He wrote me a letter…

it is fun when the right ingredient presents itself and that is what happened on the left side of my gesso journal with the piece of plastered fancy netting that I just happened to have on my work table

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz He Wrote Me a Letter journal pages (1)

I also got to use some torn map which is always a favorite ingredient of mine (no more map collecting for me now … how many maps can one person have!)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz He Wrote Me a Letter journal pages (2)

in all my clearing and cleaning out I have been able to pull my postage stamp collection together and just in time for this month’s Art Journal Journey Post & Postage challenge….

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz He Wrote Me a Letter journal pages (3)

for the right hand page of this spread I used a copy of one of the love letters I shared with you here last year along with a magazine image of muscari/grape hyacinth in a clay pot 

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz He Wrote Me a Letter journal pages

 one of a set of four cancellation rubber stamps by Inkadinkado was the final touch…

Magpie's Nest garden squirrel CREATE

speaking of rubber stamps I weakened a bit in the midst of my clearing out and placed an order for a handful of Seth Apter’s wonderful new Impression Obsession, Inc. rubber stamps … if you haven’t seen them already there is a nice sampler and link that can be found on his “The Altered Page” blog here … 

Magpie's Nest Angel Food Real Whipped Cream and BerriesMagpie's Nest Angel Food Real Whipped Cream and Berries

thank you for all the kind wishes for our son’s birthday … to answer the questions about his cake: it was  a Trader Joe’s angel food that I sliced and layered with homemade whipped cream (YUM!!!) and fresh berries … now he is off camping by the Atlantic Ocean for a week ~♥~

26 responses to “He wrote me a letter…

  1. Wonderful journal pages with so many beautiful details to see. Love the lace and netting!Thanks so much for joining us again at Art Journal Journey. Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. Great spread!!! Love all of the little details ♥

    Like

  3. That lace is so beautiful, rich in texture and works to perfection, set against the old map. The words touch my heart.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  4. Beautiful, Patty, as always!

    Like

  5. Great pages dear Patty! So nice the old love letter and the beautiful lace on it. Again a dreamlike composition you made. I love it so much.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  6. I miss the grape hyacinths in our garden so it was nice to see your picture. They’re one of the special things about spring I think.

    Like

  7. I love that fancy netting, Patty – how beautiful and intricate it is. I also love this spread with the maps and the postage details and that gorgeous pot of grape hyacinth. This is a real feast for the eyes. xxx

    Like

  8. Thanks Patty. Cannot wait to see how you use the stamps on your beautiful pages.

    Like

  9. Love the lace you used on this page. Makes it much more feminine and romantic. And I love how you used the map too. Very very pretty.

    Like

  10. What a wonderful spread dear Patty! I love how fantastic you brought all the elements together! Masterly!
    A big big Thank You for sharing it with us at Art Journal Journey!
    A wonderful weekend to you and Mr. Magpie!
    xxx
    Susi

    Like

  11. a wonderful spread again… oh, the love of maps, i can sing this song, too!
    and you are tempting me… i looked up seth´s rubber stamps,…

    have a beautiful Weekend, patty!

    Like

  12. OMGosh!! You are too funny Patty!! I was just thinking, I love those new stamps, but I am really trying to destash!! heehee
    What a beautiful spread- love the picture of hyacinths-so vivid you can almost smell them! So glad you have had such a nice visit from your son- means the world, does it not?! much love xo

    Like

  13. Beautiful page. It seems as if everyone is trying to pare down on the stuff we’ve collected. I fear its only temporary…once I reveal more space I’ll feel inclined to fill it up.

    Like

  14. How fun that you just happen to have that beautiful plaster netting on your work table! It certainly contributes to the beautiful mood on your page. Ah yes, I keep telling myself to use what I have, don’t buy/collect anything more, but…..little things keep slipping in here and there!

    Like

  15. Beautiful page, Patty, that evokes memories of letters and poem written and received! I saw Seth Apter’s cool new stamps…trying to be good….but I am weakening!

    Like

  16. Beautiful pages Patty!! Love your work 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  17. Again quite wonderful and affectionately created journal postage pages, Patty! You always put together all elements so harmoniously!
    How sweet is this squirrel! Does it live in your garden?
    Have a nice weekend – Ulrike
    …and so much thanks for your nice comments to my work

    Like

  18. Such a fantastic spread, I love every detail. The cake looks very yummy 🙂

    Like

  19. Hello Patty,
    I was here yesterday and got lost in your link to Seth Apter and his arty stamps, I’m not surprised you had to have them.
    I like reading about your “ingredients”, very nice of them to “come along” and help you to make such beautiful art, I think it might be a bit more effortful than that.
    This is very pretty with your trademark lavender/blues by you and your helpful ingredients.

    Like

  20. You DO have all the right ingredients! I love the maps too — just bought a bunch at a yard sale. And I’ve a trove of postage stamps, too. Love the plastering look on the doilies/lace. Since I fell big time into plastering this summer, I need to try it on fabric. I’m sure if I search your blog I’ll find details! So far, nothing has been immune. Those dollar store frames never looked so good!

    The finished piece is simply beautiful. You make it seem so easy. I’m thinking not so much, but that’s what makes it more special.

    Like

  21. Gorgeous pages and pictures, liebe Patty.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Like

  22. Not sure how I got so very far behind, but I certainly like this spread. That lacy plastered netting is a scene stealer, if you ask me. Of course, so is the letter and flowers. This is a real beauty!

    Like

  23. Hello dear Patty, first of all I’d like to thank you for the lovely words from you. They made me happy.
    Your spread now is one of your best I’ve seen. All is perfect and so, so beautifully created. The blue flowers are a crown of all ✴
    Have a happy summer time, my dear friend♥

    Like

  24. Fabulous page, so beautiful and delicate as always, Patty! Love the wonderful lace, flowers and postage details. Great design!!!
    The cake looks yummy! Mar xxx

    Like

  25. What a fab cake for your dear son’s birthday!
    A beautiful spread too, of course!
    Alison xox

    Like

  26. Such a very romantic spread, dear Patty, with the love letter opened on the table to be read, while the map was searched for the unknown destination , the loved one visited. Love your use of the special netting and that
    wonderful postage stamp.
    I`m doing a cake : torte /lagkage, today for my husbonds birthday today, and Gustav`s ( grandkid) too, it will be with the same ingreediences as yours, only layered between the Danish flat round cake bottoms for birthday cakes 🙂
    Happy to be here again Patty!!
    xoxo

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

