we all have secrets…

 the Art Journal Journey October “Deep in the Forest” theme inspired another two page spread in my handmade gesso journal…

Magpie's Nest Gesso Magazine page art journal

last month I was chosen the lucky random winner of The Craft Barn’s Quote & Lyric challenge and received a generous prize of £20 so I decided to use that on two of the lovely and talented Gio’s stencils/masks which I had been admiring (half of the gift went toward the postage with such speedy delivery!)…

Gio's masks

 using part of Gio’s “Eighties” stencil as a sort of yellow brick road for my painted forest scene…

Magpie's Nest Secrets in the Forest (2)

a new to me postage stamp that really caught my eye found it’s way onto the pages (thanks to a sweet note in the mail from precious friends…I enjoy postage stamps very much and notes too of course)…

Magpie's Nest Secrets in the Forest (1)

Golden Iridescent Gold Acrylic is yummy to work with…

Magpie's Nest some art supplies

playing with paint and pencil to alter an image of a fashion model was lots of fun too…

Magpie's Nest Secrets in the Forest

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.”  ~Roald Dahl

39 responses to “we all have secrets…

  1. I love to see of all your beautiful art, Patty. Never disappointed.

    Like

  2. Oooh, liebe Patty, your pages are absolutely gorgeous.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Like

  3. Oh wow… this is so lovely and beautiful … another spread of Patty which Susi adores!
    Thank you for this wonderful spread for our event in october!
    I wish you a happy weekend LIEBE Patty!
    xoxoxo
    Susi

    Like

  4. BIG WOW!!! What fantastic work, just beautiful! And congrats on winning that lovely prize! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  5. Lovely pages and the stencil works so well in them.

    Like

  6. Wow Patty you made me breathless, this are such amazing pages, looking like pages of an fairy tale book. I love it so much, wish they were mine and I could put them in a frame to look at every day. Your stencils are so great, I love that style, wish I could get such here.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  7. Gio’s stencils are fantastic and you have used them so brilliantly on this spread. You always take us to another realm of beauty and poetry. These pages are magical, an absolute delight. Patty, you are an inspiration! Thank you for – well – being you! 🙂 xxx

    Like

  8. I love your unique style to create AJ-pages, Patty. Lovely spread again. Happy weekend, hugs xxx

    Like

  9. Good choice Patty. The stencil you’ve used to make the golden path is lovely.

    Like

  10. Wonderful!!! xxx

    Like

  11. Patty, first of all I love Roald Dahl, not a long time ago I also used a quote of his, his stories are lovely! Your spread is gorgeous, I loved that background and then your tree, it seems to spread around like a whole forest, deep and dangerous, while your image is so gentle, even fragile in her white dress. One word: beautiful!

    Like

  12. Beautiful! And congrats on the stencils…….. those are awesome! Love the postage stamp, too! You are a winner in so many ways, Patty!!!

    Like

  13. love your pages! Cool stencils too. I don’t think they are available in the US.

    Like

  14. oh patty they are beautiful pages and how wonderful to have a win…I love both those stencils 🙂

    Like

  15. well done on the win..lovely art I like that swirly path

    Like

  16. This is full of mystery and beauty!

    Like

  17. Is the Man Ray stamp current? Haven’t seen it.

    Like

  18. Hello Patty your Forest Secrets is gorgeous, love that gold texture 🙂 Have a fabulous weekend, Shirleyxx

    Like

  19. inanoctopusgarden

    stunning…more trees…you are nudging me on! 😉 love love love those stencils you lucky lady!

    Like

  20. Such a beautiful journal spread. Love your choice of colors.

    Like

  21. I love your drawn branches with gold flowers, and the road of golden treasures, too, with the beautiful woman, picking the last leafe on the tree -so very ,very beautiful, dear Patty,- wonderful with the post stamp and that little story qoute is so lovely!!
    Hugs from cold Bornholm,- to you- xx,Dorthe

    Like

  22. Congrats on winning Patty!!! The stencils are beautiful. I love how you did the tree branches with gold accents. Gorgeous!! ~Sophia

    Like

  23. I saw this yesterday but couldn’t think of a comment good enough for it.
    Love the blueness, the branches with their gold buds, the way you have transformed the lady, how you used just a part of the stencil so cleverly and the whole wonderful Patty-ness of the painting.

    Like

  24. Absolutely gorgeous spread, love that stencil

    Like

  25. This is amazing, patty. Love the whole spread

    Like

  26. Congrats on winning the voucher–you made beautiful use of the stencils you chose already!

    Like

  27. Such a wonderful page and I love the gold and blue together!

    Like

  28. Patty this journal page is beautiful. I love everything about it.
    Happy Sunday

    Like

  29. Magical and enchanting in such a very grown-up manner as though reading a book of fairy tales for adults.
    The path creates the most amazing energy and there is a sense that this woodland holds secrets which the trees might whisper to us if we dare enter this wooded glade.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  30. Patty, your journal spread is just stunning! I love the choices of colors and textures- very secretive indeed! xo

    Like

  31. another fantastic spread! and can one ever have enough postal stamps?

    Like

  32. oh patty! she is beautiful!! i love this!!

    Like

  33. I simply love the way you “see” and how you use materials, Patty. I sound like a broken record when I say how much I love your work!

    Like

  34. Wow, I’m in awe, Patty. A wonderful and magical spread, and great use of the stencil….just a little, huge Thank You! 🙂

    Like

  35. What a lovely entry for the AJJ. I so enjoyed seeing how you took part of a stencil and made it your own. It is stunning. I also like the colors you used and I’m a fan of that Golden Gold, too. I’m on my third bottle, so you know how much I like the color.

    I was surprised to read you had to pay postage on your gift. Guess I’m glad I’ll never win one of those vouchers.

    Like

  36. Wow, that’s an amazing spread, fantastic details.

    Like

  37. oh how cool!!! Love your pages!

    Like

  38. Pingback: we are not lost … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  39. Pingback: Winter is the slow down… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

