sunshine of life…

this past weekend was filled with enjoying nature and especially  flowers which is something I never get tired of…

Magpie's Nest Summer of Sunflowers Burnside Farmson Sunday we visited a pick your own flower farm

Magpie's Nest Burnside Farm Retailand were especially taken with the sunflowers (they planted 25 different varieties that will bloom on and off for about four weeks) …

Magpie's Nest Burnside Farms Welcomewe brought the traveling tea cup along and placed it in front of the beautiful Gladiolus bed…

Magpie's Nest Sunflower field Burnside Farmswhen I zoomed in on one of the rows of sunflowers I could not resist snapping a photo of a little girl enjoying the blooms…

Magpie's Nest Four Honey Bees

Burnside Farms supports pollinator habitats which includes endangered Monarch butterflies…

Burnside Farms supports pollinator habitats

there is something about sunflowers that always makes me smile…

Magpie's Nest Traveling T Cup

speaking of things that put a smile on your face… 

Karla's package

a surprise package from Karla arrived traveling all the way from Brazil…

Gifts from Karla in Brasil

Karla’s thoughtful gifts were a delight to open and I could feel her kindness and friendship from across the miles…

Magpie's Nest Friends Sunflower and Bee

wishing each of you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover…

Magpie's Nest Sunflower Field Tea pot and cup

***in keeping with the spirit of sharing I wanted to direct you to Seth Apter’s celebration of 8 years of blogging and a chance to be a very lucky winner of his generous giveaway here***

41 responses to “sunshine of life…

  1. What a glorious place you visited, thanks for sharing the lovely photos. I love that you always take the tea-cup with you, such a fun idea. We have some fields down by the Rhine with Gladiolas and Sunflowers which you pick yourself, and there is a box to put the money in. Have a lovely day, full of sunshine and flowers an lovely gifts! Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. It’s me again! Thanks for telling me about the plant, I googled it, and that’s it – well done Patty! It’s growing in the wetlands along the river. Thanks again! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. I just love your photography and art work! The sunflowers photos make you want to step into the photos and walk around. Just stunning!! Thank you for sharing. :0)

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh– what an amazing place ist that?! GORGEOUS photos from there Patty – Thanks a lot for sharing and I am happy with you that you got such nice presents from lovely Karla!!!

    Happy T-Day my friend!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  5. Good morning Patty… beautiful… nothing can make me smile like a field of sunflowers… was pointing them all out to the girls on the drive home yesterday… so glad you took pics.. I didn’t stop… one was napping…lol.. much more important for a lovely day…. thank you for the smiles this morning..xoxo

    Like

  6. Oh my, always such a delight to visit your blog! You made me totally happy by seeing your sunflower pics! Especcially the one with the red umbrella, haha!! And in the end sunflowers on your teapot!

    Like

  7. I think nothing can be more romantic than a field of sunflowers and it reminds me of a film I love called I Girasoli with Sophia Loren and Marcello Mastroianni. I don’t know its name in English.It is an old movie.
    There are so many gorgeous places around the world!So many incredible things to be seen!I travel in front of my pc, just contemplating the natural wonders I see every week!
    I am glad you liked gifts but nothing I could ever send you would be enough to express my gratitude to you.Thanks a lot again.Friendship might it be virtual or not is a supreme gift.
    Wishing you an inspiring week!Happy T-Day my friend!

    Like

  8. Aaaah….sunflowers in abundance…even on your teapot….and Mr M (haha) They are the favourite food for cockatoos here. I should plant some!

    Like

  9. I agree, one cannot help but smile when you look at a sunflower! I have managed to grow some mini varieties from seeds, but so far have not had luck with the large, tall variety. I think the growing season here is too short.

    Thank you for your help with the avocado–it’s a good thing I have you and Elizabeth to guide me along! 🙂

    Like

  10. Lovely posting Patty. Your pictures are really beautiful. Sunflowers…one of my favorite summer blooms. They have been very abundant this year. The birds did all the planning in this yard. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  11. What a wonderful post- so full of love and sharing!
    how cool to receive gifts from so far away- Karla is a sweetheart and I love her art as well!
    Patty, what a cool garden to have visited! I love the idea of planting for the pollinators!! This is something I need to check into further as we have so much open land! Thank you for sharing and spreading the inspiration!
    xo and for the email reply!! much investigating to do now! “)

    Like

  12. sparkledaysstudio

    Perfect place to hang out for a whole day and just be. xox

    Like

  13. The picture of you with the sunflower in front of your face is perfect because just like sunflowers, you always make me smile! So glad to hear this is a pollinator habitat. The poor Monarchs need all the help they can get with the loss of habitats they have experienced. I will visit that website and see if I can learn some new things to do in my garden. Thank you.

    Like

  14. Sunflowers are a favorite of mine, so your post hits the spot with me 🙂 Happy T Tuesday!

    Like

  15. What a beautiful field of flowers. I’ve seen pick your own fields for fruits and veggies but never flowers. I certainly would have taken an armful of those sunflowers home with me.

