all through the night…

the end of the year always fills me with mixed emotions…

Patty Szymkowicz bits of fa la laa

happy to let go of some things…

Patty Szymkowicz Peace

grateful for so many blessings and looking forward to new adventures…

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark (2)

but also realizing that time will take me further and further away from precious memories and sounds of the voices of loved ones that are no longer here with us…

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark (4)

time is a great teacher proving to us that life goes on…

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark (3)

holding on to hope like a bright shining star…

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark (1)

sharing my collage pages with the Art Journal Journey challenge  (I am #198, 131, 98 and 81 in this month’s challenge participants …  special thanks to Johanna for her generous gift of some beautiful Edelweiss postage stamps whose symbolism worked so well here to highlight my page)…

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark (6)

~♥~ wishing you a Very Happy … Healthy and Creative New Year oxo ~♥~

Patty Szymkowicz Dancing in the dark

“Love, to thee my thoughts are turning, All through the night.  All for thee my heart is yearning, All through the night.  Though sad fate our lives may sever, Parting will not last forever, There’s a hope that leaves me never, All through the night. ”  – Ar hyd y nos, Welsh Folk Song, third verse

32 responses to “all through the night…

  1. It’s true that leaving another year behind has its share of sadness Patty. However, the thought of a brand new one filled with all sorts of adventures beckons brightly.

    Like

  2. Dear Patty,
    your words are so true!The new year will be full of adventures as always, I hope it will be successfull, healthy, lucky and a lot more….not only for me, I want it will be blessed for the whole humanity!
    Warm embrace,
    Anja

    Like

  3. Wow Patty, what a wonderful collage, just perfect. Love all the elements you have used. We are separated by many miles, but will dance together full of hope into the New Year! May it be a good one for you! Thanks or linking to Art Journal Journey! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  4. Yes, Patty, a lot of people can find the last days of the old year a sad time, but then the New Year arrives once again. Your post is full of beauty, nostalgia and hope.
    I am so intrigued by your objects-set-up at the beginning and love that you received and used Johanna’s Edelweiss postage stamp above the dancing words.
    Friendship and love and sharing in our Blogland – who could have imagined this only a few years ago?

    Like

  5. Patty you have such lovely and touching words here and beautiful creativity!

    Like

  6. Patty what a wonderful spread, I adore your collaging!

    Like

  7. Such a beautiful post Patty – both in pictures, and words.

    Like

  8. sparkledaysstudio

    So true Patty. It’s hard to keep those memories present as the years go by. For that reason this was in some ways a tough Christmas for me. Luckily son and girl changed plans and we spent wonderful time together which made it that much easier. xox

    Like

  9. I think you do a wonderful job of keeping the connections to the memories of old. They remain fresh and in the present. I wish you a most joyous New Year and new memories to add to the old ones–not that they take away but may they augment what exists today. 🙂

    Like

  10. Good reflections illustrated with your well thought out and put together collage pieces.
    Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Hugs,
    Teresa

    Like

  11. A limited color palette certainly doesn’t limit your creativity. You work with white so well.

    Like

  12. Wonderful, touching words Patty, and so true!
    Your collage art is beautiful and inspiring as your words.
    Wishing you a happy and creative 2015.
    Alison xoxox

    Like

  13. touching words… and Feelings i can relate to in the last days of the year. yes, some memories fade… but as in the welsh song i truly believe “parting will not be forever”.
    love your spread and your use of the edelweiss… and the stenciled pattern connects the pages so well!
    may the new year bring all the best to you and yours patty. health Standing on the top of the list, as we all know it´s importance
    xoxo

    Like

  14. Dear Patty, how very beautiful, -your words touched me deeply, and lots of “lost voices ” flew through my mind, still to be heard and loved . Thank you, dear.
    Your pages are stunning, the stenciled doily pattern with that Edelweiss and the fragile tulle benieth, the lady with the shining star in hand, all so beautiful, and filled with hope .
    Dearest Patty I wish you the most happy and beautiful new year ,for you and your family.
    Sending love and hugs,
    Dorthe

