morning rays of sun…

gesso and painted pages in one of my gesso journals with bits of torn book page, map, tissue paper and plaster paper scraps…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz beginning collage pages

the village on the right was something I had stamped onto tissue paper and found on my work table (I have a lot of treasures/piles in my work space…I find it helps me to be spontaneous when I am creating using what is close at hand)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz gesso layer

some super heavy gesso helped tie the bits of paper together…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz paint and finishing touches

then I added some paint and color wash (I wish that 7 gypsies product was still available)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Rays of sun left side

looking at my pages I came up with some words and resisted the temptation to add a person as I am often drawn to do…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz through her window

making marks with a soft pencil is always a fun finish and adds a bit of patina…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz rays of sun left

this is my fourth entry for the Art Journal Journey THROUGH MY WINDOW/DURCH MEIN FENSTER challenge…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Morning rays of sun journal pages

“Throw open your window and let the scenery of clouds and sky enter your room!” -Yosa Buson

31 responses to “morning rays of sun…

  1. The colour wash is a beautiful touch and I like the various combinations of illustrations and also the stamped village, it all works so cohesively especially with the inclusion of the text. Magical.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  2. Love the layout ♥ The color wash really does make it work and the words tie it all together. A fun theme over there this month and I finally have a spread to get post there.

    Like

  3. Beautiful pages Patty. I like the look of the super heavy gesso. I can’t remember seeing it in the stores so I’ll have to keep an eye out for it. Thanks for sharing 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  4. I love what you’ve created Patty. Detail but softly done. Very,very nice. xoxo

    Like

  5. Love your spread. I, like you, have lots of lot treasure piles. I agree, it is so much easier to be spontaneous when you find bit and pieces. It is always so much to find those pieces too. Have a great day! Or night-depending upon when you read this!

    Like

  6. I do love those morning rays of sun streaming through my window. Your gorgeous spread totally catches the essence of that feeling. Just beautiful.

    Like

  7. Your pages are so beautiful, you have created such an atmosphere with your soft wash and gesso, you just draw me in. Perfect my friend!

    Like

  8. Realy beautiful journal pages again, love how you made this spread. Thanks for joining us at Art Journal Journey again, and hae a great vacation, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  9. These are wonderful, inspiring pages Patty! xxx

    Like

  10. Just fab Patty.. and it is here exactly this morning to open the window and let the sun in.. we have again a few days with good temperatures and sun….after some very cool days – I have to enjoy it.I think such days are counted now where autum is on it’s way.
    A beautiful spread dear Patty!
    Thanks a lot for so many ideas to Corinnes’s theme this month!
    Happy vacation !
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  11. sparkledaysstudio

    Isn’t it great that humble materials(the pencil) can bring out so much in a piece. It echoes your lines at the top as well. Lovely blues and gesso. xox

    Like

  12. Beautiful page! I see from visiting that you are often drawn to blue–it makes such a nice dreamy page and a pretty contrast with the lead pencil. You also have quite the still of pairing wonderful images together!

    Like

  13. So had to smile Patty, as I`m also having difficulties -NOT- to add a person.
    But oh your pages are wonderful, and they really shows the rays from the sun, so magically. Also you made your pages look like they were the most heavy handmade papers you have used, with your use of gesso and paint , so very beautiful, with the stamped city, too !!
    Here rays of sun also streams through my window, as writing you ,dear friend.
    Dorthe, xoxo
    ,

    Like

  14. Beautiful! Perfect words and images.

    Like

  15. Absolutely gorgeous my friend~Just as you are! xo

    Like

  16. I really enjoyed this spread, mainly because of all the elements you added. I had never heard of the 7 Gypsies Colours Wash, and didn’t realize they must be a British company from the way they spell colors! I’m going to miss you and your fabulous art while you’re on vacation!

    Like

  17. this is absolutely wonderful Patty!! It is so full of light, like you.

    Like

  18. I love the little town. The colour wash is gorgeous – so effective. This is another really beautiful journal spread. xx

    Like

  19. Wonderful spread, Patty. It looks great with many interesting details. Colour is beautiful and fits so well the window scene,
    Have a happy day xx.

    Like

  20. Gorgeous pages! Love the progress!

    Like

  21. i love the graphic elements you used in the Background, nice how you tied them together with the gesso wash!
    have a nice Weekend, patty – here we might have the last sunrays of this summer…

    Like

  22. I really like the lines on the top of the pages!

    Like

  23. Love this Patty – you continue to be my collage inspiration and the journaling is extraordinary! My favorite part or at least the element that calls out to me are the verticle lines across the top – what a great unifier and wonderful!

    Like

  24. The ingredients you use are always fascinating and mysterious to me. I had to smile when you said you found the village on tissue paper on your work table (you know what my work table is like).
    This is a stunning entry for the Windows theme.

    Like

  25. Dearest Patty, I always find a sense of peace and tranquility when I see your art. These pages make me wish I could do this too! I have two art journals and you’ve inspired me to have a play in the weekend!
    Elizabeth’s comment mentioned you are on vacation – I hope the three of you have fun (Mr M, the travelling tea cup and you my sweet friend)!
    Inspiration galore on all your posts
    Much love
    Shane x

    Like

  26. It’s always a pleasure to see your art and have a peek at your creative process 🙂

    Like

  27. Gorgeous pages Patty!

    Like

  28. I either have to find my stabilos or order new ones! This is such a beautiful set of pages. Lovely!

    Like

  29. Such a lovely journal spread. I really enjoy seeing the close-up details. Wonderful!

    Like

  30. Beautiful pages, Patti; thanks for sharing your process!

    Like

  31. How cool is this page! I know its been a few weeks, but I have to say I love all the sun images you used and your medieval stamped village.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

