“Half of my Heart”

Magpie's Nest John Mayer collage

singer and songwriter John Mayer is a favorite artist of mine and I am lucky to have seen him live in concert several times over the years…

Magpie's Nest Half of My Heart (4)

his song “Half of my Heart” from his Battle Studies album inspired some journal pages in one of my larger (7.5 x 10″) art journals…

Magpie's Nest Half of My Heart (1)

lots and lots of layers using tissue paper… the inside of a pink security envelope with the window… scrap papers… stencils… paint… gesso… Behr Venetian Plaster and more…

Magpie's Nest Half of My Heart (2)

the Tin Can Inkadinkadoo dreamy face rubber stamp from long ago and a favorite burst of mine using a bit of golden flimmerstern with some bits of German scrap…

Magpie's Nest Half of My Heart

my newest Stencil Girl burst stencil from our wonderful local Goldenshill Papercrafts helped add the finishing touches to my pages which I am entering for the first time in the Moo Mania & More challenge of “Music is in the air …

~♥~

music has been an inspiration to me since as long as I can remember

“I was born in the arms of imaginary friends
Free to roam, made a home out of everywhere I’ve been

Then you come on crashing in
Like the realest thing
Trying my best to understand
All that your love can bring

Oh, half of my heart’s got a grip on the situation
Half of my heart takes time
Half of my heart’s got a right mind
To tell you that I can’t keep lovin’ you, can’t keep lovin’ you
Oh, with half of my heart

I was made to believe I’d never love somebody else
Made a plan, stay the man who can only love himself

Lonely was the song I sang
‘Til the day you came
Showing me another way
And all that my love can bring

Oh, half of my heart’s got a grip on the situation
Half of my heart takes time
Half of my heart’s got a right mind
To tell you that I can’t keep lovin’ you, can’t keep lovin’ you
Oh, with half of my heart, with half of my heart

Your faith is strong, but I can only fall short for so long
Down the road, later on
You will hate that I never gave more to you
Than half of my heart

But I can’t stop lovin’ you, I can’t stop lovin’ you
I can’t stop lovin’ you, I can’t stop lovin’ you,
I can’t stop lovin’ you with half of my
Half of my heart, oh half of my heart

Half of my heart’s got a real good imagination
Half of my heart’s got you
Half of my heart’s got a right mind to tell you
That half of my heart won’t do

Half of my heart is a shot gun wedding
To a bride with a paper ring
And half of my heart is the part of a man
Who’s never truly loved anything

Half of my heart, oh half of my heart
Half of my heart, oh half of my heart
Half of my heart, oh half of my heart”

23 responses to ““Half of my Heart”

  1. Wonderful song….so well illustrated in your pages.

    Like

  2. What a lovely spread Patty! I see the butterflies are once again playing a part in your lovely ladies!! xoxo

    Like

  3. Another delight!

    Like

  4. How gorgeous. And I was delighted to see that you also have found Moo Mania. This will be a fun theme this fortnight, especially for you. Nicely done first entry.

    Like

  5. Simply, a gorgeous spread, Patty.
    Hugs xxx

    Like

  6. I am overwhelmed Patty!
    A visual feast here today!
    AMAZING!
    I am always inspired and love love love what you do but this here is a special
    favourite of mine!
    Happy weekend my friend and ♥♥♥
    Thank you so much for linking to MOO MANIA & MORE!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  7. Wow, Patty, this is amazing, love it in every detail.

    Thank you for joining us at MOO-MANIA & MORE
    Have a wonderful weekend, liebe Patty

    Like

  8. This is an amazing spread, -oh Patty what beautiful colours and papers , you used, so bursting with sensory impressions. Your stencil work is gorgeous, and giving your pages a feeling of movement, especially what you did around the “angel” . This is so much :Music in the air – for my eyes.
    Hugs,xx-Dorthe

    Like

  9. First of all – what an amazing song! I had never heard it before, she says ignorantly: forgive me! The lyrics are so clever and poignant. I find songs and poems such an inspiration and often I catch myself singing the line of a song over and over as I work then find it’s the idea behind something I’m doing! Secondly, this spread is gorgeous! That stamp is superb and you have incorporated it so effectively into your design. I love the energy you have brought to this remarkable composition. Once again you have used humble materials to create a treasure that makes my heart sing! Thank you, Patty! x

    Like

  10. A beautiful post and such peaceful pages, they soothe!

    Like

  11. I enjoyed seeing this piece, Patty! I can tell the subject is near and dear to you, and the details and depth are just fabulous!

    Like

  12. Gorgeous mixed media artwork and I LOVE the song by John Mayer, it crank it up ! Hugs, xxx

    Like

  13. I loved all that texture and your layering Patty, gorgeous work!

    Like

  14. oh yeah… one of my favorites too… and your heart pages are so poignant.. just love it dear one… bet you are enjoying fall in VA… a bit different here, but nice nonetheless… xoxo

    Like

  15. Gorgeous as always x have a great weekend xx

    Like

  16. I like John Mayer, too. The pages are striking, there is a melancholy to them. Such texture! Lovely.

    Like

  17. It’s always good to get back here and see what you’ve creating Patty.

    Like

  18. I love all the different textures & techniques that you used on this beautiful spread Patty. Great lyrics too, I’m off for a listen.
    Alison xxx

    Like

  19. oh wow, what a wonderful spread about this song!! and i envy you for your concert experiences! really must have been cool!

    Like

  20. sparkledaysstudio

    Love your take on art journaling always Patty. So much inner vision on your pages. xox

    Like

  21. Sooo beautiful in every way Patty. Isn’t it amazing how we can be so inspired and lifted by a song or performer-especially when you can feel the honesty of it.

    Like

  22. I don’t think I’ve commented. Read on my phone the other day, but too hard to comment on the phone. (You have to enter all your info!!!). Great post! I saw Lyle Lovett in concert Thursday…. Wonder what kind of page he would inspire me to do! Ha!

    Like

  23. Love the song and you made a wonderful pages with it. All the nice textures and patterns on it look so good to me. I think half of a womans heart belongs to her children for ever, isn’t it?
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

