blue bottle tree

for some time now Mr Magpie has been planning to weld together a metal frame resembling a small tree to hold some of the pretty blue glass bottles we have been saving (the color blue is known to be soothing…friendly and peaceful and it happens to be one of our favorite colors)…

Bottle tree beginning

 the scrap pieces of rebar that he rescued from the dump and time to get busy finally aligned…

Mr Magpie Welder Extraordinaire

he even added lights giving it an extra magical quality at night…

illuminated bottle tree

“While the  meaning of bottle trees continues to evolve as it has for centuries, one of the more common interpretations is that they protect the home and garden by catching evil spirits, which some say are attracted to the bottles by their bright colors (sometimes made by swirling paint on the inside of a clear bottle). Once inside, the sunlight destroys the spirit.   Other interpretations suggest the spirits are trapped inside the bottles in the evening. Then, the morning sunlight destroys them. If you pass by and happen to hear the wind blowing across the bottles, it is thought to be the sound of the spirits trapped inside. Bottle trees have also been thought to bring rain, luck, and to make trees bloom.” –Smithsonian Gardens, Feb 28, 2013, The American Bottle Tree

Bottle tree daylight

if you are interested in learning a bit more about the origin of bottle trees you can also visit here

full blue dusk tree

we are enjoying this unique addition to our garden and are looking forward to seeing it in the snow this winter…

Let there be Light

Happy First Day of Winter or Summer as the case may be dear ones…

29 responses to “blue bottle tree

  1. Jolly good Mr. Magpie! You have a winner there! It’s awfully pretty, too! (I’m still working on finding the twinkle…)

    Like

  2. Wow,wow,wow that looks so good what your husband created, a really good place for all these nice blue bottles. Looking good by day and night.
    I think it is a nice all year long illumination of your garden. Tell him that I am excited about it. I love those blue bottles too.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  3. This is just the best idea! I’m going to show it to my husband when I’ve written this and I’m already excited about the idea of this beautiful ‘tree’ in the snow! My Mr Magpie would love it, as he is a huge fan of the effect of light through coloured glass. I love the sound of wind calling through glass, so I can’t believe that it’s anything as scary as evil spirits, though I can imagine why people might think that. Both My Mr Magpie and I adore stained glass. One Christmas I bought him a little stained glass candle sconce and he made a box to attach to it with fairy lights inside so it looks extra pretty. I hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas, Patty. Thank you for the beauty you have shared all this year, You are always an inspiration. xxx

    Like

  4. This is fantastic, I just LOVE this tree. I want one on my balcony, I wonder what the birds would say? Wonderful work from your husband, what a treasure you have there. Well 2 treasures, your husband AND the tree! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  5. How beautifully innovative. Love the story too.

    Like

  6. Love it! And thanks for the info about bottle trees, too…

    Like

  7. Blue is my favourite colour too – and if we lived in a house I would definitely want one of these! Mr. Magpie did a great job.

    Like

  8. sparkledaysstudio

    Aww so perfect. Love it sparkling in the darkness. xox

    Like

  9. Wow, I love that, so beautiful with the blue bottles and the lights on it, like a special light sculpture! Let it be light dear Patty, summer or winter we can always say Happy Holidays! xox

    Like

  10. what a gem he is…I love it, so very special xx

    Like

  11. I love these. A guy down the road made one a few years ago for Christmas. He leaves his up year round but used various colored bottles…it’s beautiful and I love your husband’s creation! 🙂

    Like

  12. Amazing bottle tree ! Well done Mr.Magpie!
    Have a Verry Merry Christmas dear Patty!
    xoxoxo
    Susi

    Like

  13. What an amazing project…….I especially like the idea that it may produce sound. Great work! X

    Like

  14. Dear Patty,
    this is a wonderful light catcher and giver, in your garden, and such a great work of your husbond. I love that tree of metal, rusted to beauty, and the bottles in blue looks amazing ,there. And it could be used for other things, too- like a little bird food, -I believe the birds will love the new resting place, aswell.
    I`m happy to see you here, as I started getting worried ,not seing you around. As I from tomorrow will be very bussy, I will now wish you a
    VERY MERRY AND HAPPY CHRISTMAS, my dear friend.
    See you after the holidayes and have a blessed christmes .
    Warm hugs from Dorthe

    Like

  15. this Looks SUPER cool! big Applause to mr magpie!! i love the blue with the lights in the dark, blue is my favorite Color ever!

    Like

  16. That is so cool!!!! I recognize that big blue bottle on top. I bought that at Sam’s club several years ago…not for the wine it held but for the gorgeous blue bottle. 🙂

    Like

  17. You have a very handy hubby. I love blue bottles and the bottle tree is lovely, especially at night with the little white lights. Happy holidays, Tammy

    Like

  18. I had never heard of a bottle tree before I saw this post. Your husband created a lovely tree sculpture to hold the bottles. It looks amazing with the added white lights! Wishing you both a peaceful, Merry Christmas!

    Like

  19. I love it,really beautiful. That handsome handyman is nice too! xoxoxo

    Like

  20. Now this takes the proverbial cake!!! I love it! LOUD CLAPPING! It must be so fun to look out and see it in your yard. A labor of love, for sure! Maybe once in a while hang a bird feeder off one of the arms [thinking fun photo opp]. You and yours have a very Merry Christmas, Patty! xo

    Like

  21. What a creative Mr. you have!! Real cool and love the blue!! xoxo

    Like

  22. way to go Mr. Magpie! Your unique tree looks fabulous all lit up with the blues!

    Like

  23. Nice to see you Mr. Magpie, and you’ve made a very fine Bottle tree (of which I hadn’t heard until now). It looks terrific lit up in the dark.

    Like

  24. That is wonderful. Mr. Magpie is a true artiste.

    Like

  25. Magical! Happy holidays my dear!

    Like

  26. We have a variation of a blue bottle tree in our front garden! But, ours doesn’t have lights 😦 I may have to look into that. I’ll send you a picture of ours via email.

    Like

  27. I’ve always loved bottle trees! Yours is gorgeous!!!!!

    Like

  28. Pingback: playing in the snow T … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