    Like

  15. Dear Patty, a new year goes to an end and we all become a little bit thoughtfully. Your pages with the thoughtfully Lady fits perfectly to this.
    Nice photos. I must smile about the small VW-Käfer car on your photo, it’s a German cult car. My cousin works in the VW factory and he loves all the old cars from VW and drives such an old car himself.
    I send you my best wishes for the new year. Stay healthy and creative.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  16. Time … it can be fleeting or it can be agonizing …it can be precious or bittersweet. Time becomes very important to me the older I get. Quality time spent well. That’s what I want for 2015. Wishing you all the best! Tammy

    Like

  17. Dear Patty,
    your lovely pages and words are treasures which touch my heart and sole. You have such a magical talent to create your feelings so beautifully in your art. I’m grateful for your friendship. I thank you very much for all your visits and comments. They’ve made me happy.
    I wish you dear Patty a happy and creative New Year xxx
    Love,
    Sirkkis

    Like

  18. Such a beautiful expression of love and hope. You have a wonderful way of articulating what is in your heart and making me feel it, too! All the best to you and yours for a Happy 2015!

    Like

  19. inanoctopusgarden

    beautifully touching Patty, memories are all so dear even if they fade they are in our heart and soul forever just simply put away keeping us cozy.
    xo Happy New Year!

    Like

  20. Such true words. Wonderful images to end the year and take us into the new one. Wishing you a very happy new year filled with beauty and love,

    Like

  21. so true and so beautiful… Happiest New Year! xoxox

    Like

  22. Beautiful words to reflect on time going by. Thanks for sharing the poem at the end, I love it! Dear Patty, I wish you the best year ever, full of creative fun and warmth ♥

    Like

  23. what a really touching post dear Patty. I love your collage spread. The edelweiss is a lovely touch, and I love how the lace in the background reminds me of a rainbow. Yes, hope and wonder. Wishing you and yours a fabulous 2015!

    Like

  24. You are a bright star, Patty. Thank you for sharing year after year your life through your Art with us.
    I wish you all the best for the 2015.
    gio

    Like

  25. Coming back to blogging after a long blog break, and I loved catching up with your posts. I enjoyed your photographs, but your collage art journal pages really stole the show for me! They were all great, especially the one with the origami dress!
    Happy New Year!
    Rinda

    Like

  26. lovely pages, and I do relate to what you´ve said about the last days of the year – similar feelings here … wishing you all the best for 2015, dear Patty!

    Like

  27. Patty, I can think of no truer words nor hear them more eloquently stated. And of course your collages are the perfect illustrations for these deep and so very on-target thoughts I send you a happy new year where the best of the memories grow stronger, if further away and the new ones bring joy..

    Like

  28. your post is especially touching…thank you for sharing your beautiful heart…xo

    Like

  29. What a most beautiful post dear Patty- very touching and soulful~
    Your song quote at the end of the post is the perfect compliment to your lovely journal spread.
    Much love and joy to you and yours in the New Year! xoxo

    Like

  30. There is a beautiful purity to this blog post, speaking from the tender heart.
    I always have a sense that I might be letting my country folk down because Hogmanay, traditionally, was viewed as being more important in the calendar than Christmas Day however for me, it is a time of the year which I struggle with. So not for me, waiting for the bells at the stroke of midnight, preferring to be rather a bore and treat it as I would any other night of the year. What I will do is take a moment to wish you and Mr Magpie, all the very best for 2015 and to say Thank You for your friendship and support.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  31. all is said about your lovely post and the awesome journal pages.
    a happy and healthy new year to you and yours, dear Patty

    Like

  32. Happy new year from me to you – a little bit late, sorry.

    This white-in-white-collage succeeded so marvelously and I am pleased about the edelweiss stamp therein…
    wishes Ulrike

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

