Dream…

a new year so I thought I would join in a new to me challenge with special thanks to the lovely and oh so talented Lynne Moncrieff for always being such an inspiration and sharing her boundless creativity…

small stack of old books and garland

you can read all about PaperArtsy’s 2015 Topic 1: “Fragile Papers” Challenge here (speaking of inspiration there is LOTS on the PaperArtsy site…I plan to make time to watch the video they share for this challenge as well!)… 

Dream Paper Artsy journal pages (2)

the “fragile papers” theme really spoke to me as I have always been drawn to old books and papers of all kinds…

paper artsy stamps

I have also been a long time fan of PaperArtsy’s wonderful rubber stamp line so this was a great opportunity to dig into my stash eventho they do not require that you use their stamps to participate in the challenge…

Dream Paper Artsy journal pages (3)

I used a plastic doily as a stencil with some heavy gesso on tissue paper and did the same directly onto the pages of a new altered visual journal (an old book)…

paper artsy dream stamp on book page

I wanted to use the “dream” stamp on fabric but did not have suitable fabric so I stamped onto a torn out book page instead…

some supplies

a few of the other supplies I used…

Dream Paper Artsy journal pages (5)

along with torn bits from a 1930’s Geometry book that had a distinctive smell when I used glue stick to adhere the pieces to my art journal…

Dream Paper Artsy journal pages (4)

there is something really special about the various textures and feel of old paper and how it melts into other surfaces…

Dream Paper Artsy journal pages (6)

a computer generated Bob Dylan quote and some bits of netting and cotton trim helped complete my collaged book pages (double clicking on the photos gives a closeup view)…

46 responses to “Dream…

  1. This is absolutely stunning, just love your altered pages, and the techniques and stamps used. Have a nice weekend, Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Dear Patty
    I am so excited that you were inspired by the wonderful challenge theme at PaperArtsy and that, so early into this New Year, you have already participated in something which is new to you.
    I look at your spread and it epitomises, to me, the challenge theme. You brought together all of those elements to tell a story which seems to apt considering you are working in an altered book and of course, using book pages.
    Patty, I cannot believe for one moment that I could inspire someone such as you who has such an abundance of talent, talent which appears to be so effortless to you.
    BTW the butterfly girl was a stamp I used in my most early days of stamping, I was always drawn to her yet quite a few people said to me that they didn’t want her to appear on any card I would send to them. Just goes to show that we all see beautiful in different places.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  3. Love the way that everything has integrated so well. Beautiful pages.

    Like

  4. Patty, I don’t even know what I love more, your collaging, your stamping, your colour or the way you arranged your sentiment, I have only one word: FABULOUS dear friend and so inspirational!

    Like

  5. This is looking great! I love the blues you have used, and the way you managed to combine everything. Wonderful work!

    Like

  6. WOW – GORGEOUS as always !!! INSPIARATIONAL XX

    Like

  7. I saw this posted at Paper Artsy. Stunning work!

    Like

  8. How I wish I could come and spend some time playing along with you so I could learn to turn out pages even half as special as yours! My ‘talent’ doesn’t seem to extend into collage, unfortunately.

    Like

  9. lucy Edmondson

    How beautiful!

    Lucy x

    Like

  10. Gorgeous pages, I love the soft colours, textures and collage of book pages and images. Have a wonderful weekend, Shirleyxx

    Like

  11. What you did here is just amazing Patty, a fantastic spread is this! Adorable!
    Happy weekend my dear friend!
    xoxoxo
    Susi

    Like

  12. I saw this challenge at Paper Artsy’s blog earlier in the week, but I have so many challenges I’m in now, I only saw the designers art and moved on to other things. So glad to see you have joined the fun there. This is another pure beauty, and the colors are simply perfect for this winter wasteland we’re in at the moment.

    Like

  13. I adore this Patti, a wonderful double spread and with such fabulous depth and texture. Thanks for leaving me a lovely comment and my blog and I would love it if you linked this to my Visual Journey. Happy New Year xxx

    Like

  14. Ma chère Patty, tout d’abord je te souhaite une merveilleuse année 2015. Beaucoup de bonheur, de douceur et de sérénité pour la Nouvelle Année, ainsi que la réalisation des projets les plus chers.
    J’adore utiliser les papiers fragiles, ils donnent un plus à une création et tu as réussi une véritable oeuvre d’art avec ce matériel approprié, bravo.
    Je suis allé voir le tuto, je compte m’en inspirer.
    Merci pour ce partage.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  15. What can I say about this masterpiece?
    I loved to see your materials, starting off with the wonderful pile of old books and scraps of paper against the blue, and this one photograph would have been enough for one blogpost by itself, then gradually seeing how the page developed in such clear photos and using such fascinating techniques to give the final artwork.
    I am in awe (again).

