Turmeric tea

even though this past weekend was the unofficial end to summer here in the U.S. I am still enjoying being barefoot around the house and we are not ready to turn off the air conditioning quite yet…

Magpie's Nest Numi Tumeric Tea

it has been very nice weather for sitting out on our shady back porch….

Magpie's Nest Numi Tumeric Tea (1)

change is in the air and the other morning started out a bit cool and crisp so I decided to brew some tea in a favorite Sunnex stainless steel teapot that I picked up on a trip to Ireland many years ago…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz tea pot and cozy

it does a great job of keeping the tea hot especially tucked up in one of my tea cozies (unfortunately the lovely tea cozy lady is no longer in business)…

Magpie's Nest Pouring tea

I had a bit of fun and challenged myself to pour with my left hand while snapping some photos with my right which can be a bit tricky  because of where the button is located on my phone camera…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz garden blooms

the healing Turmeric tea tasted nice and I enjoyed a few blooms that I cut from our poor dry garden…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz lady with curly wurly hair the peace and quiet of our back porch frequently inspires me to take photos and play with flowers …

Magpie's Nest Rabbit's Foot Fern Sedum Cup Thyme it is always fun how one thing can lead to another and another…

Magpie's Nest Fairy Rose and Lord Byron's Poetical Works

here’s wishing you a Happy T Day with plenty of time to enjoy the season you are in…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz September Sun Thyme

“Tea began as a medicine and grew into a beverage.” ~Okakura Kakuzō

31 responses to “Turmeric tea

  1. Your garden and back porch always look so beautiful, I can imagine you sipping your tea there and enjoying the view. Thanks for the information about turmeric. Have a happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Lovely photos as always Patty! I’m off to brew some Twinings orange & lotus flower green tea 🙂 xxx

    Like

  3. We definitely are not ready to turn off the AC yet, probably not until Nov or Dec. I can understand how your back porch encourages you to play with flowers and take photos – you have so much inspiration there. I am particularly fond of that head with the succulent (I think) growing out of it!

    Like

  4. I want to try that tea! Tumeric is so good for you! I have tried a “golden milk” recipe with turmeric and it was quite tasty.
    http://www.healthcareaboveall.com/golden-milk-recipe-this-drink-can-change-your-life/

    Like

  5. Good morning Queen of Style – Sister of My Heart. Wonderful pictures – I am just a plain ole’ country girl at heart. Give me cup of black tea with cream and sugar and I am a happy camper.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  6. twinkletoes2day

    Your tea is a beautiful colour Patty 😀 And I like your left handed photos. Bravo 😉
    I don’t try new teas very often. Why? Because they are too expensive to buy & try if one ends up not liking them :/ I wish that single bags were more readily available and I wish tea rooms held more variety. When I was in London in July (I nearly said Summer there, but that would be a misnomer, lol), in Covent Garden, there is a shop where one can go in and try before you buy. It smelled wonderful from by the door. I didn’t get to go in tho’. Maybe one day 😀
    I enjoyed seeing the photos from around your garden; I particularly like the planter head. She has very groovy hair, lol 😀
    Happy T Day 😀 xox

    Like

  7. Thank you all for your visit and nice comments!
    That concrete lady planter came home with us from a trip we took to Asheville, North Carolina a few years ago. Every year she has a different “hairdo”. This year I was very excited to find a plant called Curly Wurly – Corkscrew Rush. She gets her photo taken alot! Her curls look so nice all different times of the day and it is tricky to capture on film with the interference of the backgrounds. oxo

    Like

  8. SUch a lovely post full of eye candy and information. I do love Turmeric tea and use turmeric in a lot of different recipes. It’s an amazing herb full of all kinds of goodies and flavor. That teapot is so pretty and I love the tea cozy . Funny how they used to be so popular and then they weren’t . Your porch photos are beautiful and I love the “Head” pot. I have one that I love to plant the same plant in with vining plants and Rose Moss. This year I forgot to water it during one of those HOT HOT weeks and everything in it died 😦 After all of the early summer rain I got lax with the watering a bit and am paying the price.

    Like

  9. What a lovely tea cup ! I have heard that tumeric has anit inflammatory properties.. but i wonder what it tastes like?? Happy happy T day Hugs! deb

    Like

  10. what a heavenly garden area to enjoy!! I’m going to look for that turmeric tea:) You are really good to be able to pour left handed and get such wonderful photos. The blooms and bouquets are just gorgeous as is that tea cup! thank you for the most delightful visit to your haven. Happy T day!