    Darla

    Like

  16. Gosh sunflowers are at the top of my list of favorite flowers… so enjoyed sseeing yours. And glads! I love glads too because you can enjoy them for so long.. Its the bouquet hubs brings me for birthdays and anniversaries… love them AND those two yellow chairs… i remember them from my childhood and i ‘am always on the look out for those type of chairs at yard sales and flea mkts… Happy happy tday! Hugs! deb

    Like

  17. this post is heart warming. sunflowers really put smiles on our faces… and i loved the photo with the sun-umbrella;) and the tea Cup on the old chair. so charming!

    Like

  18. Oh what a fun fun place to visit!!!!!! Sunflowers are my all time favorite flowers. Some great photos ♥

    Like

  19. I can believe that this nice sunflower garden brought sun,fun and smile to you my dear friend. So nice photos again and I looked for the teacup and there it was. So nice all the little things that Karla had give to you. Such surprise packages are ever a reason to rejoice,isn’t?
    Happy August with more those nice events for you.
    Sabine xox

    Like

  20. Such a pretty place. Sunflowers just have to put a smile on your face…no matter what. 🙂

    Like

  21. Your sunflower photos really brightened my day! wonderful little trip…and adore the shot of the sweet little girl! happy T day!

    Like

  22. I’ve seen sunflower farms in Nebraska, but never knew of any that sells sunflowers. SO glad you enjoyed the experience, and another wonderful trip that took you somewhere off the beaten path.

    That traveling tea cup gets around a LOT more than I, so I’m in awe of it, especially sitting near that field of glads. Loved the photo of you, too.

    Thanks for sharing this fun trip, along with Karla’s very thoughtful gift to you, for T this Tuesday. Lovely photos, fun adventure!

    Like

  23. I love sunflowers! Thanks for brightening up my day! They are gorgeous.
    Karla’s card is beautiful. Lucky you.
    The sunflower teapot and cup are really special. Is it real?
    Have a great week and thanks for popping by earlier,
    Lisca

    Like

  24. How interesting! I’ve seen u-pick berry farms and apple orchards before, but never a u-pick flower farm. I like that it’s pollinator-friendly & pesticide-free.

    Those are beautiful & thoughtful gifts from Karla. Between sunflowers and happy mail, you’ve had a lot to light up your life lately. 🙂

    Like

  25. Oh, Patty, I know just what you mean about sunflowers – they always make me smile too! I so love where the travelling tea cup comes to rest on your adventures. How lovely to receive ‘Happy Mail’ from a dear, art friend and all the way from Brazil! This is such a happy post! It made me smile from beginning to end – just like a sunflower would. xxx

    Like

  26. I didn’t even know there were that many types of sunflowers. What a fun place to visit. I love that it helps the pollinators in this world!! Nice happy mail, too. Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  27. Another wonderful post – are you sure you have room for another comment!
    I love Sun Flowers too – especially when I see the little chickadees eating the seeds and hanging from underneath. That flower farm looks delightful.
    Normally I would say, who is that behind those Foster Grants but this time I have to ask who is that behind that large sun flower!!!! Tea cup in hand no less – you funny lady.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  28. Oh my this place is gorgeous with all these amazing sunflowers! I have never been to a sunflower garden .hope to visit one soon. Thank you for sharing
    Hugs

    Like

  29. Thanks for sharing my giveaway post. That is so generous of you!

    Like

  30. What gorgeous pictures, Patty!! Makes me happy to look at them!😊

    Like

  31. I agree Patty, there is definitely something about sunflowers that makes me happy, maybe it’s the colours and circular shape! I love your teacup! xxx

    Like

  32. Your photos are so lovely with ful of sunshine and joyfulness. Thank you sharing them, and giving a glimpse of hot summer 🙂 We have got now some sunny hot days after so long rainy period.
    Love your teapot/cup!
    Hugs xx

    Like

  33. Hello misses Sunflower, -such a sweet photo of you and that glorious flower dear Patty, your cup have experienced so much with you two 🙂
    I would never have guessed that there were 25 different sunflowers Patty, they are amazing, what a sight and that cute Sunbonnet girl.
    Lucky you to get gifts all the way from Brazil, it is so much fun having dear friends from all over the world, isen`t it ?
    Thank you for making this bright and light post for us to follow your footsteps, my dear friend.
    Hugs from Dorthe xoxoxo

    Like

  34. What a wonderful place to visit and those sunflowers are to die for….one of my favorites…but who knew there are 25 varieties….I’ve only seen three or four.

    Beautiful post (as always…*grin*) so sunny and delightful.

    Like

  35. Wow!! What a beautiful field of flowers. What a wonderful idea to pick your own fresh cut flowers 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  36. Love sunflowers! Like the one shot of you in there!!!! And what a great surprise package to receive! You had a great week!

    Like

  37. SO spectacular, Patty! I can see why you were simply enchanted. Isn’t this time of year the best?

    Like

  38. Pingback: I like coffee … I like tea … I Love flowers Oh Yes indeed! | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  39. Sunflowers always bring cheer!
    Patty, I love the whimsy of the photograph of you standing behind the sunflower, it becoming one with your face.
    Glorious, glorious sunshine and the sheer force of Mother Nature radiating from those sunflowers, such a special post to visit.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  40. Pingback: Timeless | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  41. Pingback: Helianthus time again … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

