in
    We will duck or swim,
    And we’ll float and fool around the water.
    Over and under, and then up for air,
    Pa is rich, Ma is rich, so now what do we care?
    I love to be beside your side, beside the sea,
    Beside the seaside, by the beautiful sea!”

    Like

  20. I’m currently reading “The Museum of Extraordinary Things” by Alice Hoffman. The face on your page makes me think of the main character Coralei who has to perform as a mermaid in her father’s museum. Your page is extraordinarily beautiful.

    Like

  21. Beautiful!!! And you are going to the beach for TWO WEEKS?? How can this be?

    Like

  22. You always source the most beautiful ladies/faces. The other person who I also say this to is Marie (Lost Bird Studio).
    She has a compelling face and you just know she has a story to tell us all of the places she has travelled to. I like the addition of the stamped shell. A very beautiful page.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