    Like

  11. I always enjoy your planters. Your plants always look so healthy. The stainless steel teapot looks just the thing and complements that lovely china pattern. Happy T Day 🙂

    Like

  12. It’s still HOT here, and the AC is on day and night. So, I’m still running around in as few clothes as possible, except when I’m at Sally’s. Your tea looks lovely, but too hot for me, still.

    I have trouble pouring while photographing, too. It’s much harder now that I have a camera that must be focused for each shot. I applaud how you did that.

    Of course, I am still in love with your garden and the statues and such that you share from time to time. They change with the seasons, that’s for sure.

    Thanks for sharing your tea, your garden, and the beauty of your photos with us for T this Tuesday. Too bad about the tea cozy lady going out of business.

    Like

  13. Happy T-day, and what a lovely tea pot and cup to drink from.

    I use a LOT of Tumeric in my food, but I’ve never had it in a drink…….interesting.

    You know I just come by to drool over your photos……..LOL

    Like

  14. sparkledaysstudio

    Pretty, pretty and supporting your immune system at the same time. 90+ and sticky here, air is on in my studio/office. xox

    Like

  15. Wonderful photos and Happy T Day to you Patty, xo.

    Like

  16. Hello and Happy T Day Patty! I hope the cool break comes soon for you too. How lovely your tea and pretty tea cozy is, love this. Way to go on capturing this photo with your left hand, it came out perfect. Beautiful images from your garden too, enjoy them while you can. Thanks for sharing another lovely T time from your garden. xo

    Like

  17. a most perfectly beautiful tea post today! xoxo

    Like

  18. It is always so much fun to see what you have photographed for the tea party! Love your tea cup and gorgeous tea cozy! That stainless tea pot looks quite efficient and just perfect. But wow, that planter with the classic sculpted head took my breath away! so beautiful….happy tea day! ♥

    Like

  19. Your porch always looks like great place to sip a beverage and chat or just settle in and watch the birds and butterflies. 🙂 Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  20. I’d love to sit on your back porch sipping turmeric tea. Sounds, and looks, like bliss to me.

    Like

  21. I am sure you felt a sense of wellbeing as you sat sipping your tea in the shade especially with that beautiful display of flowers in front of you.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  22. I have never heard of turmeric tea before. I do like to cook with turmeric, so I guess that I would probably like the tea as well. Thanks for the idea!

    Like

  23. Interesting tea but I will stick to my cofffe thank you! Your garden however. …..oh Patty ….can I pop round tomorrow? lol! Can’t join in this week but couldn’t resist visiting! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  24. Hello sweet friend, I`m back home again, and with time, to enjoy visiting you again, Patty. I can tell your weather is much more sommerly, than ours, here…. we almost only had real summer in August and half September, so a bad summer in Denmark.
    Your play outside in your wonderful garden, and with your beautiful cup and teapot, the gorgeous flowers, and the amazing head on your blue chair, cheared me up this morning ,where the sky is grey ,outside. Hugs to you ,dear !!xx

    Like

  25. a stroll through your garden is such a delight! love the blue chair and its flower decoration, the metal sun with the glass face and so much more.
    well, quite chilly here, temperatures have dropped down significantly. but hoping for a sunny autumn.
    xox

    Like

  26. Enjoy the outdoors as long as you can. So hot and humid here. My girlfriend grinds her own spices and gave me a jar of fresh powdered turmeric. I sometimes sprinkle it in our food. Guess I could just add some to hot water and drink it as an infusion. Have a wonderful day..

    Like

  27. It’s been awhile since I’ve been over. Where has the time gone?
    I have never heard of turmeric tea before, but turmeric is an amazing herb full of flavor. I love it!

    Like

  28. I’m still not ready for hot tea yet but this looks like a good one. I’m told tumeric is supposed to be very good for inflammation and this would be a wonderful way to take it. I had Indian food last night (lots of tumeric there, too!) and it reminded me of all those wonderful flavors! Yum!

    Like

  29. Great pictures. I have to have hot coffee every morning….. hot tea in the winter but afternoon. We are all such creatures of habit, aren’t we! You know you can shoot a photo with your iphone by pushing the down volume button on the side, too.

    Like

  30. Spring is going to begin on Sept 21st and it has been raining here what is a blessing considering the fact that there might be a shortage of water here. Love your Irish tea pot, your romantic cup and your inspiring photos. They are magical!Have a creative week Patty!Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  31. I love that quote at the end and I’m always happy when you post pictures of your beautiful garden. I miss ours to a certain extent, but I don’t miss the work that was involved. Now I am happy to live through you!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

