no matter where you go…

 playing in my gesso journals is something I enjoy very much as everything seems to intuitively flow onto the pages…

Magpie's Nest Gesso Journal

I am joining the PaperArtsy 2015 topic 2 Shiny Stuff challenge

Magpie's Nest Shiny paper and gold leaf

the lovely gold veined sheer paper in the background above is a favorite ingredient of mine as it melts into all surfaces so beautifully and playing with gold leaf is something I have been meaning to do for some time now (this time I used glue stick to adhere it to my journal pages)…

Magpie's Nest forget-me-not lady

the blue forget-me-nots are from a trip we took to Switzerland a few years ago which all seems like a dream now…I painted on top of a magazine face adding hair and the bodice of her dress leaving the eyes and lips mostly untouched…

Magpie's Nest My Heart journal page

the words “my heart” were left showing quite by chance and led me to add the vintage heart and arrow that I have had for some time now from here

Magpie's Nest traveling girl

everyone is welcome to join in the challenges and as if all of the inspiration and sharing from talented and generous artists on the PaperArtsy blog is not wonderful enough they offer a generous prize if you are randomly chosen as the fortnightly winner…

Magpie's Nest page in progress

as it happens I was the very lucky winner of their first challenge of the year and the wonderful prizes I chose from the PaperArtsy shop are already on their way to me…

Magpie's Nest Shiny Stuff journal pages

“Travel makes one modest, you see what a tiny place you occupy in the world “-Gustave Flaubert

32 responses to “no matter where you go…

  1. Lovely journal pages, playing with gold leaf is always fun! Goodnight! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Wonderful! Love everything anout her, especially those pops of blue! Xo

    Like

  3. What a lovely journal spread- your lady is just beautiful !
    I love working with gold leaf also- adds such elegance to a piece! xoxo

    Like

  4. Beautiful creations, you have a lot of talent.

    Like

  5. oh, she is lovely, Patty! I love those blue eyes and what a gloriously shiny page it it. I was so excited when I saw you won the draw last time. I do hope you enjoy your prize. I’m sure you’ll create beautiful things with it. Happy creating! xxx

    Like

  6. Sorry, it’s getting late here and I’m tired. What I mean to say is, …What a gloriously shiny page it is! xxx

    Like

  7. Patty, I loved the golden touch on your spread, it makes the whole so fragile, so soft, and you are right no matter where life takes us we need to make the best out of it! hugs Ruth

    Like

  8. This is beautiful…. I love the contrast between the grey tones and the very lively eyes. Beautiful work! And lucky you to win!!

    Like

  9. Beautiful work – I love the gentle colours and the way the forget me nots pick out the colour of her eyes – gorgeous!

    Like

  10. Another gorgeous, romantic page! The gold leaf is really stunning!

    Like

  11. inanoctopusgarden

    I always love all your little elements – they hold such meaning and intuitively work together. You had me at “my heart” actually you had me at the blue forgetmenots! Patty you seem so comfortable working in these journals they are your “happy place” ! I love that you share these special pages with us. 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  12. Patty your page is so beautifully made and your girl has such a lovely face, love the words you have added.
    Anni

    Like

  13. It’s so delicate…Good luck with the challenge 🙂

    Like

  14. Love the blue intermixed with the gold and buff xxxx
    Gaye

    Like

  15. I love gold metal leaves too, and you used them beautifully on your pages to highlight the areas around the lovely girl and your wonderful text !! I love how you painted her hair , dear Patty, and the great blue splashes among her . Congratulations on winning the last challenge my dear, I know you will have lots of fun with your prize .
    Hugs from Dorthe , almost blowing away this evening !!!
    xoxo

    Like

  16. this is a perfectly beautiful journal spread Patty!! I love how you made over your girl-great job. Something I haven’t tried yet:) Congrats on winning some new goodies to play with! I’m sure once you have them to play with your mojo will be out in full force!

    Like

  17. You chose a wonderfully pensive face with such expressive eyes. Love that you used a map of Virginia behind the heart.

    Like

  18. Wonderful pages with the metal leaf Gold. It has the best golden shimmer on every material. I use it too. Love the text on your page.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  19. There’s something quite decadent about using gold leaf.

    Like

  20. sparkledaysstudio

    Your use of gesso is always so wonderful. Great word placement for graphic effect and gold, ah, how splendid. xox

    Like

  21. Late again! Can’t believe how far behind I can get in a day.

    wow, lucky you. Congrats. I’ve seen the Paper Artsy blog because some of my British friends frequent it. But I don’t ever have the same supplies needed to meet their challenges.

    You created a fabulous piece. I like the gold background and the gold leaf. Of course, I love how you did the magazine girl’s face. You have real talent. And that heart made me smile. It is gorgeous. You picked wisely. Really enjoyed this latest spread in your gesso journal.

    Like

  22. Gorgeous page!

    Like

  23. Simply beautiful. I saw that you had won the prize in the blog. Lucky girl!

    Like

  24. such pretty pages… and the quote… so true, I loved the book.. xoxo

    Like

  25. Pingback: and another shiny thing… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  26. The metal leaf inclusions look perfectly beautiful set against the Gesso and the heart, oh how fabulous that heart is. I also like the way you manipulated the image of the woman.
    So much beauty!
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  27. another wonderful spread in your Journal… love everything, and the most the forget-me-nots!

    Like

  28. Patty…she’s lovely.

    Like

  29. Your page is full of interesting techniques. Love your original double page.

    Like

  30. Gorgeous! And love the painted magazine face!!!

    Like

  31. Hello, quel beau travail ma chère Patty, j’aime beaucoup mettre de l’or dans mes créas, belles techniques, beau rendu, cependant je suis consciente que ce serait de la folie de participer à ces challenges, il y a tellement de talents, dont le vôtre.
    Merci pour ce partage.
    Bizzz
    MAPY

    Like

  32. Oh she is beautiful, and the gold leaf fits perfectly on the page. Stunning! And congrats on your win! Hope your goodies arrive very soon!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

