the empty nest…

in a previous post I mentioned that wrens had moved in behind the fern in the corner of our covered porch (turns out it was a very smart choice with all of the summer showers we had on and off during their nesting time)…

Magpie's Nest Wrens nested on backporch

during our son’s visit home from Colorado the wrens activity reached a peak and just when I thought I couldn’t take the sweet chirping any longer they moved out without us ever getting a look at the young ones…

Magpie's Nest Nature in our garden

our back porch acted like an echo chamber for Mr and Mrs Wren as they played tag team diligently feeding and cleaning out the nest and chirping all the while (wrens do sing some of the sweetest songs and boy were they busy!!!)…

Magpie's Nest Blue Moon made by Jim

and just like that it all went quiet and they were gone leaving behind their tidy empty nest…

Magpie's Nest Wren's empty nest

our son made the most of his visit getting to meet up with friends and family… attending a music festival on his birthday and camping out at a favorite beach for a week…

Magpie's Nest Colin enjoying the lotus gardens

we were very happy to have a perfect summer day (not too hot with low humidity) to visit the Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens with him as he’d never been before

Magpie's Nest our son the merry prankster

his good sense of humor had us laughing as he posed with my parasol…

Magpie's Nest the empty nest

and just like that his two and a half week visit was over and he flew back to his mountain home in Colorado leaving us with a quiet house again…

Magpie's Nest Jim Szymkowicz T Time

here’s wishing you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover

35 responses to “the empty nest…

  1. Gorgeous vignettes dear Patty! I am so happy you had your son home with you for a bit. I LOVE his sense of humor and how he played with your parasol:) I have never seen a wren’s nest-it is fascinating. I would have been sad not to see the fledglings but that does happen often. We had 2 cat bird nests again but I never got to see the eggs or the babies although I can enjoy the nests:) Happy T day!

    Like

  2. Ma chère Patty, quel ravissement chaque fois que je te visite, quel plaisir de voir ton bonheur en famille, au doux son d’un roitelet, et quelles merveilleuses photos, si délicates.
    Bon été.
    MAPY

    Like

  3. nice to see your happy son… love the loti as always and adore the blue moon!!

    Like

  4. Aww beautiful pics… so glad you had such a wonderful visit with your son… he is so funny….. love that moon… have a wonderful day.. xoxo

    Like

  5. Love your photos. That wren is so sweet, and what a beautiful nest. I can imagine how loud they were, I had a swallows nest the first year I lived here and they were also noisy! Glad your son had such a good time with you, looks like you had fun! Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  6. Beautiful photos and writing! What a perfect start to my day. 🙂

    Like

  7. So glad that you had that wonderful time with your son this summer…memories made, relaxing & making more great memories. As usual, Patty your photos are beautiful…thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. I’m sorry you didn’t get to watch the fledging. I wish honeybees (or even bumblebees) would find me, but the only bees I get are carpenter bees. And the wasps love it here. lol

    Looks like you had all kinds of fun during your visit. Sweet 🙂

    Like

  9. I’m not sure if this post referenced the sweet birds who flew away, or the empty nest you have once again. So good to see Alex. He has certainly changed since I last saw him, possibly two years or so ago when he broke his leg. His antics were fun to watch, and I so enjoyed those photos you shared of him and Mr. Magpie, too. I see Mr. M. is like you and me, always have a camera over our shoulders. That pose is SO true to life of a photography lover and photographer.

    Thanks for sharing all these lovely vignettes with us for T this Tuesday, and I was really thrilled to read that I had drawn your name from the bowl.

    Like

  10. Thank you for your visit and nice comment Elizabeth.
    That is our youngest son Colin in the photos.
    I was also delighted that I was the lucky winner of your ATC.
    Thanks again!!!

    Like

  11. Wonderful photos! I love the nest the wrens left you- beautiful!! My favs though are those of your son- he is a hoot! I love those poses with your parasol!! xoxo

    Like

  12. Oh wow.. so beautiful photographs dear Patty.. awesome!
    It seems you had great days with your son!
    Thank you for sharing all this with us !
    Happy T-Day!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  13. I wonder if the wrens felt the same way when their little ones flew the nest? Bird nests are a work of art in themselves. Sounds like your son’s visit was just perfect, and I smiled at his parasol photos! Happy T Day!

    Like

  14. So many beautiful pictures as always. I particularly like the one with the blue background, hand and pitcher of coneflowers, aluminum tray perhaps and quilt – gorgeous! So glad you had such a great time with your son.

