Fred in Lotusland

this year we have been lucky enough to visit Kenilworth Park and Aquatic Gardens in Washington, D.C. six different times to enjoy the beautiful blooms

Magpie's Nest Jim Szymkowiczas with any garden each visit is special and exciting in different ways…

Magpie's Nest Lotus and Amazonian waterlily leafwe find the loti irresistible and so very photogenic…

Magpie's Nest Loti Reflectionsearly morning is our favorite time to watch the sunlight dance across the ponds…

Magpie's Nest a better viewwe have a plan for next year to bring a short step ladder to snap a photo like the visitors above cleverly did…

Oil Painter at Kenilworth Aquatic Gardenson a few of our visits we saw this artist painting en plein air (you could smell the oil paints)…

Magpie's Nest FRED recycle bottled waterand here is a photo of our good friend FRED

Magpie's Nest Waterlilies and Turtlesit is not hard to spend two or three hours strolling in the gardens as there is so much to enjoy and discover…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Kenilworth Aquatic Gardenssoon the ponds will be filled with brown lotus pods and yellowing leaves until the magic happens all over again next summer…

Magpie's Nest Mr Magpie and lotus podswishing you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover…

35 responses to “Fred in Lotusland

  1. What a wonderful place to visit, I would love to wander there. Great idea with the human ladder, and Fred is a good companion to keep you hydrated! Have a great T day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. I can imagine getting lost in that beautiful area for hours. I did get lost for a bit looking at your wonderful photos. Fred looks like a great travel companion. I recently bought a metal travel mug in an effort to ban those usual plastic bottles of water from our house.

    Darla

    Like

  3. I had to laugh at the step stool idea. Those young people knew how to do it, didn’t they? It’s amazing how a garden can change in a single week. I noticed some subtle and not so subtle changes when Sally and I went to the zoo a few weeks ago. I also notice my own garden changes over a few days time. Your lovely photos have captured these changes and the way the garden looks so different each time you visit.

    I confess I’d never heard of Fred water before, but of course, I LOVE the concept. My friend Sally buys water by the case and I think it’s a waste. Horrible waste of money, resources, and PLASTIC. I found those Zero bottles I bought have very hard plastic and I refill them all the time. I’ll NEVER have to buy plastic bottles or water. I think Fred is also a very good thing, just like the Zero water I found.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely Lotus blossoms and gardens with us for T this Tuesday. And thanks for Fred, too!

    Like

  4. I am glad you took us along on your visit, again! Your photos are simply wonderful. There is so much beauty and peace in these gardens! Have a Happy T Day!

    Like

  5. OOPS. The name of the water I drink is ICE, not Zero. I’m a ditz and it’s either very early or very late here.

    Like

  6. sparkledaysstudio

    Six times is alot. Glad for these photos. They are such dramatic and amazing plants. xox

    Like

  7. Extraordinarily beautiful gardens. It seems that everyone wants to capture them and take them home.

    Like

  8. oh what truly magnificent photos of that gorgeous garden!! I love when I can get a glimpse at someone painting outdoors. Thanks for the Fred link-I had not heard of that. It’s a great idea. I use a thermal mug to take my hot or cold beverages along. So nice to catch up with you again my friend. Happy T day!

    Like

  9. Such a beautiful garden and great photos of your visit there. Love the Fred Bottle … I clicked on the link and saw they also have the steel ones. I may have to gift some of those to my son and his hiking family. I can never drink out of the steel myself they always give the water a metal taste to me…it’s probably just in my head 🙂

    Like

  10. This are amazing photos Patty! GORGEOUS!
    Happy T-DAY my friend!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  11. I’d love to spend time in that garden. Thanks so much for sharing the photos.

    I’d never heard of Fred before, but he’d be perfect. We don’t use the water bottles, preferring a thermos for lots of reasons, but Fred would be easier to carry. Thx!

    Like

  12. Oh what a gorgeous place…I want to go there! I look forward to your beautiful flower photos…and such a fun snap of the gal on the shoulders of the guy! too funny, and a pretty good idea at that. Cool that you sneaked in a pic of hubby (?) and cute turtle. I have never ‘met’ Fred before…somehow Fred is ‘sexier’ than those disposable plastic bottles. 🙂 happy T day! ♥

    Like

  13. A lovely place to wander around. I’m sure there must be lots of insects enjoying the gardens, too. Have never heard of Fred before so had to look it up. 🙂

    Like

  14. What a magical place! I could spend hours, no… days there! Thank you for sharing those beautiful photos.
    Bottled water is not such a problem here. We have good high standard tap water. The bottled water could be anything, not monitored and not passed any standards. Besides, why buy mineral water that comes out of the ground for free and then pay through the nose to make the company rich? I don’t see the point and neither do the people here. 5 liter bottles are popular here to take to areas where there is no water supply and to keep in reserve in case there is a problem. Then there is the question of fluoride. Some companies add fluoride to the tap water and some people don’t like that and buy mineral water for that reason. But you can still buy a Fred bottle and refill it out of a large 10 litre bottle…. That’s my humble opinion….
    Have a good week,
    Lisca#10

    Like

  15. I can see why you keep returning to this beautiful garden, such gorgeous flowers, and so green and lush! A step stool would be nice, if you can’t do as the young ones do…….LOL

    Thanks for the visit and the comment.

