her wings…

another tea cup in my chip board art journal (each cup measures about 4 x 7 inches)…

Magpie's Nest tea cup collage steps

I found that by using a sanding block I can trim off most of the excess paper reducing the amount of scissor and craft knife trimming needed … working around the handle is a bit tricky…

Magpie's Nest two chipboard art journal cups

my intention is to keep these cups rather simple but that said I spent a fair amount of time painting golden stars with a toothpick and resisting the urge to add more collage elements…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz tea cup art journal

it was fun to see what names popped up on the piece of Virginia map I randomly selected for the background (there is even a spot called “Healing Springs”)…

Magpie's Nest chipboard art journal

I am joining Art Journal Journey’s “Things With Wings” challenge with my swan

33 responses to “her wings…

  1. This is totally gorgeous, and I saw a swan today when I went by the lake! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. I love maps and this tea cup is really special.

    Like

  3. So lovely, Patty. Maps are such beautiful things, aren’t they? I love the name Healing Springs too and that swan. xx

    Like

  4. Painting stars with a toothpick – now that’s dedication to your vision! Another beautiful teacup!

    Like

  5. Love how you set the swan down into the water effect. Well done!!

    Like

  6. Beautiful cup Patty!!! I know what you mean about trying to restrain yourself – pretty hard!!! 🙂

    Like

  7. You are doing wonders with those teacups Patty. The swan is beautiful.

    Like

  8. Love your swan-map-cup Patty… what a fab idea for the cup!
    Lovely!
    Happy weekend dear Patty Liebes!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  9. Very beautiful tea cups. I love this idea.

    Chrissie xx

    Like

  10. the Cup with the swan is one of your greatest… LOVE it!

    Like

  11. Hello sweetie Patty, so wonderful, with the swan, and starry sky above ,seems appropriate for a place called Healing Springs, dear.
    Have a beautiful week to come!!!
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  12. Beautiful second cup! The swan looks so happy swimming towards Healing Springs!

    Like

  13. Oh Patty! Another delightful cup! I love that you used the swan(I think one of your signature pieces!) Beautiful my friend! xoxo

    Like

  14. That is a lovely cup of tea !

    Like

  15. Reblogged this on mapsworldwide blog and commented:
    another imaginative use of old maps!

    Like

  16. How interesting project, dear Patty. A great idea to use a map. The beautiful cup and I love the swan.
    Have a wonderful weekend, hugs xx

    Like

  17. Wow this is wonderful

    Like

  18. I really love your cups of tea…especially the one with the swan…thanks for your visit and nice comment – wishing you a lovely and creative weekend

    Like

  19. That’s a fantastic project. Cannot wait to see the forthcoming cups.

    Like

  20. Healing Springs-let’s go there:) I absolutely love this teacup with that beautiful swan!

    Like

  21. I couldn’t believe you made those stars with a TOOTHPICK. That took an incredibly intensive amount of time, I’m sure. So, will these get collages on the back, or only on the front? Inquiring minds want to know.

    Have a safe and fun trip, and I’ll send you a message when you get home. Happy Anniversary, too.

    Like

  22. So lovely Patty! Have a nice wekend to xox

    Like

  23. sparkledaysstudio

    Lovely swan image. Healing Spring, I like that. We had a swan pass away on the river beach. So sad, the female swimming all alone after. I think the male died peacefully though. They are so magestic. Great tea cup ideas. xox

    Like

  24. A really great work your swan at the teacup! Wow.
    Ulrike

    Like

  25. WOW Patty, what a gorgeous idea and realization:a cup of tea with a swan!!I’m fascinated, it looks so interesting, love it very much.
    I wish you a happy weekend,
    warm embrace,
    Anja
    DesignTeam

    Like

  26. Sooo pretty. I love that you are doing these cups!

    Like

  27. this is so special Patty – I just love your teacups and swans gentle but strong in what they hold!

    Like

  28. Ohmygoodness, this is gorgeous Patty! There’s a song from the Dutch band “Golden Earring” called “She flies on strange wings” – your piece reminds me of that. Love it!

    Like

  29. I really love your swan teacup, Patty!

    Like

  30. Beautiful swan teacup. So perfect!! ~Sophia

    Like

  31. This is going to be such a special book – I do love what you are doing,
    Sandy xx

    Like

  32. teacup art journal… what a beautiful idea

    Like

  33. This is a different and original entry for AJJ, love your swan cup and was amused to read that you were painting stars with a toothpick.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