    Like

  15. Your son looks like quite a character, and it’s so true the visits are over too soon! Love the story about the wrens and great pics of the nest…happy T day dear! ♥

    Like

  16. Excellent analogy…and beautifully illustrated with your photos.

    Like

  17. Hello Patty, I always love your mosaics, so full of colour and sensitive art photography.
    A bit sad that you didn’t see the baby birds, but at least you know they got away safely. Our garden is still full of baby birds, I think the sparrows had a happy event yesterday, at least they made a terrific noise and suddenly they were a lot of them.
    Lovely to see your son, Colin, he looks like a lot of fun and happiness, and nice to see him with Mr. M. Some more photos of you would be nice too!

    Sending love from Scotland.

    Like

  18. Ooh what beautiful pictures, and although I think you were lucky to be a host to the Wrens, my word, I think the chirping might have caused me to need to move out!!

    Like

  19. Lots of dreams photos again you made, your garden looks so beautiful and Jim’s blue moon is very nice. The nest is a little artwork and it looks very decorative. Your son is a joker and he looks very sympathetic to me. I can understand that you miss him at home.
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  20. The garden pictures look stunning Patty. Yes! The photo of your son with the parasol does make me giggle-:)
    Hope you have a great week

    Like

  21. Patty,
    Beautiful images from nature. The nest is perfection, such beauty in it and a wonderful close-up of the bee.
    How lovely that you had this day with your son – brilliant photo, love his humour.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  22. How wonderful to have a visit with your son, but sad too, that he had to fly away again. Thank you for the photo of the nest – it’s hard to believe that such tiny little birds could make something so intricate.

    Like

  23. twinkletoes2day

    What a delightful post! 🙂 Your flower images are beautiful and the wee Wrens left such a tidy place, maybe they’d take on my place for a tidy up, lol 😉
    Your boy is such a hoot! 😀 I had a real giggle at him with your parasol. It takes someone with a lot of self confidence to play like that. Good for him! 😀
    Your flower teapot/cup is so pretty Patty! 😀 I have yet to find one that I could not do with out. A teapot is an important tool to me. the tea will not taste right if I’m not keen on the pot. Weird I know 😀
    Many thanks for your lovely comment on Wee Man’s post 🙂 Hug was delivered thank you {{Hugs}} back to you 😀

    Like

  24. Looks like you had a wonderful visit with the offspring 🙂 Your ohotos are beautiful and I love his sense of humor. Happy “T” Day♥

    Like

  25. Happy T Day Patty! Wonderful photos! xox

    Like

  26. My dear Patty, such very wonderful photoes all, The wren so sweet and their nest a beauty ,are you saving it for yourself? I love your garden with the wonderful flowers, and fantatsic “hidden” different lovely and things, like your blue moon. I can teel that your son was much away from your home, but I`m happy you enjoied great days and experiences with him, like the visit to that specktacular garden !! Wonderful to have a son, with the smile and joy in his heart, dear Patty !!
    Hugs and xx from Dorthe

    Like

  27. So many wonderful photos — and best of all your son’s visit! Yay! And I love the beautiful shape of the bird’s nest. How lucky you were to have them just the right amount of time!

    Like

  28. Lucky lucky Patty!! Congratulations on the ATC win girlfriend!! Lovely photos! I’m so glad you shared them this T Tuesday! Hugs! deb

    Like

  29. Well, here I am, finally, making the last of my Tea rounds…..LOL Thank you for visiting my blog for Tea this week.

    How I WISHED all of California was like you fantasy….*grin* Unfortunately, we DON’T live in one of the areas that are featured in vacation brochures. Yesterday it was 108′ around 4 o’clock and I could see the clouds forming over the mountain to the east….headed our way. Today will be partly cloudy and 103′ and the humidity is at 20% For our area that is high humidity.

    LOVE all the beautiful flowers in your post this week, and a very handsome son too. I enjoy the birds in the early mornings, when sitting on the patio having my coffee.

    Is that teapot, cup and saucer really painted like that, or is it digital? I just LOVE it!

    Like

  30. Completely Lovely , Patty. Thank you for taking us on a little tour of your ’empty nest’ and the Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens–Just Beautiful!! XOXO-Shari

    Like

  31. Lovely photos, Patty. It’s good when our children visit us and make our hearts beat fast. Hope you had a great time together!

    Like

  32. Loved this post! Your son is quite the ham for the camera. 😉 Love the blue moon metalwork Mr. Magpie created.
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  33. Gorgeous photos, thanks for sharing, sorry I missed these earlier, I haven’t been getting the email notices from your blog so I will re enter my information. It looks very beautiful where you live. Enjoy, Shirleyxx

    Like

  34. See I am forever late – oh woe is me. I almost missed another one of your wonderful posts!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  35. Gorgeous photos again, the wren is amazing. Looks like a great time with your son.. Have a great weekend xxx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

