safe journey she whispered …

Lisa's photoat a recent monthly meeting of art friends we were playing with layers using papers… paint… gesso… water soluble crayons and more (thanks to Lisa for snapping the above photo of my papers)…

Magpie's Nest background papers

I cut one of the water color papers into postcard size for a loose leaf art journal I have been working on for awhile now…

Magpie's Nest work in progress

not a lot of step by step mainly because I was getting my hands full of paint and gel medium…

Magpie's Nest closeup wing

the lovely “mystery” lady surfaced while digging through printed images (I have so many images!) and the wing is from Wendy Vecchi Studio 490

Magpie's Nest gold flakes

I decided to add a cloud like border at the bottom dipping into my forgotten jar of gold flake which adds a bit of shimmer not captured by the camera looking lighter and better in person…

Magpie's words or no words

I am still undecided… with words or without … What do you think?

Magpie's Nest no words

my guardian angel fits two challenges this month… Art Journal Journey “Things With Wings” and Mix it monthly “Angel/Saints”

32 responses to “safe journey she whispered …

  1. Wonderful project, love your angelic lady, and her noble cloud, just great! I like it without words, but on the other hand, the words are sooooo beautiful! Thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey. Alles Liebe Patty! Valerie

    Like

  2. froebelsternchen

    AMAZING project Patty! I like it more with words…
    Thank you for joining us at Art Journal Journey!
    Have a great weekend my friend !
    xoxoxo
    Susi
    hab ein schönes Wochenende liebe Patty!

    Like

  3. i´m a gal with words, whenever i find some…
    it Looks beautiful anyway. have a great Weekend, patty!

    Like

  4. A very beautiful page with wonderful textures

    Thank you for joining us
    Love Chrissie AJJ guest hostess xx

    Like

  5. I adore your heavenly beautiful lady angel artwork. The gorgeous textures are so lovely. I love both versions but artjournal of course is better with text, I think.
    Have a great time, Patty,
    Hugs xx

    Like

  6. With or without words Patty…it is just beautiful.

    Like

  7. Wonderful textures and the Lady is so sweet – loveley!

    Like

  8. So special, magic and enlightened your sweet angel, Patty!! She is an angel AND a saint…the more the better for sure 😉 I mean look at her wings, they look sooooo!…AND I love all the golden pattern and the micafabric with its dimensional effect!!! I have to say: love her as she is ♥ Conny Mix It Monthly

    Like

  9. So lovely. The wings fit her perfectly!! I’m a words girl but it looks complete either way. I’m sure that was immensely helpful. 😉

    Like

  10. From first to last, your photos are, each of them divine, the delicate colours and gold – gold mica flake! – I didn’t know such a thing existed.
    Love the first two photos of papers, so delicately coloured, and your mysterious angel lady who appeared at just the right time.
    Love the border at the right and bottom.
    And the gold moon and the triangle lace top left.
    Words or no words? maybe in this case no words?

    Like

  11. Love it Patty (and no I dont mind at all!!) I love the words – it is so perfectly suited to the piece. Nicely layed out. I’ve been playing with mine too…coming soon to a blog near by! 🙂

    Like

  12. this is so beautiful, especially with the touches of shimmering gold which I can just imagine. Love your papers too. I just purchased a few gelatos but haven’t done anything with them yet. You know how I love quotes and all so I think the addition of the words suits your page perfectly!

    Like

  13. I’m sadly behind in my blog reading so have missed commenting on a few of your posts – so sorry! My vote is pro-text for this one.

    Like

  14. Lovely! I’m still trying to get the hang of water color crayons. I think I”ll search a few internet tutorials.
    Rinda

    Like

  15. This is beautiful, and I really like the step-out pictures you managed to get. I know the feeling of paint and ink, and my camera is already painted a bit.

    I just realized I have some of that mica flake. I’ve never used it. I got it at a garage sale. I like how you used it, so hope to see you use more of it.

    I’m not one for lots of words. If words are part of a challenge, I use them. Otherwise, I prefer to allow the reader to interpret the page as she or he so chooses.

    Like

  16. So beautiful without words for me !

    Like

  17. A really beautiful piece of work! I love the words. The wing looks amazing too. I just wish I could see this in the real world rather than in photos, but even so it’s lifted me up – as your art always does, Patty! It is magnificent! xx

    Like

  18. Wow gorgeous page, love the gold guilding and the layers underneath. I also enjoy using water crayons, you’ve inspired me to get them back out. Have a wonderful weekend, Shirleyxx

    Like

  19. I love it with the words, -such comfordable words, dear Patty.
    Such beautiful page, with the angel in all her golden glory, and the crawling greenery on the right side of her. Also a wonderful effect with the white dots on her dress, and around her halo. So great with a stach of papers, already ready, to play with and on, I love the green blue tones here.
    I hope your weekend is lovely, my friend, and sends you Hugs.

    Like

  20. Sometimes silence speaks louder than words! I would love this beautiful angel either way!

    Like

  21. Lovely work, and it’s so much fun to create with friends. I think this one looks great with or without words. Both would fit her.

    Like

  22. You have taken some absolutely wonderful backgrounds and made a gorgeous artwork here Patty. Love the title of this post and think they would be fitting words if you chose to add them.

    Like

  23. So hard to decide- with or without!! All I know for sure is that your golden angel is beautiful as is her page!! xo

    Like

  24. Absolutely magical! I love your winged lady so much and there is no need of words my Dear.
    Have a nice sunday.
    Sabine xox

    Like

  25. Beautiful. Love those wings. I always like words!

    Like

  26. Such a beautiful angel. Your creation certainly stands on its own, but I like the addition of the words.

    Like

  27. She is so beautiful and peaceful!

    Like

  28. Patty your page is so lovely and i love your wonderful angel and the cloud, everything is really creatively made, thanks for your sweet comment on my blog.
    Anni

    Like

  29. …and I love your angel-page too! You always find the suitably material. Ulrike

    Like

  30. This is so beautiful, Patty–just gorgeous1

    Like

  31. Your winged Lady page is so nice with the soft colors and the lovely ornaments at the background and some gold on it. I love it.
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  32. What a beautiful faery angel ~ just lovely!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

