Liberate Your Art 2015 Postcard Swap

Kat Sloma’s Liberate Your Art Postcard Swap celebrated its fifth anniversary this year (you can visit her link above to find out all about it)…

Patty Szymkowicz Tranquility Postcard

this is my first time participating thanks to the encouragement of friends in our local mixed media collaborative group who took part last year … I sent postcards made from a favorite piece of my artwork above …I included a quote from the Dalai Lama XIV “Only the development of compassion and understanding for others can bring us the tranquility and happiness we all seek.”  I also included my address because I think it is fun to know where mail comes from along with Brightest of Blessings and the address to my Magpie’s Nest…I am hoping to find out where my five cards landed…

#1 Fran Podlesney

it was fun watching the mailbox for the first card to appear and what to my surprise it was from one of my mixed media friends from the group I mentioned above (what are the odds that this card would randomly come to me all the way from Oregon when Fran lives so close to me here in Virginia) … Fran wrote on the back of her card “From Virginia, USA. Gelatos, Acrylics, gesso, stencils & Napkin collage.  Always create!”

#2 Dorthy Louis

the next card arrived from Dorothy Louis in Corvallis, Oregon and her card was rubber stamped in individual letters “PEACE   BEAUTY    TRUTH    LOVE“…

#3 Dona Hyll

Dona Hyll wrote “Once you choose hope, anything’s possible.” ~Christopher Reeve  When not at my day job, I find I have a need to be creative?  Here are examples of the tablet weaving I do for a Viking recreation group!  We have our own festival the last weekend in April each year in Ashville, Ohio!”

#4 Yellow Sun Lisa

Yellow Sun Lisa wrote on the back of her Flowers in Gouache card: “Dear Artist: If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.” -Roald Dahl

#5 Kat van Rooyen

Kat van Rooyen’s postcard “Taken in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of Virginia, USA” reads “Let your creativity shine like the sun over the Appalachian Mountains here in this photo.  No one sees the world exactly as you do so express yourself!  Enjoy! Kat ♥

#6 Kat Sloma

and last but not least is a card from the person we all have to thank for such a grand event “Imminent Downfall” by Kat Sloma and on the back it says:  “When you Liberate your Art the world is a better place.  Thank you! Kat”…

many many thanks to everyone that participated and to Kat Sloma who is amazing and generous and so well organized…

I hope there will be a swap next year but until then I am off to join in Kat’s Blog Hop

27 responses to “Liberate Your Art 2015 Postcard Swap

  1. Lovely cards sent and received, glad you had fun. This is the first year I didn’t join in! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. froebelsternchen

    Love your fab postcard and the beautiful pieces you got !
    Happy weekend dear Patty!

    Like

  3. WOWs I want in next year too!!
    How wonderfully fun- thanks so much for sharing your happy mail Patty!!xoxo

    Like

  4. I entertained the idea of joining in this swap and then realized that I was being unrealistic…again…maybe another year! Thanks for sharing what you received in the mail. Such fun!

    Like

  5. I love how you used your beautiful creations to make the card, for this lovely occation, dear Patty, and a good idea to add adress, so you may be lucky to be acquainted, with the recievers.
    I just visited another US friend, whom also showed the cards she recieved in this swap, –yours are great all, but especially I love the one your friend did!
    Happy weekend, dear friend.
    Dorthe-xoxo

    Like

  6. sparkledaysstudio

    Love what you sent. Everyone is having fun with this. xox

    Like

  7. Hi Patty, your card is quite lovely and very YOU. So far I’ve received only four cards, and one is more or less unidentified. I would’ve liked to send a thank you note to that one as I did the others. Only one of mine has been acknowledged. Pity….it would be nice to hear from the recipients, and to know the email address of the senders.

    Like

  8. Hi Patty,

    Glad to see you on the blog hop and thanks for the visit.

    Hopefully, someone will let you know they received your beautiful card. HOpe to see you next year!

    Like

  9. Such a great sample of art, I love all of these creative pieces, a wonderful way of sharing!

    Like

  10. Oh, this sounds such an exciting thing to do. I love your card and the beautiful ones you received. I do hope you will discover who received yours. xx

    Like

  11. So much fun! I’ll have to remember to look for this again next year and maybe play along! I love postcards!!!!

    Like

  12. Beautiful card that you sent..and you got some lovely ones in return!

    Like

  13. This was my third year. I think LYA gets better every year. You sent a beautiful creative card and received some I hadn’t seen before. So much fun to see the variety.

    Like

  14. Love your card, very beautiful 🙂 Hope you find all of your cards 🙂

    Like

  15. From the looks of things, you got some lovely cards. Of course, the joy of first receiving them is priceless, too.

    Like

  16. Where are my manners? I think they went to bed before me. The card you made is superb. I adore the colors you chose, and the quote, too.

    Like

  17. Beautiful art and wonderful quotes from everyone, what a lovely idea for a swap. Very inspirational!
    Have a great weekend Patty xxx

    Like

  18. This looks like it was a lot of fun – not only the art creations, but the quotes too. I do have a ‘thing’ for quotes as you know!

    Like

  19. oucatladymjf26

    Hello! Hopping by, enjoying everyone’s beautiful work, and their collections as well. Also trying to see where mine landed–this was my 1st year.Though I signed them with my name, I neglected to include my email–Live and learn! Looking forward to next time, Keep up the amazing, lovely work!

    Like

  20. You received some great ones!

    Like

  21. Lovely cards! And the one you sent out is gorgeous!

    Like

  22. interesting post! and i love the one you decided to print as a postcard.

    Like

  23. You received some beautiful postcards and your’s is wonderful! Just looking at it brings a stillness and peace!

    Like

  24. This is great! You are SOOOO good at staying connected. I can always count on you to know what’s going on in mixed media, etc. I really need to do a swap…… but I’m feeling so unable to commit right now…. hopefully soon that phase will pass. Hugs! Happy Monday!

    Like

  25. Fun to see the cards you sent and received! This was my first year too and I’m hoping to participate again, it was so cool. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

  26. What a lovely idea.
    Your own postcard is exquisite, so much subtlety and a lovely design.

    Like

  27. Wonderful cards Patty — the one you made is really gorgeous! But that comes as no surprise!!
    Sandy xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

