the sea lives…

more sea pages for my art journal using bits I had leftover from creating my friend’s mermaid pages with inspiration from a stamped mermaid tail  (some Glossy Accents gave it a wet look)…

Patty Szymkowicz the sea tail

I layered torn strips of turquoise tissue paper with shimmery dots embedded in it on top of my painted book pages (the camera doesn’t want to show those)…

Patty Szymkowicz Seahourse Rhapsody

tearing bits of peeled decorative napkin which included a couple of happy seahorses…

Patty Szymkowicz mermaid rhapsody

and a mermaid that did not want to be left out…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz the sea lives

joining Mix it Monthly’s “A Happy Couple” challenge along with Art Journal Journey’s “The Sea” (my other contributions for AJJ are #125 & 133)..

“The sea lives in every one of us.” -Wyland

30 responses to “the sea lives…

  1. Really gorgeous indeed!

    Like

  2. WOW! Yet another beauty! Complete with face and words. *wink*

    Like

  3. This is beautiful, love all the details and the great quote! Have a lovely day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  4. Boah.. this is breathtaking- a wonderful sea related spread dear Patty! I am thrilled about it !
    Fabulous with all this stunning details!
    Thank you so much for a third fab entry to the sea theme over at Art Journal Journey!
    Happy Day liebe Patty!
    Thank you for your lovely comments on my blog recently!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  5. Great page Patty, so nice your mermaid and the sea horses. The emerging big fish at the left side is perfect to it. I can imagine the shimmer and shine you gave to it and which the camera can’t show us.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  6. Oh Patty! Your journal pages are fantastic and oh so very beautiful. I only wish you had a how to video on how you did this. The mermaid tail is a stamp!?! I have to go back and study this again!!! LOVE these journal pages!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  7. Gorgeous pages! I have the same napkins! You did a terrific job incorporating them into your scene.

    Like

  8. Oh Patty, again you created a beautiful, and gorgeous underwater environment, I love the layers and texture, and those napkins are so wonderful, The colours you mixed for creating the plants are fantastic. I love this spread,
    Hugs,
    Dorthe, xx

    Like

  9. Beautiful. Do love those sea horses. The water pages speak to me right now!!! ha!

    Like

  10. What beautiful pages. I love sea horses and your use of blue is always absolutely breath-taking, Patty. The tissue looks so pretty and mermaids – how I used to wander along the beach, longing to see one when i was a little girl! xx

    Like

  11. Adding the music makes me think of the mythical Lorelei that were said to lure sailors to their death. They were said to be very beautiful, rather like your mermaid.

    Like

  12. I agree with Sandy, I would love to watch you make your art, although I do appreciate your detailed photographs and process steps. I’m also fascinated by the materials you use (have I said this before).
    This is such a beautiful sea and the mermaid looks very modern.
    I like all the pretty sea plants and sea ferns, and the mermaid’s song.
    I hope that big fish is moving upwards and away – or maybe he is a very friendly big fish?

    Like

  13. I love this. Reminds of your fairy garden only under the sea.

    Like

  14. Simply wonderful! xxx

    Like

  15. This is another beautiful piece, full of poetry!

    Like

  16. Patty your page is very beautifully made, love the mermaid and the seahorses and the quote fits perfect to the life in the sea.
    Anni

    Like

  17. Love this latest sea themed page!

    Like

  18. kampysgirl

    I do believe I love this journal the best!! xoxo

    Like

  19. Fantastic page! So wonderful details! I love it!

    Like

  20. She is so beautiyful and I adore her hair….looks like she is having dreads, hihi….but the tail on the left side is so eyecatching…lucky marmaid who owns it 😉 Such a wonderful scene youe have created here! Can I come to visit 😉

    Like

  21. Don’t you get mad when you have a wonderful paper or metallic or pearly paint/ink or something just amazingly beautiful and it doesn’t show up in the photos? I can only imagine it is wonderful because what I see is simply exquisite and how could the dots be anything but?

    Like

  22. Your backgrounds and images are always amazing. Especially the left page with the big fishtail. *-* Happy weekend dear Patty.

    Like

  23. Wow, that’s a breathtaking creation – fantastic details.

    Like

  24. I’m late getting here and all the good adjectives that describe the beauty of this piece have already been used. So all I can say is, I want to be an artist like you when I grow up!!!!!

    Like

  25. Oh dear Patty this is breathtaking-so magical, and it positively shows a love for the sea!

    Like

  26. Can you believe it…. I worked on a page with a seahorse on it today! Our minds connected again someplace above the ocean, don’t you think? I wave my mermaid tail and send salty kisses your way dear one, enjoy the weekend!

    Like

  27. Such a lovely and inspiring spread, Patty. The little mermaid belongs to it! 🙂
    Have a happy Sunday!

    Like

  28. oh, These napkins always hide treasure pics! awesome spread again!!

    Like

  29. The neckline with the fish-tail looks absolutly great – a wonderful background with great structures! Wow! Ulrike

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

