Roses in December T…

the garden in June

it was my plan to share these summer roses with you all back in December but that month flew by and here we are well into January already…

stringing roses

my playing with roses was inspired by a conversation with the lovely and talented Dorthe of Den Lille Lade back in June of 2014 when she and I talked about how we liked to make rosebud garlands and strings…

June roses and forget-me-nots

the weather was beautiful for sitting out on the back porch back then...

Stringing roses collage

the blooms and strands have faded since last summer but are still a lovely reminder of the garden in bloom especially in these cold winter days (it’s so grey out today I can’t get a good photo of the rose strands as they look now)…

Roses in December Quote

wishing you a happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth and Bleubeard…

36 responses to “Roses in December T…

  1. These heavenly blooms recall summer days. It’s minus temperatures here today, but the sun is shining so I can remember summer! This is a lovely post, Patty. Roses are my favourite flowers. xxx

    Like

  2. What a lovely way to pass time..string roses! I bet the smell was just heavenly! It is cold and cloudy here today…thanks for the hint of summer!

    Like

  3. What a lovely way to spend a summer’s day and I really like the quote.

    Like

  4. These are lovely Patty- what a nice idea! xo

    Like

  5. Beautiful reminder of warmer days and blooming roses.
    Thanks for sharing, I bet the strands still look good, roses dry so nicely.
    Happy T-day

    Like

  6. Your rose blooms and garlands look heavenly Patty. I have a stamp of that quote. Your digi photo is just gorgeous and so very tender. Wishing you warmer days. Happy T day!

    Like

  7. A glorious idea. Sounds so olde worlde…stringing rose garlands. Beautiful too.

    Like

  8. Patty, those roses are awesome, they look so fragile, so soft, I could have them as a screen saver 😉

    Like

  9. What a beautiful idea 😀 How long do they last once strung? I wonder if ladies of bygone days did things like that :/
    Thank you for your comment on my post; I am most fortunate with my friends 😀 Happy T Day 😀

    Like

  10. Beautiful post, love how you prepared your roses! Have a great day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  11. I was literally blown away when I saw these roses. Since I only get about three roses on my rosebush each year, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I finally realized I was looking at real rosebuds. They are beyond gorgeous. Thanks, too, for brightening this cold dark day and making it seem a bit more like spring might actually arrive one of these days.

    Thanks also for joining in T this Tuesday. As always, your photos are simply stunning, even in the grey of winter.

    Like

  12. Oh gosh.. this is all soo beautiful!
    Makes me happy Patty! Thank you for this wonderful pics!

    Happy T-Day Sweetie!

    Like

  13. What a wonderful way to brighten our dreary winter days. Thank you so much for sharing December roses in January Patty! Happy Tday! Hugs! deb

    Like

  14. Such beautiful blooms Patty…perfect for cheering us up on a grey January day! xox

    Like

  15. Oh my, one part of me says how beautiful and creative the string of roses are, even if temporary and the other is amazed that you would cut them all off the rose bush and do that!! LOL Happy T Tuesday to you! Annette

    Like

  16. I would never have thought of stringing rose buds!! Very pretty! Nice to see flowers right now. 😉 Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  17. Such lovely fresh layouts and mosaics and they are even more lovely when you click to enlarge, they fill the screen with light and delicate colours.
    I think I see an old hexagon quilt too? with old patterned cottons, so nice to see it.

    Like

  18. inanoctopusgarden

    what a beautiful project – love it and will try and remember it for my knock out roses! xo

    Like

  19. wonderful reminder of the days to come! love that pink!

    Like

  20. I’ve never seen these before, but how wonderful! love the delicate pink with the pearls…and what a nice reminder of summer to have them dried and enjoying them now. Love the gorgeous quilt too! ♥

    Like

  21. die Kombination der rosaroten rosen mit den vergiss-mein-nicht ist wunder-wunderschön!!

    Like

  22. They are so very beautiful, strung with the pearls, dear Patty and what a soft lovely tone of pink, so sweet with the : Forget me nots ..
    Thank you for your sweet mentioning me, dear friend, it is such a blessing having “talks” across the sea.
    I wish you a beautiful January day,- with happy memories of summer roses, and much more happy thoughts !
    Hugs, Dorthe

    Like

  23. This fills the senses with such beauty and fragrance, thanks so much for sharing these delicate beauties!

    Like

  24. Those roses are so perfect they look fake. 🙂 I had to go back and reread to make sure. Happy T day!

    Like

  25. Love this idea! I can just see you sitting in your garden, sipping tea and stringing roses – such a Patty thing to do!

    Like

  26. What you did with the roses looks very magic. So nice! I like the soft colour of the roses and your photos too.
    Dearest Greatings
    Sabine

    Like

  27. Beautiful!! Reminds me I need to plant more Roses.

    Like

  28. Gorgeous roses and photography, gives me a feeling of summer. I hope you are doing well, Shirleyxx

    Like

  29. There must be a love of roses going around right now!

    Like

  30. Lovely, Patty. I think we need those roses more NOW than in December! I know I do!

    Like

  31. I smell the roses! Thanks Patty!

    Like

  32. Those roses are BeaUtiFul!!!!!!! I need to string rosebuds! Sounds relaxing…but I don’t think I have any…..

    Like

  33. A beautiful , warm and lovely post on this gloomy, winterish day 🙂
    Thank you, Patty!

    Like

  34. Aww Patty when I think of you I feel beauty and abundance and so was your post today! Your roses are a joy to see and your garlands are a praise to the nature and their overflown bloom and growth! Looove and thank you so much for your roses when outside all green turn into white 😉

    Like

  35. Oh thank you for such a sweet breath of summer….i love this idea and i especially love the pearls amongst the pink buds xo

    Like

  36. Magnifique ma chère Patty, merci de ton commentaire sur mon blog. Surveille ta BAL, une carte arrive.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

