à travers ma fenêtre …

inspired by Corrine’s theme of THROUGH MY WINDOW for Art Journal Journey this month I created a cover for one of my gessoed magazine journals…

Magpie's Nest cover process

using a blue Stabilo pencil scrubbing with white gesso on a torn piece of heart shaped paper…

Magpie's Nest painted cheesecloth heart I also glued on a scrap of cheesecloth that was handy on my work table using soft gel medium…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz French window and door

I tore out the French word for window from my little dictionary inadvertently covering the “f” with the Golden’s Bronze paint that I added as embellishment…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Linda Hogan ancestor quote

as much as I use my blog for photo storage I also enjoy using favorite quotes in my journals to inspire and uplift me…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz journal pages

here is a peek at the inside pages that I have done individual blog posts on in the past (I used a new to me free photo editor called FOTOR to make the photo collage..it has different templates than my other favorite PixlrExpress)...

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz fenêtre journal cover

this handmade journal is nice to hold and turn the pages as the magazine and gesso foundation give integrity to the paper along with the layers I have added with my collage work…

 

24 responses to “à travers ma fenêtre …

  1. So beautiful Party, thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey with you beautiful cover, love the details. Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Such beautiful words and art, exquisite!

    Like

  3. This is such a beautiful spread Patty, and a wonderful quote too! xxx

    Like

  4. Once again another great spread♡♡♡♡♡♡ You give me so many great ideas to use for journals 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

  5. It all melds together to form the most beautiful sensory piece of art. The gold embellishing the window certainly makes it pop against the gesso’d background.
    Quite gorgeous!
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  6. Hi Patty! As always your journal page is exceptional! The design and colors are fabulous. Great quote too.

    Like

  7. Gorgeous pages! I bet this is one stunning album.

    Like

  8. Oh my dear Patty-here we go again on the same wavelength (la fênêtre)! An incredibly beautiful journal spread and quote-very powerful and delicate at the same time…love

    Like

  9. sparkledaysstudio

    Just gorgeous. I love everything about it. xox

    Like

  10. This looks stunning, love all the details and I can imagine how it must feel to turn these beautiful pages.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  11. Your work is always so amazing. I’m a complete klutz when it comes to trying to do collages so I love coming here so I can see how they SHOULD look!!

    Like

  12. I think this should be a perfect example of the PERFECT composition. It could also be an example of the rule of threes. I guess you can tell I am as enthralled with it from a compositional standpoint as I am an artistic standpoint. It is truly lovely, as is the page with the beautiful quote. But the heart house really made my day (or night)..

    Like

  13. Okay Sugar Pie – this journal spread is absolutely perfect in every way. I look at the heart and I think ” the door to my heart” and/or ” the window to my soul”. The sentiment on the left is truly amazing – it gives me peace just reading it. I am so lucky to have found you Patty!!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  14. Charming art as always, Patty. Your creativity is amazing,
    love xx

    Like

  15. What a fantastic cover Patty. This looks like a window to the soul !! Wonderful created! The text is heartwarming as well!
    Wishing you a happy weekend and saying THANK YOU for such a beautiful piece linked to Art Journal Journey!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  16. Gorgeous pages Patty!!! I love how you used the fibers on these pages. Beautiful!! ~Sophia

    Like

  17. Great post. I love everything about your journal cover.
    I am interested in family history – your quote is fabulous …. Gill x

    Like

  18. Oh, what a great new photo editor you found. How wonderful to see all your beautiful pages together. Love the quote in today’s pages!

    Like

  19. The window of love , so very beautiful, and with the gesso background, they may all be like little paintings on canvas , Patty.
    I love this spread too, the heart so wonderful textural, and the qoute, saying it is all about love, and that our world will dye without it !! Beautiful golden touches, too, sweet friend !!
    oxoxox

    Like

  20. Oh what nice and heartwarming words, and what you created around it is so lovely. An amazing Gesso artwork with the heart made of some fibers. I love it so much.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  21. Happy Monday,my friend!
    I have to say, another gorgeous journal spread! i really always love the quotes you share- you seem find the perfect ones!
    xoxo

    Like

  22. This is a beautiful page, Patty. And thanks for sharing the FOTOR link — I’ll check it out!

    Like

  23. Such a lovely cover. I really love the idea of the little heart-shaped house. The quote about ancestors is so beautiful. Your work, Patty, never fails to inspire me. It has such depth. I love how you use colour; unusual and often quite poignant images and wonderful textures. I think I have said this before, but the work I see on your blog always makes me wish I could take one of your lovely journals and hold it in my hands. I close my eyes for a moment and imagine that I can. 🙂 xx

    Like

  24. Great pages. Love the magazine usage. I save Anthropologie catalogs to do that…….. but then end up throwing them out. And…. I like the new photo editing app you shared!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

