let go gracefully…

how pages come together is always a bit of a surprise for me since I hardly ever plan ahead when working in my art journals…

black n white supplies

often words or an image will spark my imagination and then the rest begins to unfold from ingredients I have on hand…

lovely lady crochet bit at the bottom

I have a little update on using the faux resin papers I shared with you recently (there is a ‘how to’ video link in that post)…

faux resin paperI think that using gel medium rather than glue stick might be a more secure way of attaching the papers unless you would like to stitch them which always adds lovely interest too…

postage stamp ID

does anyone know the nationality of this postage stamp?  the color and medieval look of it seemed perfect for my pages 

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz trust and let go gracefully

which fit the theme for Art Journal Journey’s BIRDS BEASTS & HUMANS  

34 responses to “let go gracefully…

  1. Beautiful pages, thanks for joining us again at Art Journal Journey. It looks like the stamp is from Bulgaria. Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Lovely pages. The lettering looks Greek but the CT 1 doesn’t.

    Like

  3. Patty, it is an amazing spread, love all the details!

    Like

  4. Beautiful pages–I like the added doilies! Yes, the stamp is from Bulgaria.

    Like

  5. Gorgeous pages, I love the gold and the textures. Your photos in the previous post are beautiful. Snow is pretty but it’s been so cold this year. take good care, Shirleyxx ps thanks for your kind words at my blog 🙂

    Like

  6. froebelsternchen

    Amazing spread Patty- a wonderful surprise … love to read your text too!
    Thank you for another fab contribution to Art Journal Journey Patty!…
    And now you already know that the postage stamp is from Bulgaria… yepp .. I didn’t know this —
    Susi

    Like

  7. It is indeed a wonderful page (pages) Thank you ever so much for sharing. I learn a lot while looking at your site !,,

    Kind regards
    Mariane

    Like

  8. Love this spread and the quote fits perfect Patty!
    thank you for the update about the gel medium! xoxo

    Like

  9. Wonderful pages, Patty! Love the fantastic textures and all elements on them. And… love love your style.
    Mar x

    Like

  10. it seems we are both on the path of surrender… great minds and all that!! xoxo

    Like

  11. Beautiful pages of golden times, , all looking wonderful,- created on the handmade papers, giving so much texture . The stamp of leaves , frames this so lovely, and your image and golden touch ,the sweetest lace heart, all, makes these pages, like a religious icon. They are stunning dear Patty .
    Hope your day is lovely !! Dorthe, xoxo

    Like

  12. Lovely pages…interesting stamp. Glad some of your followers knew its origin.

    Like

  13. What a lovely postage stamp and how interesting to know that it comes from Bulgaria. Both these pages are beautiful and I love the way they capture a kind of springtime mood. I love using gel medium for so many things so I will give this a try with book pages. Thank you for sharing your lovely art and such a beautiful message. xxx

    Like

  14. You created very nice middle age pages, everything perfect together on it. The stamp motif is so nice and the lace fragment makes it perfect. I love it very much.
    Hugs and kisses
    Sabine

    Like

  15. I create the same way. I might start with an intention but then my hands seem to follow whatever my heart is telling them to do with the materials at hand..

    Like

  16. I wonder how you have the ingredients to make these delicate art pieces. An unusual stamp appears and a pretty paper, the face of a beautiful lady and resin paper, and then the fascinating result.

    Like

  17. Really wonderful designed pages, gorgeous how you composed all the details, I love the frames with leaves too.
    I wish you a happy weekend,
    big hugs Anja

    Like

  18. Very sophisticated and beautiful spread. Love your style so much, Patty.
    Hugs xx

    Like

  19. sparkledaysstudio

    Just gorgeous. Your intuititve sense is beautiful. xox

    Like

  20. This is a powerfull & graceful piece…those words dont always work together but they do here…your love always shines through.xo

    Like

  21. Beautiful pages, Patty. I never would have guessed that stamp was from Bavaria — my bet would have been Greece! There is such power of faith in this spread and such calm with the colors. I’m curious — you prefer gel medium to matte medium? And also, which gel — regular, heavy, light… Thanks!

    Like

  22. really beautiful pages. I love the subtle colors and beauty of all the elements. It has such a nice flow. Glad someone knew the language on that postage stamp-very interesting, as I collect them to use in my art too:)

    Like

  23. Thank you all. I was very happy that Valerie could identify that Bulgarian stamp Jeanie. I do use liquid matte medium at times but most often prefer working with a thicker medium. If you enlarge the black and white photo you can see a brand that I am liking just now. From what I know matte medium is just a type of gel medium and I mainly use them for adhering things to surfaces but their uses go way beyond that. Golden Paints has a link: http://www.goldenpaints.com/products/medsadds/gels/gels.php where you can click on each kind of medium and get a nice description. Hope that helps answer your questions.

    oxo ~*~ Patty Magpie’s Nest Blog “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” -Ferris Bueller

    Like

  24. Your pages are beautiful, what a gorgeous colour palette – and I love the little crocheted motif too. I’m off to investigate faux resin papers now! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving such kind comments – I very much appreciate it.

    Like

  25. What a fabulous spread! xxx

    Like

  26. Patty, apologies for my absence. So lovely to be able to view this post with that exquisite spread which conjures up times past so beautifully. I love the border and your fabulous faux resin papers and doesn’t that stamp suit the style of your spread so perfectly.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  27. What a beautiful page, A real Russian icon feel to this!

    Sally

    Like

  28. How did I miss this beauty? It is lovely, and reminds me a bit of the art I am trying to create at the moment. However, yours is much better than mine. I love what you have done on this spread. You were SO clever to cut up that crocheted piece, too.

    Like

  29. Beautiful!!! Hope all is well with you…have a beautiful weekend!!

    Like

  30. Gorgeous page! I’m like you…I rarely have a plan…I just do and most times it works out. 🙂

    Like

  31. Such a gorgeous and lovely spread. You alway inspire me to try new things and to experiment, your artwork casts a spell 🙂

    Like

  32. This is really beautiful Patty.

    Like

  33. So pretty. I get behind in commenting when I’m away from my computer because it’s the easiest to use to leave comments…. but I do often look at your blog when I’m out of town… I just don’t leave a comment. So now I’m catching up!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

