What if I fall?

the last book in our local Mixed Media Collaborative art group‘s round robin has come my way and it is a real beauty touching my magpie heart…

Susan's bookmy friend Susan chose “Grow Wings” as the theme for her gorgeous book …

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Grow Wings ideasI took my time gathering special bits of this and that trying out several layouts before actually gluing anything in place (I even hand dyed some vintage white flowers that in the end I did not use because they were too puffy)…

Magpie's Nest Waterhouse TAP transfer

a John William Waterhouse sketch looked nice transferred onto sheer vintage baby dress fabric and stitched onto the gold square background paper I selected (I used Lesley Riley’s TAP for both images in these pages)…

Magpie's Nest Pressed Thyme and Goldens Paint

before falling asleep one night I got the idea to use some of my favorite Goldens Gold Paint to “gild” some pressed thyme leaves…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz What if I falleven though it was a bit fiddly brushing on the paint and then adhering them to the pages using Soft Gel Medium I was really pleased with the way they look…

Magpie's Nest What if you fly leftsome vintage embroidered sheer blue and green trim worked nicely on the piece of handmade paper Susan had added in her book … I highlighted the centers of the flowers by adding some gold paint…

Magpie's Nest What if you fly Swanpieces of plastered German lace curtain added texture to my pages as well…

Magpie's Nest What if you flyI am also joining Conny’s Mix it Monthly August/September challenge of Mixed Media Flowers

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz FLY iphoneographyand lastly here is a bit of iphoneography using photos of my artwork and several iphone apps…

“What if I Fall? Oh, but my darling what if you fly?” -Eric Hanson

33 responses to “What if I fall?

  1. Then I will pick you up — now I will go back and read!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  2. Oh my, where to start? The papers, the bits of lace and trim, the gilded thyme, the transferred images, the perfect quote….they all contribute to pages that take my breath away. What a treasure for Susan’s book!

    Like

  3. So many ideas and what to do and how to do it — you amaze me Patty!
    Wonderful — all I can say is do not fly too close to the sun!!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  4. Such a pretty spread! Thanks so much for posting. I love your choices!

    Like

  5. Jaw dropping awe is how I feel about this latest entry. I was especially pleased to see you painted some thyme. I don’t have any Golden’s gold, but I have their gold fluid acrylic. I wonder if that would work if I tried something similar.

    I wonder if any of the craft stores sell TAP, or if it’s something I can only get on the internet. I don’t shop on the internet, so I’m looking for something local. We have Hobby Lobby, Michael’s, and JoAnn’s here, so I may call around. I have been in love with anything you make using TAP since I first saw you use it.

    I was so impressed with the dyed flowers, even though you didn’t use them. I know you’ll find a use for them one of these days. And of course, I was in awe of the layers you applied to the pages. This is a gorgeous piece and your friend is going to be extremely happy with it.

    Like

  6. That would scare the tripe out of me…it’s so beautiful. You, of course, more than did it justice. Lovely work Patty.

    Like

  7. Ooooh, Patty, this is soooo beautiful, love all the details and how you have combined them. So pretty! An awesome creation, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  8. The thyme leaves add such a special touch to your beautiful spread Patty, very inspiring! xxx

    Like

  9. This is soooo beautiful Patty – what a fantastic spread… I am thrilled about it!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  10. What a wonderful soft romantic look every page has, I just love it!
    Big hugs Anja

    Like

  11. oh my, i can´t stop praising what you did here… i´m in awe!! all the motifs, the techniques, the texture, the elements… swooning… your friend will be smitten!! (and i hear the magpies from the garden chatting their Applause… they are very active this summer, i think chasing the cat;))

    Like

  12. This is so lovely.

    Like

  13. Gorgeous page, Patty! The gilded Thyme is amazing, and the embroidered flowers really tie the page together. Your friend is going to love it! Have a great weekend! We finally have a cool day today.

    Like

  14. Oh MY!!!!! Every week you just blow me away with your creative skills ♥♥♥♥♥ The way you layer and combine is just magical ! It makes my heart SING ♥

    Like

  15. So gorgeous! I love that you gilded those leaves even if it was really fiddly work. It added such delicate elegance to the piece.

    Like

  16. sparkledaysstudio

    Beautiful, beautiful. xox

    Like

  17. Fascinating spread, dear Patty. You chose so pretty textiles and I love the sketch and pressed leaves, The swan of course growns the art piece. Lovely!
    Have a happy weekend.
    Hugs xx

    Like

  18. Patty I’ve just gone through all your beautiful posts I’ve missed, Summer is blooming your way, such beauty, I feel like I’ve had a visit to a most beautiful garden full of flowers, romance, cups of tea in the shade…such poetry here, a delight!

    Like

  19. You created a dreambook with the delicate lace and fabric and the nice images on it. I can’t stop watching it because it is so nice and there are a lot of details to watch. I really love it.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  20. Soo many bits…soo many ideas. An awesome spread.

    Like

  21. I soooo want to sit down and watch you create Patty!! You absolutely leave me in awe each week with the beautiful art you create!! xoxo

    Like

  22. Wow! Stunning. I do love how the thyme leaves turned out and the transfer is lovely. Of course there is a swan! So many textures and such lovely elements. I’m like kampysgirl — I’d love to sit down and just watch you!

    Like

  23. Patty, you make me swoon, seeing these gorgeous pages, -they are so very beautiful. Love the swan page with the plastered curtain, and dyed leaves, it is a masterpiece of a fairy tale page. Both spreads are amazing with the use of golden papers, the lovely trim and gilded leaves, – and the Waterhouse sketch is adorable there, with these same lovely materials!!
    Your friend will be so happy to these pages, in her book!!
    Sending you Wochenende grüsse , und umarme dir !!

    Like

  24. I am swooning alongside Dorthe!
    The piece of plastered curtain, the gilded leaves, that beautiful Waterhouse sketch (one of my all time favourite artists), There is so many stand out elements all of which are beautiful in their own right but together, they are magical.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  25. You truly achieved a vintage feel with all the pretty laces, embroidery and pressed leaves. Blessings!

    Like

  26. Patty, I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to come and comment here. My whole family and then me seemed to come down with a summer flu! Your art is just wonderful. Everything is so delicate and fairy tale. I love the image transfer; the leaves; the gold and – of course – the swan! You have truly grown the loveliest of creative wings with this contribution to the mixed media book. What a treasure! xxx

    Like

  27. Patty your work is so special and always made with so much love! I so love the swan and the golden leaves! What a great idea….I have to try this out! http://mix-it-monthly.blogspot.de

    Like

  28. This is wonderful, Patty! Love the lace and fabric… all beautiful elements you’ve used. Brilliant as always!

    Like

  29. You’ve created beautiful pages to add to the wonderful ’round robin’ book. As always your photographs are gorgeous. Have a great day, the humidity has left again, ahhhhhhhhhh. Hugs, Shirleyxx

    Like

  30. Pingback: Timeless | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  31. This just says ‘you’ – especially with the swan image!

    Like

  32. Such a beautiful journal and rich mixed media pieces!

    Like

  33. I so enjoyed seeing your process with this altered book. The layout is just gorgeous!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

