queen bee…

two more pages in one of my gesso journals…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Happy Days 2

using paper doily touched with layers of aqua and bronze paint and white gesso (the bumblebee was a metal pin)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Happy Days 3

I painted some white fabric leaf trim and glued it in place with gel medium which is my favorite adhesive aside from good old glue stick… 

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Happy Days 4

the image of the bohemian looking lady was from a magazine and I am joining Mix-it-Monthly’s continuing theme of Facial Profile Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Happy Days

my pages also qualify for Art Journal Journey’s Post & Postage challenge…

37 responses to “queen bee…

  1. OH so amazing, I love all details; the soft turquoise color (my favorite) and the beautiful lady.
    Big hugs Anja

    Like

  2. Wonderful journal pages, love the soft colours and all the lovely details. Thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey again. Have a great weekend, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  3. Love the soft Aqua – beautiful pages xx Hope you and Jim have a lovely weekend and it stays cooler xx

    Like

  4. Ooh this is lovely Patty.. love the soft colors and she is beautiful… Hope you have a wonderful weekend.. xx

    Like

  5. Patty, this spread is just so beautiful! I love the image of the lady but what is best is those gorgeous colours and the fabulous texture – you are an amazing artist! Hubby recovered well from his extraction(a little bit of huffing and sighing yesterday!!!) Have a great weekend! Chrisx

    Like

  6. Your pages are exquisite – she could be a saint or Madonna on a holy card.

    Like

  7. Your page just makes me sigh–so beautiful! Bee happy & have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  8. You capture the dreamy feel beautifully in your spread. I love the sculptural elements too. Blessings!

    Like

  9. Sigh. That’s it. Just “sigh…”!

    Like

  10. Your page definitely has a dream like quality to it…Love it ♥

    Like

  11. I better start paying more attention to images in magazines and I better stop snooping so much and start creating again. You stimulate my imagination. Currently I have very little light in my little craft room. An electrician is coming Monday to install better lighting. YEAH!
    Did I tell you how much I love your journal page!!!!!
    sandy xx

    Like

  12. Absolut AMAZING liebe Patty… this is so utterly beautiful!
    Thanks a million for so many superb entries to this month’s Art Journal Journey theme!
    I am completely in love with this spread♥♥♥♥♥

    OXO
    Susi

    Like

  13. This is superb, Patty. Love the woman’s expression and all around her♥Lovely spread!
    Have wonderful weekend and ejoy‼

    Like

  14. That’s a wonderful and very romantic spread, great texture.Love the bee.

    Like

  15. Gorgeous; love all of it, the colors, structure, it’s perfect!

    Like

  16. This is so lovely! You always inspire me Patty! xox

    Like

  17. really lovely Patty. Love the image you chose along with how you distressed it a bit.

    Like

  18. I’m staggered by the work that goes into your journals…and the detail. These pages are quite lovely.

    Like

  19. This is another lovely entry in your gesso journal/AB. I don’t see how you find time, because you put SO much into each spread you create. I simply adore this and admire EVERYTHING you make!

    Like

  20. A stunning journal spread, the images and soft colours look beautiful.
    Yvonne

    Like

  21. There is a beautiful quality to her face. Gorgeous touches of the paper doily and th way the leaf trim allows the eye to travel across both pages.
    We bith must have bees on our mind because I have been playing with a relatively new stamp set (Oxford Impressions) called Bee Happy.
    Have a lovely weekend dear Patty
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  22. This Queen Bee page is gorgeous. Your background is so delicate and lacy. How pretty is that!

    Like

  23. Diana Taylor

    Truly beautiful pages – I love the gentleness of them and the subtle colour palette – the image you chose is stunning. Lovely, lovely work.

    Like

  24. simply gorgeous. and that bee pin is so charming!
    always a pleasure to come to your blog. schönes Wochenende, patty!

    Like

  25. The bee looks as though he/she should be a character in a children’s book!

    Like

  26. Gorgeous pages Patty!! Love them. ~Sophia

    Like

  27. Hello Patty, I’m getting really behind and needing to catch up with blogs, as I ‘ve been doing an on line course and I’ve been suffering from headaches lately. Anyway, never mind that, this spread is gorgeous! I love the texture on it and your image of the Bohemian lady is so lovely! Everything about this journaling is a feast for the eyes – the best colours, the perfect details! I love it! xxx

    Like

  28. Very nice scene on your pages. I like the paper lace on it and the edging with leafes. Another dream image!
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  29. Eeeeeek, what an amazing spread! Those colors in the girls scarf and how you incorporate it into your spread! I totally adore your use of doilies! And the amazing golden flowers across the piece! You are a real journalmaster!! Hugs to you ❤

    Like

  30. oh how awesome!!! Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to for the last several months! 🙂

    Like

  31. This is such a calm piece, very soothing.
    I am admiring the way you have made the leaf trim like metal gold.

    Like

  32. I agree…. very calm and soothing pages. Really like that bumble bee!!!

    Like

  33. Really beautiful! I love the colours and detail!

    Like

  34. I love to see another artful, soft colored journalpage made by you.
    The girl with the scarf on the head fits wonderfully here there! Ulrike

    Like

  35. Wonderful! And where ever did you find that bee?!I love it!xo

    Like

  36. Amazing spread, Patty, so calm and peaciful. Love the texture and the blending of the beautiful image. It’s always a pleasure to have a look here 🙂

    Like

  37. Hi Patty! I don’t know how I could’ve missed this post, your page is amazingly beautiful. I love the delicate colors, golden details, textures and the super image. I really love it!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