    Like

  16. Beautiful pictures!!!!! The only thing I would not care to do is drive in or around or through Washington DC. I lived in Fairfax, Virginia the year Kennedy was assassinated and went to his funeral. We made a lot of weekend adventures into Washington.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  17. You know i guess i’ve truly never took the time to look at a lotus bloom really close before. Thank you for making me stop long enough to do that this T day! Hugs! deb

    Like

  18. I’ve spent so long here, just looking in amazement at the perfect flowers and colour (no rain-battering or frosting in sight), and we also have step-ladders, artists and Fred Water whom I must investigate further.
    And as always I am in awe of your perfectly formed mosaics.

    Like

  19. What an amazing garden, I would love to go there sometime. I like the look of Fred; I don´t have him, but a cousin of his. Water is the best drink – also, it is the main ingredient of tea, isn´t it? Happy T Day!

    Like

  20. Oh, what a beautiful place. The lotus pictures are stunning.
    Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  21. Such a lot amazing and nice photos. It makes fun to watch them. Most of all I like the photos with the painter, his image looks so wonderful and I can smell the oil color. I love the smell of oil color. I like your nice japanese umbrella, you have multiple of them isn’t it? Every time a pleasure to watch your lovely photos. It is like holidays for the eyes. Really nice.
    Dearest greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  22. Oh Patty these lotuses are beautiful! Each time I visit your site I am mesmerized by the beauty that you share here. I don’t know whether I will be able to do but if I can may I use your flower photos to practice my sketching? They are way too good
    Happy T day
    Hugs

    Like

  23. envy. i do confess it.
    but i´m glad you are sharing These wonderful photos. a step ladder… would have never thought of that. but that will bring us another bunch of spectacular photos next year!

    Like

  24. With the beauty of this garden I can understand why you have visited six times. I usually carry a 24 oz Tervis Tumbler with me for water, but I can see that FRED would be much more convenient.

    Like

  25. Absolutely Glorious!!
    Oh what wondrous sights you share Patty!! Have lucky to be so close to such a beautiful and breathtaking garden!! I am envious,but so happy that you share!
    xoxo

    Like

  26. Those pinks and whites are drop dead gorgeous. I can see why you’ve spent a good deal of your summer visiting gardens. This is truly a heaven on earth.

    Like

  27. Your photos are just drop dead gorgeous, I can imagine that you must take millions of shots because it is all so beautiful… love Fred… great idea, and the smell of paints and turpentine would have been pretty yucky!! xoxo

    Like

  28. Oh Patty, such beautiful photoes, and a most wonderful place to enjoy hours of beauty. Those flowers are so special, and wonderful, and as I wrote on fb I have never seen them rise over the water here in Denmark.
    Fred is a great bottle to have ,and fill with water from home, or where else there is running water,- I have to admit that sometimes I buy a bottle of water from a Danish producer, but I prefer our own water which here is very clean..
    Hugs to you, dear

    Like

  29. Gorgeous flowers. I’d love to visit these aquatic gardens. How lucky you are to see them.

    Like

  30. What a wonderful place, no wonder you took your time to have a good wander around! Your photos are always such a pleasure to see! Belated Happy T day! Chrisx

    Like

  31. I thought Fred was the artist….lol. It looks like a magical place to spend the day.

    Like

  32. I love those pictures!! The Fred water has me smiling. I had a BF that called me Fred…aw the memories.

    Like

  33. What a glorious place this looks to visit! Your pics are so beautiful and calming. I never realised there were so many varieties of lotus. I think I spy you somewhere in among the blooms with your parasol??? Thank you, Patty for all the joy you create. xxx

    Like

  34. Sorry for taking so long to visit you but it has been one of those weeks and only now squeezing in some visits.Love your photos!That place is magical!Love your journal pages too.Inspiring, my friend!

    Like

  35. Patty, your blog posts are all always so fantastic, just drop-dead gorgeous!
    Whether you show journal pages, or photos – everything is so beautiful always be considered.
    These lotus flowers are beautiful – so many different kinds of them I’ve never seen before. Quite amazing pictures! This place I also would love to visit. Greetings – Ulrike

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

