order in chaos…

the turning of the wheel of time throws me off a bit around the holidays when emotions and memories seem even more intense than a regular day which is the perfect time to escape to my art cave and play play play…

Magpie's Nest Chaos background

I folded this classic image around the edge of my new large art journal page gluing scraps of paper for the collage background…

Magpie's Nest Gesso wash

a light wash of gesso adding heavy textured gesso for her hair making ridges with a plastic palette knife…

Magpie's Nest paints for chaos journal pagethe piece for her dress was from a scrap of vintage paper stenciled with thick gesso and glued in place

Magpie's Nest Pink Stencil Dressthe words came about by writing quickly on a piece of scrap paper and then deciding to cut and paste each word as I often do with computer generated text…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz order in chaos(the bit circled on the lower left was revealed when my pages stuck together overnight peeling away a top layer)…

this really is my last entry for Art Journal Journey’s Collage/Journaling challenge since the end of the month is upon us…

22 responses to “order in chaos…

  1. The hair makes me think of your long tresses. Lovely page. Check out my new web site! You can link from my post. xox

    Like

  2. Quite stunning Patty,especially love that hair.
    I do wonder where the year has gone and find the older I get the stronger the memories become.The childhood days,my children young and so much more.
    Hugs xoxoxo

    Like

  3. ah yes, looking for order in the chaos, unfortunately too often the case, but always hopeful that it will be found, just like your circled words

    Like

  4. Here I set still trying to catch up on all of my emails from the holidays and you’ve finished yet another page 🙂 Maybe I need to stop reading my emails 🙂

    Like

  5. Oh …forgot to say this is another great piece ♥

    Like

  6. Love it Patty… so beautiful.. I hear you on the emotional ride during holidays… wish mine would turn to art…lol.. Happy New Year!! xo

    Like

  7. Another lovely piece, Patty … so soft, rich and has a lot of depth. One talented Lady. hugs, Donna

    Like

  8. so beautiful patty and love your process 🙂
    Happy New Year xxx

    Like

  9. Another lovely piece, and I am wondering if you will perhaps make another, very, very last one today? Thanks for all your lovely work and support for AJJ, Ein Frohes Neues Jahr Patty, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  10. Oh Patty – you are in a FLOW! Beautiful is this again!
    I am also wondering if you will come up with another last piece–lol?
    Thank you for linking to Art Journal Journey Sweetie!
    Happy New Year!!!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  11. This really is beautiful Patty – the colours are a promise of Spring! Chrisx

    Like

  12. Very good what you did with this paper collage image. The result is a very nice image in soft colors and looking very harmonious. Bravo!
    Dearest greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  13. This is fantastic. I simply adore the texture of the hair and the beautiful flower in her hair. This is a stunning addition to AJJ, too. Happy, happy New Year, dear friend.

    Like

  14. She is gorgeous- and almost looks native Hawaiian. Beautiful page today. Wishing you a wonderful end of 2015 and a Happy 2016! See you next year! 🙂

    Like

  15. I like the way you did her dress and hair. Beautiful work as usual.
    I really enjoy your posts. thank you.

    Hugs
    FredaB

    Like

  16. Oh wow! The layers are lovely…it’s amazing how much interest those scraps a paper give a piece…yet they are so subdued. She is very stunning.

    Like

  17. I like that you left her hair ‘white’!!!

    Like

  18. I would have been happy to have had that first picture with the fascinating collaged background. but then the last picture is lovely too. But you now have both, one being a photo.
    I do like the way you have made the words, they blend in so well.

    Like

  19. Wow! Are you ever on a roll Patty!! Go girl Go!! heehee
    So, did you put the face in first?then collage around it? Just wondering “)
    She is beautiful, as are you!
    hugs xoxo

    Like

  20. Thank you so much dear Jackie…my very sweet friend! It was a good bit of escape for me making all of those journal pages in a flurry. I did glue down the lady first folding her around to the next page. Her other half is now waiting for attention 😉

    oxo ~*~ Patty Magpie’s Nest Blog *“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” -Mary Oliver

    Like

  21. Lovely work! There is something in the eyes of your girl that make me think that she is lost in thought. She’s captivating.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