    Like

  16. Beautiful, dreamy piece….it feels so romantic! Thanks for sharing the steps of what went into creating this.

    Like

  17. sparkledaysstudio

    Magical pages. I love the idea of an “art cave” sounds so cozy and comfy. Mine would be filled with dog fur. xox

    Like

  18. Hello Patty! Looks like you are up to a wonderful project this year. I have so much fragile paper! I may need to check this out. Stacks of old books here.

    Like

  19. As always, beautiful pages Patty. I love the layering.

    Like

  20. Oh Patty this is realy a dream , and I feel being part of one of your own private dreams here, just like in the qoute !! Your pages are fantastic, and sooo beautiful, with the butterfly girl amongst all the textured flowers, and the icy blue, makes me think she arrived a bit too early, this year !! All like a frozen world, stunningly created with the old papers and the wonderful stamps, and colours. You truly created magic ,here.
    Hugs from Dorthe, on a cold rainy evening, ( again )
    xoxo

    Like

  21. Wonderful textures on this beautiful, dreamy page Patty! xox

    Like

  22. Hi Patty! How lovely that you’ve been inspired by the wonderful Lynne Moncrieff to join in the PA challenge! Her work is so very special and imaginative: I am a great fan both of Lynne and of you! I am really excited that you are joining in. I love how you have used the fragile papers and that stamp is one of my favourites! This post is so beautifully put together. It was a joy to read and to look at from beginning to end. xxx

    Like

  23. Patty,
    Your pages are beautiful.

    Like

  24. Patty, these pages are breathtaking.

    Like

  25. So imaginatively created pages in lovely soft colours dear Patty, I love it.
    What you used as a stencil is so nice and I like the Lady stamp very much.
    Your photo with all the old books is a little artwork too,very good decoration these old books. Hope you feel fine and I wish you a nice weekend.
    Sabine xox

    Like

  26. What a beautiful pages! Great techniques onto the layers and beautiful colours combo. ‘Talkin’ World War III Blues’ is very interest too. xxx

    Like

  27. Stunning pages, I can feel all the textures just by looking at them x

    Like

  28. a most fabulous spread patty!! Your stamps and paste and text as well as colors all go perfectly together! You are such an inspiration!! xoxo

    Like

  29. How well everything has worked together, it is beautiful!! I love that soft blue, too.

    Like

  30. Love the colours and texture, fabulous pages.

    Like

  31. Love how the elements come together. I’m going to have to check out this challenge. I’m in need of a new one. 😉

    Like

  32. you did an absolutely AMAZING job with this new challenge Patty! I love everything about it, including the stamps. However, tempting as it is I am not going to torture myself by looking at them:)

    Like

  33. i also love the paperartsy stamps, and you made such a great spread using them. love the texture! thanks for showing the steps!

    Like

  34. Wow, totally stunning spread. Love the soft colour and gorgeous texture.

    Like

  35. Your are the queen of taking bits and pieces to make a gorgeous spread that is uniquely your own.

    Like

  36. Hi Patty, thanks for joining in the PaperArtsy play. The dream girl stamp you chose has always been my most favourite stamp from the ink and the dog collection, she just looks gorgeous. To think that stamp is now 11 years old, back then we used to put wings on everything we collaged! I think i can already see that trick doing the rounds again this year!
    I love your pages, the textures and the way you pulled it all together! Papers certainly do have a certain magic I am sure of it!
    Leandra

    Like

  37. Your pages always are so full of discoveries, Patty! I am in love with all the variations of blue, the very cool erased stencilshapes and the fine mesh that lies on the right page! Love your stamps alot too 🙂

    Like

  38. Beautiful pages Patty!! I love the colors. Your doily stencil is gorgeous!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  39. looks fabulous love all the delicate textures

    Like

  40. Love the way You do everything Patty , You are great !
    Love Rini

    Like

  41. Love the soft colors and the fantastic texture of these pages, Patty! The stamps you’ve used fit perfect!!

    Hugs,Gaby

    Like

  42. okay Patty! This is my new absolute favorite of your pages!!! I love that little rose you attached to the butterfly- and I really love how you incorporated music so much in your pieces – i do the same- guess we are soul music sisters! “) I was wondering why I hadn’t seen this post and then realized after viewing the date- it was my birthday and I was down sick in bed with bronchitis!! Sorry I missed this!
    As I said, one of my new favorites! XO

    Like

  43. Pingback: a hole in my pocket… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  44. Beautiful pages such great texture!

    Like

  45. Pingback: like a dream… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

