Second on the 2nd for July … Swans

altered books have fascinated me since early in 2000 and I have always admired swans…

Grab button for Second on the 2nd

today I am revisiting a post from July 2008 and joining with Elizabeth’s second look on the 2nd of the month … here goes:

Swan * Schwan * Cygne * Cisne * Labed

 “For his heart was in his work, and the heart giveth grace unto every Art.” ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

28 responses to “Second on the 2nd for July … Swans

  1. Your swan spread is very pretty, love the various images you used, and the colours. Have a nice day, Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. I’m fairly certain I have not seen this post, but I have known your love of and fascination with swans since I’ve “known” you. This is a beautiful entry from the past, and your art is just as great and passionate as it was in 2008, I especially like the Paper Whimsey girl with her butterfly wings. And of course, the SWANS.

    Thanks for sharing this post you brought back to life for us to share as a second look on the 2nd.

    Like

  3. Think I remember this. Lovely to see it again xx

    Like

  4. Such a pretty spread Patty! You always made wonderful art Patty !
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  5. What a beautiful post….I love all birds so it was really lovely to read.
    Hugs,
    Annie x

    Like

  6. Christie Juhasz

    Gorgeous! I am so glad you are revisiting some of your posts. I missed so much loveliness. Someday, when I have time, I will have to go back through from the beginning of your posts. In the meantime, I will thoroughly enjoy your re-posts. Thanks for all the info about swans – fascinating!

    Like

  7. i totally can relate to your fascination of swans and i have enjoyed so many pieces about them over time… this is a gorgeous spread well worth being revisited!

    Like

  8. Oh Patty! I am so wrapped in the beauty of this post! You have such amazing talent! If I was at home I would be looking through your blog right now but I am heading to the land of little or no connection (our caravan ) ! The most incredible thing has just happened – Swan Lake on our car radio – just as I was about to sign off! Big hugs my friend, have a lovely weekend, Chrisx

    Like

  9. Lots of fascinating details about swans and such original and lovely pages in your book. The girl’s orange and red wings provide a good contrast to the deep blues. What a good idea to bring back this post from bitze history, I enjoyed it.

    Like

  10. Wow, Patty, so happy to chose this to post today. We used to have a pair of swans on our lake, but they seemed to have moved off–I miss them! Your spread (as I am sure the whole book) is gorgeous!

    Like

  11. Since I’m only a new follower this was totally new to me and I love it! Those butterfly wings on the adorable girl are fantastic. You inspire me to do more collage work ♥

    Like

  12. This is one of the most amazing pages you made, and I thank you for this 2nd look from the past! Maybe it’s the swan theme, or the feathers than makes it so striking. I take a bow 🙂

    Like

  13. A beautiful spread and a lovely post. So interesting to read all your swan lore. These most graceful of birds have something so magical about them, which you have captured in your art work. I was not craft blogging in 2008, so it’s wonderful to be able to catch up with this post. Thank you once again Patty for a wonderful blog post. xxx

    Like

  14. Fascinating, magical spread, Patty. Love all beautiful details you so creatively designed for it.
    Wish you an inspiring July, my dear friend xxx

    Like

  15. I love the choices you make Patty..all those exquisite ‘bits’….and I’d recognise your ‘blues’ anywhere.

    Like

  16. Swans are such majestic birds – we actually have a pair of trumpeter swans nesting not too far away from here, but they don’t encourage anyone to go near for fear of disturbing them.

    Like

  17. Oh Patty swans are so majestic animals and look so decorative. I like your pages with the swans and with the nice feathers. Good work!
    Dearest greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  18. Robyn Oliver

    How nice to read about the swan, Patty…they are so regal and graceful obviously been around for a long time, AND a lovely journal page too

    Like

  19. sparkledaysstudio

    Your style has been firmly in place all these years but evolved certainly. That wing image is amazing. xox

    Like

  20. So many interesting facts of which there were some I did not know- and accompagnied by your so beautiful swann spread, dear Patty so gorgeous with the feathers on your background !! I too love to watch the swanns keeping close to the coasts here on the island, they are truly so beautiful, and magic !!
    Dorthe, xoxoxo

    Like

  21. Great post and new to me so thanks for bringing it back. The art is beautiful, the information interesting. We don’t have so many swans here in Northern CA. I really enjoyed reading about how they are viewed in other cultures.

    Darla

    Like

  22. Just lovely!!! We saw a swan today, as we drove through the Lake District, one of my favourite places here in the UK.
    Alison xxx

    Like

  23. That’s a beautiful second look.

    Like

  24. A gorgeous post, liebe Patty.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Like

  25. kampysgirl

    Just Glorious! Patty, I am amazed every time!! Thank you for all of the interesting bits about swans,I love to learn! Such a beautiful spread!
    I love arches also and used to belong to a group that made them as well!!
    Happy 4th!,my sweet friend!xoxo

    Like

  26. Wow!! Gorgeous pages!! I don’t remember seeing them the first time so I’m so glad you reposted them. I love watching swans, they are so beautiful and graceful 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  27. Stunning piece, my friend!!

    Like

  28. Well, you know how much I admire your work and this one is no exception. The swans are a wonderful subject; the chosen elements fit so perfectly with your theme!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

