Second on the 2nd for April …

I am joining Elizabeth of Altered Book Lover again this month to take a second look at a blogpost that I originally shared back in April of 2009…this was one of many wooden ATCs/blocks that I altered around that time…it is fun to see how my photography and format have changed since I began blogging in 2007…

Art Helps Me Breathe

“In art the hand can never execute anything higher than the heart can inspire” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson “

23 responses to “Second on the 2nd for April …

  1. Gorgeousness!! I am so glad that you reshared this! I love it!! And i adore that saying- it is so true!! Brilliant make Patty!!xxoo

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous creation, well worth showing again, especially as I haven’t seen it before! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. Wow, Patty. You are still the queen of layers and layers. Really impressive ATB. I’m jealous (OK, just a little) of that crown stamp you used. I have crowns on the brain recently, so that one caught my attention immediately, as did the one behind the PW gal. This is a beautiful piece and the jewel at the top really crowned it off.

    Thanks for sharing this beauty I had never seen before for your Second look on the 2nd this month.

    Like

  4. The post is new to me, glad you gave it a second outing. I like the idea of a chunky ATC or whatever it is called. I agree with Elizabeth, the jewel on the top sets the whole thing off.

    Darla

    Like

  5. A lovely review for older followers and a wonderful new piece for newer followers ,like me.
    The ATC block is beautiful ,in one of your blue favorite tones, and with the sweet girl, and your wonderful stamping all around – and yes things have happened with your way of posting ,my dear Patty .
    Hugs, Dorthe

    Like

  6. sparkledaysstudio

    Sweet project, nice to have a “second look”. Always those lovely images all round. xox

    Like

  7. A wonderful piece well worth a second look at!
    Happy Easter dear Patty! ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  8. I hadn’t really gotten into blogging in 2008, so this is a new post for me too. It is hard to believe this is an ATC size piece of art. FANTASTIC!!

    Like

  9. This is beautiful, Patty. What a treat to be able to have a chance to see this, as I didn’t begin blogging until April 2013. I love the colours you have used and the text stamped on the leaf too. Have a lovely Easter. xx

    Like

  10. Hello Patty, what a lovely piece and new to me. You are good with color and layers friend. So nice seeing you twice this week, YAY!!
    Happy Spring, Happy Easter and Happy April to you!!

    Like

  11. Quite lovely Patty. You have always had a great eye for good design. Have a Happy Easter.

    Like

  12. Very clever creation Miss Patty! You are very good with unexpected materials. I bought a tin of the expresso beans at TJ’s…won’t be long until they are gone and I’ll have something new to try out. 🙂

    Like

  13. Creating a beauty like this is one of the bonuses of cleaning or organizing our supplies, and I am so glad you chose to show it again! Hope you have a lovely holiday weekend!

    Like

  14. Although I am a more recent blogger I have had the sweet privilege of not only getting to know you through online art groups, but also to have some of your beautiful work-including one of these ATC blocks(from 2009)-which you named Ashling. To this day it sits on a shelf in my art room where I can see it every day. A lovely reminder of the special person I met through the internet. XO

    Like

  15. Lovely to see artwork from 2009. Love the 3D art and the lovely shade of blue – maybe your own special shade of blue.

    Like

  16. Oh Linda how sweet is that. I had to do a search on my blog for Ashling to refresh my memory and here she is: https://bitze.wordpress.com/2009/03/12/paper-whimsy-wooden-chunky-swap/ I did not realize we had that connection too. The internet is indeed a wonderful thing…so happy that we can visit together and share!

    oxo ~*~ Patty Magpie’s Nest Blog “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” -Ferris Bueller

    Like

  17. i remember when These were around … and i think they are very well worth a second look, and a third, and another…;) treasures forever!
    happy easter, patty! xo

    Like

  18. So pretty! I have gesso but still not sure how to use it properly. Will have to do some research. I need to organize my craft supplies so I can do much more than just grab a ball of yarn and crochet. I can’t find a thing around here. 🙂 Best wishes, Tammy

    Like

  19. So glad you shared this. I love to see things repurposed. I may have to make one of these. Thank you so much for the inspiration. Hugs! deb

    Like

  20. Great piece……… and how sweet that someone has it and shared that!

    Like

  21. What a sweet block! I’ve made similar art on hand soap boxes but never on wood. I do the exact same thing in regard to cleaning….good intentions, then totally distracted and the next thing I know I’ve made a glorious creative mess!

    Like

  22. Very nice creation your upcycled box. I love the girl and little pearl button on it,nice color too.
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  23. I love rediscovering old projects. Some I rescue, some I toss and some I just appreciate for what they are. I really love this one and the idea of an ATC block. Been years since I’ve done an ATC!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

