the sea was right outside her window…

September at Art Journal Journey and the theme is THROUGH MY WINDOW … using an image from a catalog I got out one of the gesso magazine journals I made and got busy…

Magpie's Nest the sea in progress

I have been wanting to play with watercolors ever since I picked up this inexpensive set with a coupon … perhaps it was the lightly gessoed background but I really liked how the paints moved around with the addition of each layer being mindful to not over work the pages

Magpie's Nest watercolors

the lighthouse, sea oats and clouds were the extent of my sketching comfort zone

Magpie's Nest the sea in progress (2)

the shells are stickers…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz pages with possibilities

I decided to add words digitally until I decide on how I will proceed on the left side of this spread…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz the sea outside her window

30 responses to “the sea was right outside her window…

  1. well you do know how this page touches my heart and speaks to me so…. really beautiful!

    Like

  2. Beautiful journal work, love the soft colours, and how you have painted everything – lovely work! I wish the sea were outside my window, too! But at least I have the Rhine! Alles Liebe, and thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey, Valerie

    Like

  3. Trying somethings new like you did with your new watercolors makes fun,isn’t it. And the result of your playing looks so amazing good. The lady with the umbrella remembers me of you. 😉
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  4. This is delightful!

    Like

  5. sparkledaysstudio

    She’s a great image and your drawing is quite wonderful. Nice box of color there. Lot’s of hues. xox

    Like

  6. Beautiful pages Patty!! I so enjoy your art 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  7. Soooo nice. Love the new, untouched water colors!!!!! I love my water colors. This is such a pretty spread. Love that you used shell stickers and told us!!!!!

    Like

  8. Love your spread which is full of motions of the sweet girl.
    Your art is always beautiful and inspiring, dear Patty.
    Have a happy weekend,
    Love xx

    Like

  9. the colorful box of watercolors let alone is so awesome… and your journaling page turned out so marvellous. and every time i see a woman with an umbrella in your artwork i think it stands for you:)
    xox

    Like

  10. Hallo
    Eine wunderschöne Arbeit – wirklich fantastisch.
    Lg Sadie

    Like

  11. Wonderful– this is really awesome.. I would like to have such a watercolor box – looks fantastic indeed! Oh Patty what a beautiful entry for the THROUGH MY WINDOW theme!
    Big thanks to you!
    Have a great weekend liebe Patty!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  12. I really enjoyed the step out photos and the lovely watercolors. WOW, that was a bunch of colors and so many choices to choose from, too.

    That was a smart move to not commit too much until both sides of the spread are finished.

    This is a lovely, lovely entry.

    Like

  13. When I first saw that bathing beauty, I thought….”she has something else on her mind!”. Maybe the next line should be…”but she is a city girl at heart!”

    I have that same set of watercolors–I love it! Never tried it over gesso, so I’ll have to experiment when I get some inspiration to work in my AB again.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  14. Fantastic – you create the mood and I am right there!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  15. Wow.the lady Looks amazing outside her window,very pretty, dear maggie 🙂

    OXO Jeannette

    Like

  16. ..and she heard the mermaids calling….such a lovely page, can’t wait to see the other side

    Like

  17. Patty, this is so beautiful! It’s like a lovely dream. It would make a wonderful inspiration for a poem or story. I really love the effect of the water-colours and what a great theme! Looking at this has given me such great pleasure today. xxx

    Like

  18. oh, the possibilities in that set of watercolours! I’m sure you will make full use of them too.

    Like

  19. Superbe ma chère Patty, aérien, léger, intemporel, le rendu de l’aquarelle est transparent et charmant. J’adoreeeee.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  20. love your sketches and the texture of the background.. and a “bad day at the beach is better.”.. well you know.. xoxo

    Like

  21. You’ve made a very evocative page, it’s like an illustration for a short story.
    I like the part light-house you’ve made and how you’ve “discovered” the background out of nothing. And to take the theme out into “outside the window” – quite ingenious.

    Like

  22. This is sweet and elegant, my friend!

    Like

  23. Beautiful page love the image

    Like

  24. Patty!! This is exquisite!! I really think you should publish a book of your journal pages! I really DO!! xoxo

    Like

  25. Although I am not one for the sea, there is something so captivating about art which relates to the sea and that is exactly what you have achieved here, I am captivated by this spread from the way the watercolours behaved against the Gesso (I love the effect of watercolours on Gesso, it always brings a sense of romance to a piece) and I adore the combination of the image of the bathing belle alongside your own sketching.
    This is up there as one of my all time favourites.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  26. VERY nice, Patty. I am learning to be more comfy with watercolors, too and it’s not all that easy. I love reading Vivian Swift’s blog where almost every post is a step by step tutorial. I fell in love with her book “Le Road Trip” and others and she’s inspired my painting more than anyone. That’s a fabulous set you found! Good for you!

    Like

  27. You created a lovely page! And I also love your color box 😉

    Like

  28. The sea might be outside her window but usually important thing are right outside the backdoor or right inside the front door or in our underpants drawer!
    I was just looking at this again Patty!
    sandy xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

