step into the Light…

Magpie's Nest step into the Light (1)a couple more pages for Art Journal Journey’s “Living Beings September Challenge and because I used tea cups (torn from a peeled napkin) I am also including my pages for T over at Elizabeth and Bleubeard’s

Magpie's Nest step into the Light (2)

the lady I chose looks a bit tied up because she had on a wimple head covering originally so I cut her head covering away leaving her chin a bit short which is when I decided to use some silk ribbon that I hand dyed…

Magpie's Nest step into the Light (3)

some of the other ingredients I used were scraps of old book page stenciled with plaster (I so enjoy gluing bits of old paper onto old book pages as the papers seem to melt together so beautifully)…pressed flowers between tissue paper… computer generated words and a bit of rubber stamping with a speckled stamp that no longer had any identifying marks on it…

Magpie's Nest step into the Light

thank you for stopping by … I really appreciate your visit …

“At the heart of your being lies the answer.  You know who you are and what you want.” -Lao Tzu

 

34 responses to “step into the Light…

  1. I would love to have tea, with this beautiful lady, talking over your wonderful pages, the lovely tea, and sweet pressed flowers.
    What a beautiful spread my dear Patty I really feel like stepping into the light , warching these mood full pages.
    Hugs from Dorthe- xxxO

    Like

  2. Ah, the flowers encased in tissue. I remember when I made many of those. How quickly we forget techniques that were tried and true. But you, my dear, bring them back, which nudges my memory and bring them to the forefront of my artful thinking.

    This is a lovely, lovely journal spread. I would not have noticed the short neck since I have NO neck. Seriously. Had to laugh as I thought, “Gee Patty must have taken a photo of me (grin).”

    Thanks for sharing your tea cups and goodies with us for T this Tuesday.

    Like

  3. Another heart-felt and lovely piece, Patty. I do like those pressed flowers under tissue. Much check your link on that one! I wish I had the guts to just start DOING in the journal I made some time ago. Maybe after everything on the project table gets finished!

    Like

  4. I like your gathering of varied teacups 🙂 Happy T Tuesday 🙂

    Like

  5. Beautiful, dreamy spread. There is so peaceful feeling and the lady is lovely.
    Hugs xx

    Like

  6. I love the thought of you cutting bits of your lady, I could do with having a bit of my double chin cut off! Beautiful pages, thanks for joining us again at AJJ with your fantastic creations! Your post went off yesterday, it usually takes about 10 days, sometimes more! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  7. Your art journals must stand on the shelf waving and saying “pick me, pick me” so that they can be the lucky recipient of one of your gorgeous creations.

    Like

  8. Your lady looks beautiful in her butterfly headdress, better than an old whimple any day! Of course, I love the tea cups, especially today!

    Like

  9. I am loving each one of your gorgeous journal pages. They have such a soft and peaceful quality about them. Great save on the portrait-she looks like a true regal Victorian lady with that ribbon:) Happy T day to you and yours.

    Like

  10. Patty it’s amazing, all the details are so beautiful, so soft, loved it! And I am a butterfly freak, so that big one is a winner by me!

    Like

  11. twinkletoes2day

    That is a very awesome creation. I love the lady’s new butterfly headdress 😀

    Like

  12. Beautiful! I love the tea cups Patty! xxx

    Like

  13. Ah, what timing Patty. Next month I’ll be teaching a class on papercrafting with tissues! Your work is just so whimsical and pretty. Happy T-day!

    Like

  14. OMGosh! I like these journal pages, the soft colors and the images are fantastic.
    Happy T-day

    Like

  15. Hello and happy T Day! How nice to see your beautiful art pages. What a nice idea with the ribbon and you glue papers together so well, like they are melted together perfectly, YAY!! That’s a good thing in case I said it wrong. Nice tea cups too!!
    Thanks so much for your visit this morning, nice to catch up with you again. Take care and happy T day! Have more art fun too.

    Like

  16. That is another favourite for me Patty.. old bookpages and plaster and dried flowers between tissue… oh… that all together makes Master Mixed Media in my mind! GORGEOUS! The composition is stunning and the ribbon is a very clever feminine accent to her — !LOVELY!
    Thank you so much for supporting AJJ so wonderful again and thank you for your lovely comment today for me… it means a lot to me!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  17. oohh wow patty,your creation its amazing,love the bookpaper in white with the georgus woman with flower in her hair,realy,realy beautiful,love so much,dear patty.
    have a great week 🙂

    greetings jeannette

    Like

  18. This is evanescent and beautiful!

    Like

  19. sparkledaysstudio

    Love your explanation of all the elements that went into your pages. Nice tea cup images and real flowers in tissue, perfect. xox

    Like

  20. Great texture Patty….and layers. I like that you’ve put the pink ribbon on both pages.

    Like

  21. Oh Patty I love this piece so much!!

    Like

  22. Once again I’m missing words, that’s a wonderful spread.

    Like

  23. So great….. I love her beribboned chin. (I’m thinking that’s not a word since it immediately got a red line under it.) Life would be a little easier if when we said something wrong the air turned red or something. hahahahahaha Okay…. back to my coffee!

    Like

  24. Love your pages. Walk in the light where ever you may be!

    Like

  25. Your journal page has a vintage feel to it. Those flowers are lovely. I can see those stencil impressions.
    Have a lovely week

    Like

  26. the Butterfly suits her so well! love all the texture here and seems you even succeeded pressing a daisy!

    Like

  27. Hi my dear friend… how wonderful your pages are again. I love the delicate style you have, the natural colours and old images… I always recognize it as ‘you’. I too love the effect of old (book)paper and how it reacts on each other – there’s a lot of other plans and ideas on my list but I add ‘playing the Patty-way’ to it! Keep on rockin’ my friend! Big hug from your mermaid-sister!

    Like

  28. Soooo gorgeous pages, liebe Patty.

    Like

  29. Well thats just lovely Patty! Thanks so much for sharing…sorry i’m getting around a little late this week..its been CRAZY! Hugs!! deb

    Like

  30. You, my dear, are the ‘artiest’ friend ever. Love the way you share, experiment and create such magnificent pieces!! xoxo

    Like

  31. Beautiful Patty! I especially love her butterfly hairpiece! xoxo

    Like

  32. Oh the fun of adding this pretty dyed ribbon to the woman’s chin after your enthusiastic cutting!
    There is such a sense of gentleness exuding from this spread. Don’t we all wish to sip tea of an afternoon with this lady.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  33. your soft vintage art work is always so lovely! beautiful touches of lace and texture!

    Like

  34. Wonderful texture – I love your make. I am having my hot tea now!
    Sandy xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

