Frozen T …

Magpie's Nest coated in ice 2 March 2015

a mixed weather event for the beginning of March here in the Washington, DC area made for some nice photo opportunities…

Magpie's Nest icy glow

our snow layer glazed over after some freezing rain…

Magpie's Nest iced Lavender

the Lavender turned into “crystal”…

Magpie's Nest fallen ice from trees

when ice covered branches began thawing in the sunlight I was delighted to notice some ice shards that had fallen creating interesting spikes in the snow…

Magpie's Nest Mourning Doves and Mockingbirds

Mr Magpie is getting lots of use out of his Yaktrax this winter which work like a charm to help ensure safe footing  (my photos were taken from our front and back porch and with the help of our zoom lens we have a closer look at the Mourning Doves and resident Mockingbird)…

Magpie's Nest tea pot and cup

hot drinks really hit the spot…

Magpie's Nest You might as well dance

here’s wishing you a very happy T day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Book Lover...

32 responses to “Frozen T …

  1. Fantastic photos, thanks so much for sharing. Love the icy plants and spikes, and your birds are soooo pretty! Alles Liebe Patty, Valerie

    Like

  2. Loved seeing these gorgeous icy photos! I think this is what is in store for us next, starting tonight, and continuing through Thursday morning. Stay safe and warm!

    Like

  3. Your photos of the ice are so beautiful Patty. Although what melted in the afternoon yesterday froze overnight it doesn’t look pretty like what you have captured. I do love hearing and seeing the birds as they are now singing songs of Spring so it can’t be too far behind:) We’re expecting snow and sleet etc. beginning this afternoon into the evening so I’ll be staying in and hopefully tackling some art for my online class. Happy T day to you and stay safe and warm.

    Like

  4. I could barely believe those ice shards. I thought it was a field of grass at first. All your photos are lovely, but so cold. I think your ice and snow looks so much worse than mine. But all the photos are definitely magazine worthy.

    Mr. M’s shoes look serious. I’ve never seen anything like them, so of course, had to click on the link.

    Hope your weather improves. We are supposed to get cold again later today, then go sub freezing for the next two days, after which it is SUPPOSED to warm and melt the snow.

    I LOVE that one person tea pot and cup. It is beautiful and just my color (grin). Thanks for sharing it and your snow and ice photos, including the birds, with us for T this Tuesday, dear.

    Like

  5. WOW— AMAZING photos Patty– it’s also very cold here but not so much frozen as in your part of the globe… keep warm!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  6. The glaze is beautiful if you can stay indoors…. good thing Mr Magpie has some excellent footwear. Amazing photos!!
    Happy T day!!

    Like

  7. Your photos are awesome Patty, thanks for sharing them with us!

    Like

  8. great photos, scary weather…xoxo we are getting blizzardish today

    Like

  9. Just like in a dream,- fairy land , or Gods amazing nature. How stunning they are ,your photoes , my dear Patty.
    Warming hug from Dorthe

    Like

  10. Just beautiful Patty , beautiful ! Seems we have more snow than you, I still can’t see the top of the bird bath thats how deep it is and can’t even get to it. Cooper and I just stand and look out to the frozen tundra hahaha , more bad weather as I type this too !

    Like

  11. What a magical world you create with your camera……but I KNOW it is cold!! I LOVE the quote in the last one….so true!
    Have a great week and thanks for the T-day visit.

    Like

  12. I love the blue with your beautiful snow and ice. Glorious! And cozy within!

    Like

  13. It certainly is beautiful…but far too cold for me. your bottle tree is a constant amazement.

    Like

  14. Our snow and rain is expected this evening- it’s coming up from your way!! Just the same, you could keep it if you’d like! “) teehee
    Lovely photos Patty, be safe! xoxo

    Like

  15. twinkletoes2day

    What glorious photos you got 🙂 My favourite is the lavender 😀 I do like your blue bottle tree, is it a whimsy or do they serve a purpose? Happy T Day 😀 xo

    Like

  16. Great pictures, even our deer on our back patio have bits of ice on their ears and backs as the are snarfing up the bird seed

    Like

  17. fabulous icy photos..the wind is very cold here but its quite spring like

    Like

  18. The ice does look pretty, I’ll grant you. Great pictures!

    Like

  19. sparkledaysstudio

    Frozen everything here still and more snow on the way. But, I dare not say it, a warm up trend for a whole week next week, please? xox

    Like

  20. Beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever seen ice like that.

    Like

  21. Your frozen photos are so nice Patty.Rain and frost are very dangerous together, but also create a frosty wonderland. Your bird photos are very lovely too. You have very interesting birds in your garden. What kind of birds are they? Is one a kind of dove?
    Dearest greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  22. What lovely views of the snow and ice! I expect though that you have seen enough so I hope it warms up for you soon! Happy t day! Chrisx

    Like

  23. never heard of Yaktrax, but they look perfect for this weather! Yes, the snow and ice are really pretty to look at…just not if you have to drive in it! 🙂
    you have a wonderfully refreshing and positive perspective, and I so appreciate the way you share it with us! gorgeous photos, and love the birds!

    Like

  24. Absolutely stunning photography, Patty. I am in awe of every image. The natural world sculpts so imaginatively with incredible and beautiful results. As I said on Facebook such beauty is essentially fleeting; but you have captured these treasures before they melt away. Thank you for sharing with us. I was feeling low this morning and your exquisite images have lifted me up! xxx

    Like

  25. Your images are stunning! But I have to say I prefer our 80 degree weather and sunshine!

    Like

  26. Love al the icy photos, wish we had some icicles.
    I’m not sure about your advice in the last photo, haha!, maybe I won’t try it.
    Your bird mosaic is lovely, the lavender plant is fabulous and if it would stay that way, what a great garden sculpture it would be, although you’ve already got on in the bottle blues.

    Like

  27. Wow!beautiful photos. Winter looks fabulous through your lens

    Like

  28. Happy Belated Tea Day this… Busy busy busy packing and such so i’m late, i’m late, i’m late!!! Gorgeous photos!! Hugs! deb

    Like

  29. Beautiful and cold! I love pictures of snow!!! My favorite subject matter, I think……. well….. along with skies and birds…… hmmmm….

    Like

  30. I’m late, I’m, late. I doubt you have thawed out though. Beautiful photos, great quote to go with them.

    Darla

    Like

  31. a feast for the eyes, dear patty!! aren´t These sun-glittering ice crystals more beautiful than any Diamonds? thanks for sharing all those beauties!

    Like

  32. Wow gorgeous photographs, the ice is so beautiful 🙂 I hope you are doing well. We are going to finally experience above freezing tempatures this week… can’t wait 🙂

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

