Black & White

feeling a surge of creativity around the full moon this month I am joining in with  Moo Mania and More BLACK & WHITE and Mix it Monthly MIXED MEDIA FLOWERS challenges…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Love is the soul's Light Rumi

the lovely girl with flowers in her hair is a favorite image that I’ve had for a long time from a magazine and the black bird, butterfly wings and roses at the bottom are from a collage sheet that Misty Mawn shared in one of her on line workshops…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Rumi Quote

lots of layers of gesso, black Stabilo pencil and white Signo gel pen along with a little honey comb stamping around the edges (I really wanted to give her rosy cheeks!)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Love is the soul's Light Rumi (1)

“Love is the soul’s Light” – Rumi

17 responses to “Black & White

  1. What a beautiful journal page, your pages are always so atmospheric and full of good vibes. Thanks for joining us at Moo Mania and More, very much appreciated. Alles Liebe! Valerie

    Like

  2. Oh wow – the image is soooo lovely and you have created the perfect page for her. Love the sentiment – I am going to have to write that down. I have a sentiment for you — worries are like birds flying overhead – you can’t stop them from flying but you don’t have to let them build a nest in your hair.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  3. Great creation, so good what you did with the white pen and color. I like the honeycombs around the image.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  4. I’m glad I looked at this before I went to the lake — it reminds me to take my Stabilo pencil! I’m never very good with black and white and seeing this is a good reminder that I need to stretch myself, go out of the zone and try more monochromatic work. It’s lovely, Patty.

    Like

  5. I bet you know what first caught my eye! Yes, the swan. What a great layout and composition.

    You did wonders with these two colors. Isn’t it amazing how black is absence of color and white is all the colors together, and when you put the two together, you get this gorgeous beauty!

    Like

  6. Wow..this is awesome.. a swan swims in a raven.. gorgeous Patty! I love this!
    Thanks so much for joining Moo Mania & More!
    Have a great new week!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  7. i spy the swan;) fantastic spread, once again. i find it hard using only black and White..
    have a great week ahead,
    xox

    Like

  8. Beautiful!!! xxx

    Like

  9. Wow, what an impression the black and white make! Very cool!

    Like

  10. Pingback: fill your cup | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  11. A gorgeous page as always, liebe Patty

    Vielen Dank für’s Mitmachen bei MOO MANIA & MORE

    Like

  12. OMG your piece give me goosebumps with the quote from Rumi! How I love your art! All fits so beautiful! The roses and the bird with a swan on top (you always have the best ideas) I am in love!!! Shine on the light ❤

    Like

  13. Beauty in black and white – that is what this is!

    Like

  14. Such a gorgeous spread. I love that image also and the images that you surrounded her with – perfection!

    Like

  15. I can see some influence from Edgar Allen Poe in this (at least the black crow anyway!).

    Like

  16. this is gorgeous. I love the Rumi quote as well. xo

    Like

  17. Wonderful Patty!! and yes, love is the soul’s light! xoxo
    welcome to September!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

