one kind word…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz one kind word pagesa photo we took of Sunlight Mountain near Glenwood Springs, Colorado several years ago was the inspiration for one of my journal pages…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz one kind word pages (1)hoarfrost had turned the mountainside into a winter wonderland (the owl is a free internet image … how I wish we’d seen that too)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz one kind word pages (3)the 1900’s image of a girl all dressed up with her warm fur muff along with a Japanese Proverb spoke to me (the photo above was taken inside and you can see what a difference good lighting makes comparing it to the photo below taken “quickly” outdoors in natural light)…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz one kind wordI fiddled with bits of torn tissue paper that I had stenciled with venetian plaster to add some final winter white touches…

Magpies Nest Patty Szymkowicz iphoneography collagesitting under a warm blanket I played with my iPhone using assorted apps and the girl from my collaged page (Diana, DistressedFX, PixlrExpress and Gloomlogue apps)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Digital SnowflakeI am entering both my art journal pages and my digital collage in Art Journal Journey’s Winter Wonderland challenge…

32 responses to “one kind word…

  1. Beautiful!…and the quote. LOVE the owl.

    Like

  2. Ooooooooh Patty, this is so gorgeous, I love everything about it! The colours, textures and images are all marvelous, what lovely sights you have captured. Thanks so much for joining us again at Art Journal Journey with this great spread. Alles Liebe Patty, hugs, Vaerie

    Like

  3. One kind word – that’s all it takes and the world seems to light up!!! Beautiful spread — I want to come to your house and watch you create.
    Patty, you know I love every thing you do. You really should write a book, you are soooo good at creating moods.

    Like

  4. What a stunning Winter spread! The girl image is wonderful, and I absolutely love the owl!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  5. Freda Butler

    Your bird looks like he is ready to just fly right off the page. Another beautiful page.

    Like

  6. So very pretty! Even if I’m not a huge fan of snow. xoxo

    Like

  7. Oh my gosh! Simply GORGEOUS dear Patty!
    The pages and also the digital artwork is fantastic!
    Thank you so much for linking your art to Art Journal Journey!
    You make me more than HAPPY!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  8. I love your journal page.

    Like

  9. Oh so exquisite .. both pieces. So beautifully put together .. just want to step right in and be part of it. I also love your quote (proverb) .. and must remember that. I will no doubt readjust to this climate. Thanks for popping over to my blog, Patty. Lovely to see you there. hugs, Donna

    Like

  10. Stunning artwork with wonderful images
    Thank you for joining in at Art Journal Journey

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

  11. This is so wintry! Brrrr!
    Venetian plaster! – So exotic.
    One kind word …… how very, very true.
    Love this piece and the way you have presented it.

    Like

  12. Wonderful, Patty. A beautiful compisition and a great quote. Love all images and textures on these stunning pages. The digital work is fantastic too.
    Mar xx

    Like

  13. Dear Patty
    Wishing you and your family happiness, joy and a touch of adventure this year!
    Magical pages, I especially love the huge owl, what an image and you have saved it for the perfect page I see!
    I changed a couple of things on my blog last year and lost the blogs I followed – hence you didn’t hear much from me – but I’ve added you back to my Blogger followers!
    Thank you for your kind words, it was so lovely to hear from you again Patty!
    Warm hugs
    Shane x

    Like

  14. Gorgeous winter collage, I love the texture in the background along with the girl and the Owl. Take good care, Shirleyxx

    Like

  15. I think this is one of my favourites Patty – I love both images you used.

    Like

  16. Stunning… Magical…Elegant pages. What a sight that mountainside must have been in person because the photo is fabulous! Love the owl and the 1900’s girl.

    Like

  17. I would have visited sooner, but right after 1 a.m., my electricity went off. It came back on a short time ago, so now I’m trying to catch up with everyone.

    Although those are both stunning AJJ entries, I am desperately trying to get warm right now. Maybe I will be able to appreciate them more tomorrow (grin).

    No electricity means no heat in addition to no light. I truly hope all is well in your world. I have NO idea what your weather is doing right now, since I had no access to the weather yesterday.

    Like

  18. …and I bet it is even more stunning in person! This page and the photo that inspired it are really magical! Nice, nice work!

    Like

  19. The photo itself is fabulous but all the elements blend together in what might be one of my all-time Patty favorites. The girl image is beautiful and oh, that owl just speaks to me. Nice textures and lace effects. You are the gesso Queen!

    Like

  20. Oh I love your winter pages, dear Patty, and the use of plaster through your beautiful stencil, is amazing. What a stunning icy world you have saved from your tour, it must have been magical seeing in real. Your winter dressed girl fits wonderfully there sweet friend .Love your words, and the qoute,too -so beautiful.
    Patty have you seen that very soon all bloggers not blogging via Google will not be able to follow via Friends Connect, and they will even “throw out” the ones already there!!!!
    I saw it on another blog ,and it made me sad for our connection here, I hope you find a way to follow me anyway !!
    Warm hugs from my island at last in a little snow carpet !!

    Like

  21. oh Patty this is absolutely stunning!!! As cold as that scene looks I would definitely take a walk down that dreamy road, if only for the chance to see one of those magnificent owls. Fabulous digital play too. Thanks for another magical journey.

    Like

  22. These really are such beautiful pages! The texture, the colours, the fabulous images – you really do create such wonderful art! You certainly have created a Winter Wonderland! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  23. Lovely winter image with the nice vintage girl and the amazing bird. The background texture looks very good too.Everythig in harmony.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  24. All so beautiful! I simply love snow pictures. But I hate cold weather!!! Guess I could survive looking out the windows! ha! Great pages. I’m so thankful for you and your art!

    Like

  25. Hello Patty, quelles belles pages hivernales, le bleu donne vraiment l’ambiance, j’adore, et quel beau travail de fond.
    Bizzzz

    Like

  26. fantastic winter pages and I love your photo play too!!

    Like

  27. WOW, Patty! Your pages are absolutely gorgeous and really have such a wonderful wintry feel! I love them all!

    Like

  28. First of all, what a gorgeous photo. How perfect winter is that. And then you made that beautiful winter spread-I LOVE the owl too. And the textured white paper behind the owl…what a rich spread. Hugs!

    Like

  29. I do believe dear Patty, that this has become my favorite journal spread up till now!(had to say that to leave room for more to come!)
    This truly is exquisite my friend! xoxo

    Like

  30. Wonderful how you incorporated your own photograph with other images! Love the work with the Venetian plaster especially – really enhanced the wintry feel.

    Like

  31. Pingback: let the Light guide your way… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  32. Beautiful pages! I did keep lots of old books, I need to turn one into a collage journal!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

