why is simplicity so complicated…

here are some pages in my gesso journal for the latest MOO “Circles” challenge (this is my first time joining in the challenge…all sorts of projects with or without Moos are accepted)…

lavender HEART

the Lavender sprig was marking some pages in my book so I decided to adhere it to the page using some gel medium and a word from my work table…

right pg

the tea cups are from a peeled napkin with some bits of gold paint added…

is simplicity

Simplify is my little word for 2015 (I have not yet figured out HOW to add it to my sidebar)… I find living a simple life to be quite challenging…

circle tools

I used the end of a pen dipped in black gesso and a Hero Arts dotted circle stamp for adding circles to my pages…

left pg

in real life my pages are white and cream colored… our cold winter light gave my photos a blueish look…

WHY

plaster stenciled onto vintage book paper… gesso… napkin… Golden Irridescent Gold paint… pressed Lavender sprig and a circle rubber stamp went into these pages…

final circle pages

cups and plates are circles too…

28 responses to “why is simplicity so complicated…

  1. What a fantastic and wonderful spread did you make here Patty?! JUST GORGEOUS.. and yes… this is what I ask me day for day.. they learned us to do everything in life in a very complicated way.. and to learn the simplicity again is sooo difficult… I try hard and ask myself always.. can you make this simpler? And the most things can be done simpler…. oooh.. so much to learn….

    xxx
    Susi

    So happy to have you with us at Moo Mania & More Patty .. but I think it’s not the first time you joinied us… I am sure you did once or twice in the past!
    ♥♥♥
    keep care my friend..
    best for you and Mr. Magpie

    Like

  2. This is a wonderful journal spread, love the cups, and the touches of gold. The sprig of lavender adds the perfect finishing touch. Thanks for joining us at Moo Mania and More, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. Thank you very much Susi and you are right I played along last September https://bitze.wordpress.com/2014/09/11/half-of-my-heart/ …where does the time go!

    Like

  4. Patty, I so admire your work. The lavender is perfect — especially with those lovely teacups. (Aren’t napkins the best?!) I really do admire your layering process! (And yes, simplicity is really tough!)

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous page. The addition of the lavender sprig is awesome. The texture and yes, simplicity of it speaks to me.m

    Like

  6. Beautiful pages….. I love the napkin addition. I will check this challenge out. I have sooooooooooo many Moo Cards! (Some are mine, but mostly others I’ve received …. oh wait….. I think I threw them away……. hahahaha…. Oh, well….. THAT is how you simplify your life! LOL)

    Like

  7. sparkledaysstudio

    Love that lavender sprig and your gesso journal always, so pretty with gold and circles which of course is everything right? xox

    Like

  8. Wow, wonderful Journal pages, liebe Patty.
    Thank you so much for joining us at MOO-MANIA & MORE

    Like

  9. Lovely delicate work as always, Patty.
    I like the cups and all the blue and gold.
    And I loved seeing your art journal with all the tantalising pages closed, and your circles stamp.

    Like

  10. Pretty, I love lavender because it reminds me of where we holiday every year (Provence) and the china is simply delightful 🙂

    Sally

    Like

  11. Why is it indeed? I LOVE those cups.

    Like

  12. Loveliness and simplicity on these pages: beautiful simplicity, which is indeed always so much more complicated than we expect it is going to be! I love lavender so much, but I’ve never had the right soil to grow it! I love the way you have fixed it to the page and those pretty china tea-cups. xxx

    Like

  13. Patty it is gorgeous, I just love what you did here, I look at those teacups, and you know in the Netherlands those blue paints are so famous, so your spread just reminded me that once in school we need to paint in that style, just love it 🙂

    Like

  14. What a beautiful spread, those teacups are so pretty! xxx

    Like

  15. Great pages sweet one!

    Like

  16. I have been pondering that question myself lately? No answers yet! Your pages are wonderful – those napkins add the perfect touch.

    Like

  17. It seems funny that living simpler should be so hard, but it is for me, too. I think there are always so many things pulling me in so many directions, that I often don’t have time to ponder how to do this. For me, right now happiness is most important; I think the rest will follow. Happy weekend, Patty!

    Like

  18. How could I forget to tell you how wonderful your page is! The lavender gives it such a romantic touch as does the gold paint on the fancy tea cups!

    Like

  19. It is fun to just focus on moment and enjoy it – it’s that simple! Thank you for letting me enjoy a moment this morning with your pages…I can smell that heather! xo Happy Valentines Day!

    Like

  20. love the lavender bit

    Like

  21. Patty dear , your spread really looks wintery , like a cold evening in the Doctor Zhivago winter ice palace ,where lights makes everything glow . It is beautiful , and the textures fantastic. And yes, simple to live isen`t the most easy thing to do, in this world of ours !!
    Patty I am thinking of you today, and send you love and a warm hug.
    Dorthe xox

    Like

  22. What a gorgeous treat to wake to this morning. Beautiful spread and great use of the latest prompt. Of course, being offline, this was the first I learned about the latest theme. So glad to see this stunning art!

    I suspect you just asked one of the ultimate questions of the century.

    Like

  23. Very beautiful and clever art, dear Patty. Love it. Hugs and happy Valentine’s day xx

    Like

  24. Happy Valentine’s Day my Dear!
    Your pages in blue and white with this nice tea cups look very good and the golden highlights make it very precious. Our breakfast dishes are in blue and white, it looks every time very fresh.
    Big hugs
    Sabine

    Like

  25. Great use of the napkins. And a question I have definitely pondered!
    Rinda

    Like

  26. Oooh I love that lavender page Patty…. such a great textured background!
    You made me laugh with the title…. x

    Like

  27. Lovely pages with very thought provoking questions- Susi said it right- now, how to simplify? Will we ever learn?
    sending love to you! xo

    Like

  28. Simplify – make do, do without….all good, but oh so hard to implement into our lives! Beautiful art Patty, as always.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

